We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel in the Chaos of Paharganj” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Yes Please

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Yes Please
Ranked #208 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel in the Chaos of Paharganj”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've now stayed in Hotel Cottage Yes Please three times. Each time it has been a welcome break from the madness that is Paharganj (which by the way I would stay away from if you are a first time traveler in India/Delhi). The rooms are pleasant for this price range (I paid 950 Rupees for a double room w/ac), with some nice fittings, and also brass fans. The rooms are clean up to the standard of any other good backpacker hotel. The hotel staff are nice; not exceedingly helpful, but I'm sure will help if you ask. There is also a decent travel/tourism agent on the ground floor opposite reception who is reliable. The Air Con works, there is hot water on tap although the wifi is a tad expensive, but worth it, as they don't have any computer terminals in reception. If your mind is set on staying in Paharganj I would highly recommend Cottage Yes Please - It's an unfussy budget hotel which feels homely if you come back to it again, and is certainly the nicest hotel in Paharganj. HOWEVER, I would recommend that you stay in a different area in Delhi. Even by Indian standards it's not a very nice place. Even if I stay in Delhi again, I will not be staying in Paharganj. That is nothing against a thoroughly decent hotel, just a statement on the area itself.

Room Tip: If you get a double room, make sure to ask for one with a window. The ones without can be a little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    157
    121
    37
    30
See reviews for
36
124
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Pahar Ganj is not the most upmarket of areas, by a long way, but it's fun, energetic and cheap. It also has a good metro station 5 minutes away and one of the main train stations for getting around the golden triangle.
The hotel staff are quite rude, but do their job okay. The rooms are nice and quite clean, but the noise form outside is very loud, including traffic, dogs and people. Okay place for a cheap and convenient place to base yourself out of.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in two rooms and even it was not good, we had to stay there because we didn’t have another choice for it was pre-booked. It is indeed that the hotel is located in a main bazaar area called pahar ghanj. However, we felt it very expensive for what you receive and the staff is extremely non caring, non smiling and attended our requests unwillingly making it quite unpleasant. Nobody cared for us for the four days we stayed there - There was no room service, no proper changing of sheets and towels. The a/c in one of the rooms was working and in the other it was not working and water was coming out of it. While booking they said ok for three bed but we were unlucky to get it and even though we paid more than usual for it. The travel desk people were too tricky and lurking to grab as much penny from the travelers. They took double the money from as usual for airport pickup and drop and every service they offer. No windows facing outside which made us feel locked up. The internet, wi-fi hardly works and costs extra on top of the already expensive room. All in all we had a wonderful holiday in Delhi except our stay in cottage yes please but we can recommend the Malhotra restaurant just opposite to it which serves good food.

Room Tip: Dont stay here unless you didnt get another accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StanleyWilson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

not cheap but we arrived without a reservation and were in a state in which any room would suffice. relatively rooms but the bathroom could have used another cleaning session.right in the middle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshd3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel is good for stay, clean but not has kitchen of its own,staff is not helpful at all nor the reception they are very rude to talk.
They don't provide Soaps,Towels until you asked for.They have given us wornout bedsheets in our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtishD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We used this friendly hotel as a base as we travelled around India. For 900 rupees, you get a clean room with marble floors, fridge, TV and AC with a decent bathroom that has hot water if you remind them downstairs to turn it on for you. They also provide the TP, soap and extra sheets if necessary. The Wifi is 100 rupees but is relatively fast. One of the best features is the proximity to the Metro station which makes travelling around Delhi a much nicer and safer experience. There is a travel agency downstairs as well which is pricey as they take huge commissions but was useful for early morning reliable taxis to far off train stations. Overall, definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssspecialk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Ask for your towels, soap and TP, and you're on the way to a nice simple room with clean marble floors and AC (on and off with the electricity). Staff are a little resistant but helpful, WiFi is pretty good, but costs a little extra. An EXCELLENT coffee place across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slauther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#81 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#276 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#40 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#132 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Vivek Hotel
#171 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Yes Please? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Yes Please

Property: Cottage Yes Please
Address: 1843 - 44 Cottage Yes Please Laxmi Narayan Street Raj Guru Road Chuna Mandi | S.R.T. Nagar, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Yes Please 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cottage Yes Please reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Yes Please Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing