We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel in the craziness of Delhi”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Welcoming hotel in the craziness of Delhi”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

warm welcome, and a lovely place to escape into from the madness and traffic of Delhi. airpot pick up efficient as was check in. We were unhappy with room (internal window which i hate) and were moved to nicer room with balcony overlooking road. Very attentive staff and flexible (we had to change our trips around and were accommodated). Lots of attractive communal areas and interesting art, and movie room. Whilst watching a film they brought me a bowl of popcorn which i thought was a nice touch, and my partner who was ill they looked after very well. Food excellent both breakfasts and dinner. Good wine. Driver they organised for Delhi sightseeing and Agra was helpful and we felt safe with him....well, have you driven in Delhi?...it´s like Bladerunner!!
I´m not sure i would refer to it as a "boutique hotel", certainly not by european standards, the bathrooms, whilst clean, don´t lend themselves to that category, It´s more an upmarket (certainly not simple) homestay but with excellent service and clean. Maybe a tad on the high side price wise, but them taking the hassle factor out of everything i suppose makes up for it.

Room Tip: one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arxitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    216
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
140
483
197
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful and tranquil, exceptional service above and beyond the call of duty. Terrific restaurant on the roof, metro within walking distance. Cannot recommend enough. They even had a driver bring me an item that I had forgotten ....in Agra! Decor traditional Indian with cosy lounges on each floor as well as free WiFi and computers to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay here. We were there for Republic Day & were treated to special dinner (complete with costumes!) on the rooftop terrace.
The staff really couldn't do more for you even taking us to the metro & getting us breakfast at 5am!
The restaurant comes highly recommended as well - much better than the 'celebrated' & expensive Veda.
Stay here if you come to Delhi!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about Shanti Home. We used it as a base for exploring India, returning between trips to other places. It is a small hotel -- 4 floors with about 5 rooms on each floor? -- a rooftop restaurant and the office, fitness room, and store in the basement. They pay attention to detail -- in decor / ambiance and guest experience from the very beginning of your stay and throughout. The service was exceptional, really exceptional. I have never really understood what exceptional service is and what a difference it makes before Shanti Home. They went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed at all times and were very flexible and responsive -- which was not our experience all over India. Complimentary cell phone, medicine when my partner strained his back, escorting us to local gym (Gold's is around the corner) and metro (very close -- we used when taxis were on strike), whatever breakfast we wanted -- complimentary, firing up the tandoori oven a little early. And friendliness and customer service was the norm -- not just specific staff people -- all the staff. The restaurant is very, very good -- there was no need to go anywhere else and we didn't tire of the food because everything was uniformly excellent. I had a massage which was one of the best I had in India -- including Ayurvedic spas that specialize in that kind of massage. They did laundry quickly -- and told me when it wouldn't be possible because of rain. They were very accommodating and reliable with hotel pick up and drop off. They helped arrange our side trips to Amritsar, West Bengal / Calcutta, and Kerala (although the staff are young and not that knowledgeable -- have limited experience in other parts of India. The owners are more knowledgeable and their advice reliable). And a word about aesthetics -- Every room we stayed in (and over the course of the month, there were 4) was clean and well-decorated although on the small side.The lounge areas have attractive furniture and art -- it really feels like you are staying in someone's beautiful home not an impersonally decorated hotel. WI-FI was free and very reliable. The lounge areas were spacious -- and there is a yoga room on the first floor as well as an elliptical machine in the "fitness center" in the basement. Shanti Home delivers on its promise to provide peace and a home in the midst of the busy city. I looked forward to returning to Shanti Home each time we needed to come through Delhi -- and will definitely return in the future. They are opening a Shanti Home in Goa soon as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katthewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only stayed for 7 hours before an early flight and wish we had stayed longer. All the small touches are incredible, lending a SIM, greeting with a drink, no tips around the hotel.

A sanctuary in an oasis of madness.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Comfortable,very nice clean rooms, well done services and all staffs are helpfull. The rooftop restaurant serves good authentic Indian food. An excellent boutique hotel.
We arrived in the hotel it was late in the afternoon ,were very tired after came from Surajkund 3 hours drive, and staff were very friendly and came prepared to received us ( quick checked in at the reception). Spa was excellent, it was lovely to stayed at Shanti home , taxis were available ..overall we were impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CantikSoekarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We happened to arrive on Valentine's day and were pleased to see that the hotel had a special dinner planned on the rooftop restaurant.

Upon arriving, the manager helped us plan our stay and made sure we were comfortable. Overall, we were impressed with the hotel - makes Delhi much more welcoming city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnow94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#5 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,799 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
1,299 reviews
9.2 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing