We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ivory Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ivory Palace
Ranked #44 of 909 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Dorset
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Basic accommodation. I've seen worse. It is ok for a few nights. Avoid the food though the restaurant is a hike to the roof top and consists and two dirty plastic tables where you're watched by neighbours....you are a tourist attraction.

We had room service then went to sleep, after about an hour and a half was woken to banging on the door....they wanted the plates back!!

Sheets were two patched together to fit bed. Shower was cold. Curtains had fallen out with the sill, too short.

Sounds bad but it really is ok for a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    11
    12
    26
See reviews for
14
27
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I can't believe the Government of India Tourist Office sent us there for the price of 2000 Rs. per room and night. The room looked nothing like the picture on their website. It was dirty and full of ants, the window was broken, the sink clogged with hair, the towel torn (there was only one for two people), the blanket disgusting and the sheets full of hair. When we complained about the dirt, one of the receptionists (there are about 20, they sleep on the lobby floor at night) came, passed a towel over the window for 5 seconds and expected a tip.
Since the guys at the reception switch about every 2 hours, it makes no sense to ask for a wake-up call or for a taxi to the airport since the information isn't passed on and nothing ever works out. Some of the staff are very rude. When we got home one night after dark, one of the receptionists was standing in front of the hotel calling out "Hey baby" to us even though we were about to enter the hotel and it was obvious we were guests there. Lots of shady guys in the hallways aswell.
I forgot my phone there and called them the same day. When I got back to Delhi I passed by the hotel and they returned it to me. The receptionist said I owe them a positive review for that. Sorry but I don't think so - thanks for the phone though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Do not stay here!!! Or if you do, don’t trust the owner Arun. As apparently everywhere in Delhi, he will just try to get you into contact with some rip off travel agency, telling you it is the official one – it is not!

The owner also sometimes just sat behind the front desk apparently meditating – I respect other religions, but if you sit at the reception desk don’t just ignore your guests and stare into space, meditate in your free time! And if you talk to your guests don’t ask them every 10 minutes to give you a good online review…

So apart from the owners weird behavior just looking at it as a place to stay… well, it’s Delhi, so the rooms are dark and stuffy, the shower does not really get hot… beds are ok, no bugs, location is fine, like 5-10 minute walk to the Metro…It's difficult to find a decent place in Delhi, we stayed in 2 other rooms which were not much better standard either but at least there the owners did not rip us off. I would definitely not stay again at the Ivory Palace…

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank around_the_GL0BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Everything about the hotel is quite lovely for the price. Be careful about the "free taxi service" to the tourist information center. They are quite good at booking "package tours" that are extremely overpriced and are not so good about maintaining a schedule. I would have a good plan in store for around Delhi and leaving it, as it leaves you open to being scammed if you don't.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The rooms were clean, with hot water on tap when requested. Wifi was also very fast and reliable.
But beware when booking their taxi service, which we took to the train station - which was very expensive. The driver seemed to be under the influence of something which resulting in manic driving, and then proceeded to demand a 10 dollar tip for dropping us off at the station! Behaviour that I had hoped to avoid by booking this through the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alholrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We came late and had no problem getting a nice room with everything we needed. Nice bathroom, comfortable bed, free wifi, and helpful staff. The neighborhood has a more local feel, and there are some nice restaurants nearby. Also, it's near the metro, which is convenient.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I booked through hostelbookers and got a nice room for 900rs. Fairly basic but couldn't fault it, apart from stiff dropping taps in the bathroom! Water wasn't too hot but didn't bother me. Sheets looked clean & bed huge & comfortable enough. Close to metro.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Hotel Lal's Haveli
#102 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#44 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Suncity
Hotel Suncity
#362 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Zostel Delhi
#3 of 909 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivory Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivory Palace

Property: Hotel Ivory Palace
Address: W E A Saraswati Marg | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 909 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ivory Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home may sound cliched but that is what we intend to provide. An ambiance that caters to the needs of business and corporate executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ivory Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing