We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
On The House
Ranked #44 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Agra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the On The House, which was recommended to us by a friend. We had an excellent stay there. The staff was extremely helpful and willing to cater for our specific culinary needs! They also entertained our 2 y.o. son, which made our stay even more enjoyable.
The hotel is located in a quiet sector, but a little far from the metro station (5-10 minutes by auto-rickshaw, 15-20 minutes walk).
There was plenty of (healthy) food for breakfast and dinner.
The decoration is beautiful, the rooms was the cleanest we ever had in India.
We really felt like home there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewLlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    70
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
58
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for a whole work-week for a business trip in Delhi. It's located very close to Safdarjung Enclave where the Client's office was and it was great to walk there every morning. Also its very close to Hauz Khas if you want to go out at night.

Rooms are very pretty if you like a bit of World Culture Kitsch - Each room is names after a tree and each has a theme - mine was a rose/victorian. Though I'm not a huge fan of flowers and pink, it was a pleasantly done place with vintage furniture, cabinets and a cute little writing desk. My colleagues room was Peacock colors and Krishna themed - amazing blues and greens and Rajasthani miniatures. The bathrooms were clean and pretty with Khadi Toiletries I loved! I believe they match even that to the rooms theme... I had rosewater lotions and lavender soap. :)

We both had a very green balcony - lots of potted plants and a garden view. Did I mention in right next to a park? Yes, the evenings walks were amazing.

The Dining room was very European ceramics themes and living rooms were Asian/Buddhist inspired - almost Thai. They do have well stocked bookshelf and games and ample plug points and a decent Wi-Fi connection in case you need to work.

The staff were the best part of the experience - Always smiling and very ready to help. They got me strong black coffee when I asked for it and the complimentary breakfast eggs were perfectly made to order.

Would Definitely stay here every time I go to Delhi for work.

Room Tip: See the photos are choose a room before you go. I got assigned to the Ceder room with lots of roses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pookiepdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What's not to love about this place? I stayed there for 3 nights and I absolutely fell in love with it. I am going to make it a point to stay here every time I visit Delhi. It is so accessible and the service was excellent. The staff were really friendly and accommodatin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsenJamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a terrific stay here! All the staff and owners were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room was everything we needed - it was a great place to get rest and accessible to lots of interesting local restaurants and sites. I'd highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danscape78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's places like these that make Delhi bearable. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast hit the spot. The rooftop sitting area is brilliant as well. Choose this over Bloomrooms if you're looking for somewhere affordable in South Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St jean de luz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I just love the room on the top roof terrasse, having breakfast with the birds! A home feeling! Lots of stairs to climb! Fantastic service! Close to indian restaurants where you can order excellent food and have it on the roof terrasse!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed there for 3 weeks while working in Delhi. The guest house is beautifully decorated and the service is first class. Roger and Deepak go out of their way to be helpful. The immediate area is peaceful and safe and is situated in a residential square with a shady garden full of trees, birds and squirrels. It took about 45 minutes to travel to the centre of Delhi by tuk tuk and Metro but this was no hardship as the Metro is clean, comfortable, air conditioned and cheap. I was in Mulberry room which had the disadvantage of looking out over the roof terrace. Fine if there was no one there, but otherwise reduced the privacy. The other problem was the lack of water pressure. So I would advise booking any of the other rooms. All in all a very satisfactory stay at a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Pine or Oak
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
South Indian Hotel
#547 of 716 in New Delhi
13 reviews
Hotel Tourist
#262 of 716 in New Delhi
43 reviews
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 1,076 in New Delhi
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Villa
#60 of 1,076 in New Delhi
210 reviews
Indee Home
#42 of 1,076 in New Delhi
62 reviews
Nizamuddin
Eleven
Eleven
#8 of 1,076 in New Delhi
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Property: On The House
Address: B - 4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — On The House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing