We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad in Monsoons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Ranked #384 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very bad in Monsoons”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I had an horrible experience with this Hotel during my last trip to Delhi when it was raining. I reached the Hotel at 7pm &to my shock I found water flowing down the staircase from the 2nd floor down to ground floor. All coridors were flooded & so was my room. I had to get the same changed & in the new room (which was stuffy) the windows would not open. Due to short circuit there was no elect / power in the kitchen so no food was available. Overall a very poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhandarkar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    27
    7
    14
See reviews for
5
17
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bridlington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Arrived back in New Dehi with my wife after long very tiring train journey. I asked receptionist for change to pay rickshaw driver as I had only 500 rupee note.He gave enough to pay driver and said he would give me rest later. We had not had chance to visit an ATM and I had 1000 ruppes left and my wife had 5000. She handed me 3500 and I added my 1000 to pay the 4250 rupee bill. The receptionist distracted me by saying My wife looked sick and naturally I looked at her. He then said I had only given him 4000 rupees and wanted another 250 rupees from the change he already owed me.Obviously a very practiced technique and there was nothing I could do to prove he had palmed a 500 note.There is no alleged about this,we both knew exactly how much cash we had. It was late and we did not wish to load our bags back onto the auto rickshaw and set off into the night., so I waited until the next day to confront the receptionist,who having previously speaking good english,said he could not understand. No matter how tired or distracted you are when arriving, keep all your wits about you here. Bed was good but shower tray did not drain. Would have given much moore positive review if receptionist had not been a thief.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Hi, The hotel is very conviniently located at the middle circle on CP. The rooms are clean & the beds are soft & comfortable. There are 2 issues (1) The rooms are very small (2) One has to climb 2-3 flights of stairs to reach the room as its spread over 3 floors with no lift. Insist for discount & upto 20% of the tariff will be waived.

  • Liked — Bads are soft & great!
  • Disliked — Climbing 3 floors to reach my room!!
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bhandarkar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed at one other hotel in the same area, in comparison, this seemed more deserving of the "mid-range" or 2-3 star designation. The hallways were clean, well lit; well decorated. The rooms were larger than the other hotel; the bathroom was cleaner and larger---the bathing area had a little wall around it so the floor did not get wet, unlike many Indian bathrooms. The beds were clean and comfy. Internet access was pricey but available. The cost was higher, but as our last night in India, we desperately needed a nice clean send-off and it was. We were two women travelling and were treated well.

Our friends stayed previously, and they had a nice time as well.

  • Liked — Location, was well lit, clean
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nyasa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Very overpriced. Rooms are ok but no great shakes. For Rs3700 (don't forget extra taxes!), it's 50 pounds and you'd get better in London.
Staff are not helpful and are just trying to sell you services.
A chap is introduced to you as the travel desk. He says he can give free maps, free travel advice and 15mins free of internet service. Then he takes you on a 5 min walk to a travel agent that just trys to sell you tours!
Return to hotel and ask for a bank and they say they will do the changing for you. Ask for a taxi stand and they say they will get you a taxi. All you want is some honesty but all they want is your money.
Avoid.

  • Disliked — Dishonesty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank worldpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Our room was clean and comfortable. Seemed overpriced, but this was the only hotel we stayed at in Delhi so difficult to make a comparison. We were referred to a travel agency by the hotel, Perfect Holiday Travels, that was full of touts. Do not trust this hotel with any of your travel arrangements, or this travel agency.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — affiliation with touts
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_cityUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

I paid about $80 for one night here (the Connaught location) in November. I was able to check in early in the morning and was shown a room and told I could choose another if I wasn't happy with it. It looked fine to me, so I took it and got settled in.

I didn't find the room itself to be dirty at all. It was comfortable enough, and the television worked. There was a window, but it was impossible to lift up the heavy curtains to actually look outside.

The bathroom was another story. It was dirty and falling apart like I expected bathrooms in India to be (this was the first time it actually happened in a hotel though). You could tell that if you removed the mirror from the wall, you'd have a big gaping hole and be looking out onto the street. In the middle of a shower, I ran out of water completely.

I had a tour picking me up at 5 a.m., and the front desk did actually call to inform me the car had arrived.

Service was somewhat rude when I checked in and downright awful when I checked out. I informed the bellman I'd need a taxi, and he told me he would call. Apparently this never happened, and I came close to missing my flight because of it. I was waiting around for awhile until I finally asked the front desk who informed me no one had been called, and it would be about a 30 minute wait. Lucky for me, the taxi showed up right away, and I was able to escape this place in a hurry.

If you really don't care what kind of place you're staying in, Jukaso is fine. It's not awful, but I paid about half the price for other hotels in India that were far nicer with better service than this one. However, considering the high prices in Delhi, it's probably not possible to do better for the money. It won't kill you to stay here, but you won't be yearning to go back anytime soon.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank midgetmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#109 of 715 in New Delhi
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#284 of 715 in New Delhi
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corus Hotel
Corus Hotel
#538 of 715 in New Delhi
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.3 mi away
Emarald Hotel
Emarald Hotel
#535 of 715 in New Delhi
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jukaso Down Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jukaso Down Town

Property: Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Address: L - Block Radial 6'th Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jukaso Down Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jukaso Inn Down Town is a friendly boutique hotel in the heart of the central business and shopping district of New Delhi and close to all major attractions and numerous resturants. It is located in the safest neighbourhood of Delhi and more competitively priced than its closest competitors in the central business district of Connaught Place. Having been in operation for more than half a century, it is able to offer its guests accommodation in a colonial building with all modern facilities. It is well connected to public transport facilities with the Delhi metro being only a few meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Jukaso Down Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jukaso Down Town Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing