We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome at Shanti Home”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #4 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome at Shanti Home”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have visited Delhi several times in the past and stayed in the larger hotels. I much prefer the Shanti Home. What makes this viable is the proximity of a metro station enabling us to get around Delhi. The staff at Shanti are brilliant. they make you feel at home and cannot do enough for you. They even showed us photos of the staff during the recent Holi festival, as if we were long lost friends. The rooms are comfortable (we had a smaller room), the communal rooms well appointed and the restaurant is amongst Delhi's best. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    215
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
480
196
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We planned to stay at this hotel for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and offer that extra personal touch without being intrusive or pushy, as some hotels can be. The hotel is a boutique style, very beautifully decorated with nice communal living spaces - complete with tv, movies, books, games and newspapers. The room was nicely decorated and clean, bathroom was also clean and there were no issues with hot water.

All of the staff are extremely helpful, professional and courteous. This hotel would make a good soft entry point to India. They will help with booking everything you need and are not too pushy to get you on tours which we had found with other hotels.

The kitchen is open 24/7 and the food is of good quality, although the menu is a bit limited in scope. We have no complaints and prefer the focus on quality of dishes rather than quantity, as some hotels try for. The restaurant staff were excellent, always wanting to please and very attentive to our needs.

There were numerous nice personal touches which we did not receive from other hotels, including a packed snack of fruit, juice and water for our tour to Agra; as escort to the metro station to ensure we did not get lost; they even gave us a small gift when we left, of a scarf, aromatherapy oils etc which was most kind and thoughtful.

This hotel also offers a small cookery course which we did not do due to time restraints, but looked like fun. They also offer massage services, which again, was very enticing but due to time we were unable to enjoy

This was clearly the best hotel we stayed at during our time in India. The only small negative point would be the location - as the hotel is a 30 minute metro ride from the centre of Delhi. We didn't find this to be a problem, by if you are not into commuting to the more central sites of Delhi then perhaps this hotel is not for you. Also, around the metro station in the evenings, a sprawling fruit market comes alive and converges with the bus station making it quite a busy area full of hustle and bustle. We came back late every night we stayed there, and had no issues. It is a 10 minute walk from the metro to the hotel.

A few things that may be issues for some:
- absence of a tv in room - there is a communal tv room though
- they aren't particularly generous with replacing toiletries, although we have no doubt you could ask for more soap if you needed it

As an aside, if you are planning on travelling to the Taj Mahal or Jaipur, the train is the best option as it takes half the time of road transport (there is no plane to Agra currently). You should book your train tickets well in advance (I am sure Shanti Home will help you do that - note that if you do not have an Indian mobile phone number you cannot book train tickets online)

As another aside, Delhi is probably one of th best cities for buying souvenirs and we recommend you put aside an extra day just for shopping. The hotel staff can advise you on the best places to go (we thought the Janpath St markets at Connaught Place were the best for souvenirs)

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay here again when we return to Delhi in the future.

Nb. When we landed in Delhi, we were a little concerned when the taxi driver didn't know where Shanti Home was, or the address in fact. However, after a phone call to the hotel, he was able to find the place - we would suggest keeping the name of the hotel, address and phone number with you for the taxi driver

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank millzorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Shanti home in April 2012. The small hotel provides excellent service, the room was very nice and the restaurant is great! everyone went out of their way to be helpful by getting us a telephone, finding transportation and make us fabulous meals. I cannot say enough good things about our experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We needed a last overnight stay in Delhi to end our trip, and Shanti Home was the ideal farewell to India. We only stayed the one night, but the staff was very helpful and service minded. The hotel is personal, quirky, clean and cosy, with an excellent roof top restaurant. Definitely a place we would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nils F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Delhi can be pretty hard going at times, but the help offered freely be the staff at Shanti makes this much easier to deal with. We were able to get all our train travel organised through the hotel before we arrived. This was a great help due to the extreme difficulty foreigners have in booking train travel online now. They were happy to organise cars but did not push this and in fact they were happy to escort you to the nearby Metro station. There is no need to seek other food outlets, the food in the rooftop restaurant was magnificent and excellent value. The whole focus in this hotel is on customer satisfaction and service and it would be a good place for those involved in hospitality to learn quite a few things. I wish there was a chain of these hotels around the world, it would be a revolution. However before booking you should be clear that the location is not ideal. It is at least a half hour trip on the Metro to some of the so-called sights of Delhi. The Metro is excellent. You can travel in a car quite cheaply if needs be. However where ever you are staying travel times will always be an issue at some stage.

Room Tip: There are no views to be had at this hotel. We stayed in two different rooms and they were both grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Absolutely perfect. The best hotel of the World for a good price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BernardJunod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Shandi Home is a nice, very friendly place with tasteful interior. Its within a good reach from / to the airport and I enjoyed using the nearby metro as the preferred means of transport. The staff is extremely helpful and the food / breakfast is good so I think "home" is a good denomination for this accomodation.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanilla_Cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing