We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gest house”
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On The House
Ranked #48 of 1,146 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very clean, and helpful, they kept some of our luggages during 2 weeks.

Just a bad point : they didn't tell us that the airport transfer with the gest house is more expansive than the prepaid taxi at the airport.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PEPITO05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

The airport pickup costs slightly more than the prepaid taxi for reasons given below, but they have their advantage:
1). SAFETY is the main advantage of getting a pickup arranged by the hotel as these taxis are arranged by us with reputed cab companies who have been dealing with us for many years.
2). The pickup has to be sent to the airport from the city & then the taxi has to wait there for the flight arrival, so airport parking charges have to be added.
3). The prepaid taxis at the airport are the regular non air-conditioned taxis, whereas the taxis sent by us are air-conditioned taxis; hence there is always a slight rate difference.
4). Most places in the world if you call for an airport pickup, it will cost a little more, but the advantage is that it will bring you straight to the hotel as compared to the regular taxi at the airport which will have to find the place. This is specially helpful if one is arriving late at night etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at On the House recently, and it was everything that a bed and breakfast should be. The staff were terrific and very thoughtful. The room was very homey. The sitting room and dining room made us feel so welcome and relaxed, and it was so inexpensive. Breakfast each morning was delicious, and the rest of the boarders were a delight to talk to. A gem in Delhi.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kealiiloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at On The House (OTH). I've stayed in several B&Bs and listed rooms in Delhi and OTH is a cut above the rest in several ways:

First, the bathrooms are nicer than you'll find in most other places in this price range (and even above). Clean, spacious, plenty of counter space, and well lit.

Second, the staff is very friendly. Present enough to be helpful, but very respectful of privacy. They were extremely helpful throughout my stay — and I'm saying this as someone who's had plenty of Delhi experience.

Third, the location is central with easy access to many important parts of the city. 30-40 mins to Connaught Place, 20-25 mins to Lutyens Delhi, right next door to Hauz Khas Village and all the comfortable parts of South Delhi, 20 mins to the major malls of S Delhi, 20-30 mins to the airports, and it's a pretty easy shot to Gurgaon. The one downside is that it's a fairly long walk to the nearest metros AIIMS and Green Park (though there's an abundance of auto rickshaws two blocks from OTH).

I will definitely be staying here again. Staying with a well run operation like OTH makes time in Delhi so much easier. Note: I stayed here in May, a very hot time of year for Delhi, and the AC/ceiling fan combo worked out very well — super comfy :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are a little bit quieter in the mornings, but the morning street-hollering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianMercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Lovely BnB with excellent owner and staff: Aradhna Lanba, Promod Nanda, Roger, Deepak and Ashish. It is in a gated enclave with security guard on location. Friendly, cozy atmosphere, rooms are clean. Good food! Everything is made as comfortable as possible for you. This is our second trip to India that we stayed at On the House. Especially great for females traveling alone or an extended stay in Delhi. Home away from home. There is WiFi at the cute roof top lounge. I had an unexpected change in plans two times and was able to call for their assistance. So helpful. Always felt safe and well cared for. Prepaid the room; however, emailed the BnB directly first for instructions prior to payment so no confusion. I prearranged with them prior to travel for taxi pick-ups and drop-offs and day use. They assigned the same driver who was a careful driver, which is seriously important in India. Also, generally a taxi driver will ONLY take you shopping at their commission kick-back stores. This was never the case with the drivers they use. If there was ever any difficulty communicating, we called the BnB using his mobile and they let him know what we needed. I always carry the BnB phone numbers, a copy of the directions to the BnB off their website, and a Delhi map just in case it is needed. Have not used had to use the directions back yet. Our driver this time, Surrender, knew many short cuts that saved us so much time when going to and from the train stations, which can be extremely jammed with commercial traffic in the evenings. Would not stay anywhere else in Delhi. Thank you everyone for making our stay in Delhi great!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RosieD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

stayed with family for 2 nights and found the place very comfortable and the service was very good too.rooms were very clean and very well done up. restroom facilities were also very well maintained..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had to find a place to stay near the Government buildings at R K Puram. Rather than staying at the Hyatt hotel I decided to go to On The House. A very comfortable ambiance and good service! And a price/quality rating which is much better than the Hyatt...;-)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Mkwadraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a wonderful time during our 5 days in "On The House". The location, the staff, the amenities, and food were excellent. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The next time we are in New Delhi, we will stay in "On the House".

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ehsan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On_The_House, Owner at On The House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thanks for staying with us!

Glad you had a great time during your stay & our staff looked after you well. Apart from our facilities & amenities the service provided by our staff from the cook to the house keeping is our USP.

Hope you can come back and stay with us again very soon. You will find that we have completely renovated all the rooms and the whole place has a new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#173 of 779 in New Delhi
193 reviews
Sai Villa
#35 of 1,146 in New Delhi
234 reviews
Vasant Kunj/Vasant Vihar
Chhoti Haveli
Chhoti Haveli
#31 of 1,146 in New Delhi
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saket
Grace Home
Grace Home
#9 of 1,146 in New Delhi
242 reviews
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
#58 of 1,146 in New Delhi
52 reviews
South Extension/Lajpat Nagar
Red Maple Bed and Breakfast
Red Maple Bed and Breakfast
#50 of 1,146 in New Delhi
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Address: B - 4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $55 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — On The House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing