We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centaur hotel resembles a Godown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport
Ranked #691 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I visited this hotel around middle of June to explore the possibilities and viability of organising my son's Wedding Reception in its very big and spacious Banquet Hall. But I was very much disappointed to see the condition of the so called five star hotel. The disappointment started from entry itself. There was 9pm in the night and there was not a single security guard at the main gate to either check the vehicle, it's contents or the bonafides of the entrant. There was complete dark in the parking area and from outside one could make out that not a single room was occupied by guests as not a single light was on any any room.

I did not have to go to parking area to park my car as it was complete dark there and there was plenty of parking space near porch, but to my astonishment I saw one old discontinued Maruti 800 car parked nearly with inches of dust on it, implying as if it was parked there months ago may be belonging to some staff. No guest will come to a five star hotel in such a dilapidated car.

At the entrance gate to lobby, surprisingly, there was no security personnel or Long bearded darban. We just opened the door ourselves to enter the lobby, the view of which was horrible.
I am tired of writing the worst condition of the hotel as a whole with a lift being repaired, atrium ceiling ceilings broken due to seepage all around and stinking everything, dirty sofas lying in the lobby, which were not actually dry cleaned since months.

On the whole, in nutshell, it is not a five star hotel, rather a Godown waiting to be closed down.
It seems there is no management al all to run this hotel.

I fail to understand when there are lot of new hotels come up in Aerocity why the Airindia management not looking for a deal to sell it to a willing buyer ? It will offset some losses of Airindia.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank BIRENDRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 244 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel was in a very bad condition. Poor quality of staff, rooms, furniture, ambiance etc.. Too many mosquitoes in room.. No hot water.. Unlabelled mineral water in room with broken seal.. Will not even give 1 star to the hotel..

Room Tip: Pls find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

first time i came to centaur was in early 90s. i remember the big huge atrium , with fountains running,, all the passengers of with cancelled flights were accommodated there for free from the airlines. hotel is very very big. my father ordered onion pakoras in which 8 pieces were there for 60 - 80 rs. there was a bible in each room. it was a great experience.
lately, i went there to stay again in November 2012. i was lost in my old memories of playing & running everywhere.
this time after more than 20 years, the shine , spark of the hotel has gone. the water fountains were dry,, something is missing,, maybe the X factor.. i am not able to describe. the rates were reasonable 5000 per night. the restaurants are ok.. the ice cream is too expensive. the waiters are older than the hotels most of them in 50s, with silver hair... the rooms are old, there is no bible in rooms now.. technology is not there,, bathrooms are big. rooms face the swimming pool ..
in the end its a very nice government hotel.. i wish the government spends money on renovation, changing all the old carpets, the decoration ,, the restaurants,, get young energetic staffs.
since all the latest brand of chains of hotels are coming near IGI airport,, centaur will be the "big daddy of all hotels" if it is still the same,,, or renovate,paint & scrub the building and give give tough competition to the rest... i will still stay in centaur,,if i get a chance.

ALL THE BEST

Room Tip: love the hotel,,,it stands alone, in its place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahatfarid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I landed up here instead of landing in Ahmedabad from Delhi due to flight overbook by an airline. It might have been a beautiful rich hotel, but now a disgrace. It was sad to see horrible state of such a huge property at the prime location of Delhi.
Food is bad, service is poor, cleanliness is bad. But if you order anything outside their set menu is exorbitantly priced. At least AC worked and bed was there to spend 6 hours!

Room Tip: On reception area looks good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AnveshaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was placed in this hotel by Air India since my connecting flight in Delhi was cancelled. Had I known what I was in for I would have stayed in the airport at the MUCH nicer, and cleaner, and more convenient Eaton Smart Hotel (it is a bargain too, considering it's about $12 an hour to stay there).

The Centaur looks like it's from the Soviet-era Communist regime. The lobby area looks deserted and dark, with stained furniture that looks filthy. The room was not much better; the bathroom was dirty and there was no hot water. I was delivered a bucket of hot water when I complained.

This place should be a last resort but as I said, the Eaton Smart Hotel inside the airport itself is such a nicer and more pleasant place to stay. I'm not sure how this Centaur place is still in business to be honest.

The one plus side to my visit was the delicious Indian food buffet served in the lobby's restaurant (the brightest and most pleasant area of the entire hotel). The butter chicken, roti bread, paneer and other dishes were some of the best indian food I have ever had (and I have eaten a lot of Indian food, because I love it!). Who knew a place like this could deliver such a good meal, but it's a shame the rest of the hotel is not up to the restaurant's standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akostich_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is only fit for one thing - to be torn down. We were given no choice but to go there when an Air India delay failed to connect us for our London flight. Air India told us it was a five star which it may have been 40 years ago. Now, is a crumbling, mildewed wreck.

The whole, huge building reeks of damp. There was no hot water in any of the four bedrooms that we were shown. Walls were crumbling owing to damp, on all floors, in corridors and bedrooms. Loos splattered everywhere when flushed. The 'business centre' is the size of a cupboard with seriously dodgy wiring hanging like spaghetti. The food, let's not even go there; five bowls of stuff sitting on a dirty table. Pool; closed of course but wouldn't have swum in it if paid, ugh.

This is a seriously dirty, nasty place and only by dint of bursting into genuine tears of distress did we manage to get away.

Shame on you for even being open, and shame on Air India for forcing hapless travellers to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaipur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Air India put us in the hotel for one night to catch next day flight. Very bad accommodation, bed, dirty room, food was horrible.
Not friendly staff. Very small room and nothing was working in the room.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rajesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Metro Tower
#349 of 777 in New Delhi
226 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
#110 of 777 in New Delhi
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Vishal Residency
Hotel Vishal Residency
#494 of 777 in New Delhi
91 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Airport Hotel Aerosky
Airport Hotel Aerosky
#523 of 777 in New Delhi
4 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Airport Hotel Grand
Airport Hotel Grand
#576 of 777 in New Delhi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport

Address: Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi 110037, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $47 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centaur Hotel, Igi Airport Hotel New Delhi
Centaur Hotel New Delhi
Centaur Hotel Delhi
Centaur Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing