We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of The Florence Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Florence Inn
Ranked #149 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at Florence Inn on arrival in India and then again at the end of a three week trip around Rajasthan. The staff are very professional and helpful, even at 3.00 am! The rooms are clean and comfortable, there is plenty of hot water in the modern bathrooms, and the food is good. The hotel is very conveniently located for the metro, the airport, and the Karol Bagh market, which is well worth a visit if you have time. Leave plenty of time to arrive or depart the hotel on a Sunday afternoon as the market gets extremely busy and the through traffic is often at a stand-still.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SusanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your glowing feedback about the facilities and services offered. It gives me great joy that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst again soon and hope to continue being your hotel of choice while in Delhi.

Regards

Sanjeev Pande

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 498 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beware, this is different from the hotel Florence also reviewed here, so clarify with your booking agent first. I only stayed for a few hours, on my way to the airport, but... the hotel was very clean, the bedding was very comfortable and immaculate; one of the best I have come across in India. So I wished I had been able to sleep some more.
Very friendly staff. Good internet. Right in the heart of the market.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Florence Hotels!


We are glad you choose to stay with us while you were visiting New Delhi India and taking the time to post positive comments about your stay and also suggestions. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sanjeev Pande

General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

very good, room we had was superb, luxury. Breakfast was v nice, all round good place to stay. also v helpful staff. Only down side, pay per use internet rubbish, only worked in reception, not in the rooms so pretty darn useless

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank adam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Florence Hotels!


We are glad you choose to stay with us while you were visiting New Delhi India and taking the time to post positive comments about your stay and also suggestions, WiFi is free in the hotel and you can use it in the rooms or personal devices at your convenience.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sanjeev Pande

General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is reasonably clean and comfortable. It is perfectly adequate for a short stay in Delhi. Located 5 minutes walk from Karol Bagh metro station, it allows easy and cheap access to the sites in Delhi. Breakfast met the standards of the other hotels we stayed in across India.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katrina2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Katrina,

Greetings from Florence Hotels!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were on your holiday. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to note that your experience with Florence Hotels, New Delhi was enjoyable and that you have taken fond memories of your stay with us.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Sanjeev Pande

General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Location very good, walking distance to the Karol Bagh market. We arrived late & got a culture shock when saw our rooms. Not a deluxe standard at all, small, no window and hardly any walk space. However, the hotel staff and management was kind enough to upgrade us to the Premium room which was reasonable bigger then the Deluxe rooms. If you are travelling with family (kids and all) go for the Premium or Executive rooms. And avoid booking deluxe unless for 1 or 2 night stay only. Overall the hotel is an average hotel. Thank you to the management for upgrading us.

Room Tip: If travelling with family, do not book deluxe room. Book premium or executive room. Deluxe is like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeeranKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Keeran,

Greetings from Florence Hotels

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to delight you with the room quality at the first instance. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoys a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us eventually.

Please write in to me on gm@florencegroup.in ahead of your next visit, so that I am able to personally look into arrangements made.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjeev Pande,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Taxi driver found it straight away,arrived really late and were shown to a room where air con was too noisy and they changed it straight away! Didn't try food as so many eating options just outside-cleanliness was good generally for India you can't expect much more really. Good access to the metro too. Downside was a little pushy cross selling of tours by reception but we had arranged that all ourselves,however good options for those who haven't.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Burt

Greetings from Florence Hotels!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel it truly helps us serve you better. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the quality of our accommodation except the Air condition.

We thank you for your appreciation and your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Florence Hotels New Delhi.

Best Regards

Sanjeev Pande

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Florence Inn on over a dozen occasions during the past ten years, most recently in February of 2013. Our continual return to the hotel should be recommendation enough.
Note that the Florence Group of Hotels is made up of the Florence Inn and the Florence Hotel. The Florence Inn, which we know well, is the one convenient to the Karol Bagh stop on the Blue Line. The location is perfect for us since we rely on the nearby Metro to get us everywhere we need to go.

The hotel is well appointed throughout, has a respectable lobby, is immaculately clean, and has a helpful staff. The staff always remember us when we return, including one man who always tells us when our very first visit occurred.

Years ago, we had room 404, a standard room with no window to the exterior, only to a shared airshaft. The room had twin beds, an armoire, TV and stand, refrigerator, luggage rack, desk chair, and desk. Though the room was small, it was adequate. We wanted a double bed, and the staff were quick to push the twins together to make a king. The bathroom was really quite decent for a small room, with full tub and shower and marble sink counter.

On our second visit we were shown first to one of the '05 rooms (105, 205...). These are set up with a king sized bed from the start. They are also substantially smaller, the smallest rooms in the hotel. And the bath has no tub, only a shower with no curtain, which has the potential to soak the entire bathroom, rendering it unusable till everything dries out. Beware the '05's. We grumped a lot and were taken back to our good old 404. (Note the fourth floor is now closed.)

All the premium rooms and executive suites (rooms ending with ’06 and ’07) fare much better, with more furniture, fancier draperies, and windows to the exterior. The windows might be a problem in other hotels, admitting street noise. But the Florence Inn is on a side road off busy Ajmal Khan, and moreover is in a little cul-de-sac off that. Even the windowed rooms should be fairly quiet.

The dogs in the neighborhood sometimes spoil the quiet for all rooms. The executive suites have the additional problem of the lighted Florence Inn sign which flashes on and off until about midnight. Eye masks may render that a non-issue.

There are a few rooms on the ground floor (G-1, G-2...) all we believe of Premium grade. These may not be a good choice. They receive noise from the lobby and the elevator and especially the dining room. Moreover, they are adjacent to the kitchen, with its noise and especially cooking odors. At mealtimes, cooking odors can pervade the hallways of the entire hotel, and if you've left the vent fan on in the bathroom the odors can be drawn into any room.

Buffet breakfast was included for us. It was fairly simple: cornflakes and a hot cereal option such as porridge or sevian; an Indian bread, and some sort of vegetable curry; pancakes or French toast; toastbutterjam; omelet or fried eggs; tea or coffee; cut fresh fruits; and juice made with water which we don’t drink. We did not eat in the restaurant at dinner or lunch. We did once order room service when one of us was ill. We got a cream of chicken soup, which turned out to be a thin broth thickened with cornstarch, with many bits of chicken and too much salt. We also got a disappointing chicken biryani.

Apart from its cleanliness and nice appointments and good staff, the whopping huge advantage of the Florence Inn is its proximity to the Metro. I believe there is only one hotel in Karol Bagh nearer the Metro, by perhaps five steps, just next door to the Florence Inn. There are a number of restaurants near the hotel, and the hotel will provide you with a Xeroxed map upon request. Many of the restaurants are veg, and carnivores may have to look a bit (Raffles, Crossroads…) to find non-veg. For those who like a beer with dinner, only Jade Garden (Indo-Chinese) and Crossroads (Indian/Chinese/International ) seem to fit the bill, and both are a bit pricey.

If you should choose to try the Florence Inn, take care not to mistake it for the Florence, an altogether different hotel owned by the same company. The Florence is one street over on Saraswati Marg, but at the far end, about as far from from the Metro (whether the Blue Line or the Red Line) as you could get.

Finding the Florence Inn stumps drivers unfamiliar with the area, but it's really fairly easy. Just go to the Karol Bagh Metro station. Ajmal Khan Road comes in on the left side of the station. Start up Ajmal Khan. Perhaps thirty meters up, there's a left turn, which you should ignore. The road takes a very slight jog. Proceed another fifty meters or so to the next left, just opposite a small temple. Take that left. Another fifty meters or so, on the right, just beyond a barren little park, is the cul-de-sac where the Florence Inn is. There's a smallish sign for the Florence Inn, white letters on a red background, at the beginning of the little alley. These directions apply late in the evening or in the morning, when Ajmal Khan is two-way. During parts of the day it is one-way against you. Then you have to go to the first road to the right of the Metro, turn left up that to the small circle in front of the Arpit Hotel, and take the second left road, which runs beside the Arpit. This will bring you to Ajmal Khan just above the little temple and the turn for Florence Inn. Turn left onto Ajmal Khan, then take the first right, and in another fifty meters you'll be at the cul-de-sac.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are large and well appointed with windows facing the back of the building. The ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceTeam, General Manager at The Florence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sir

Greetings from Florence Hotels!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience with Florence Hotels. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Florence Hotels New Delhi and we thank you for sharing your encouraging review with us.

We are glad and honored you always choose to stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back at Florence Hotels New Delhi as always.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Sanjeev Pande,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Biden Pura
L' Affaire Luxury Boutique Hotel
L' Affaire Luxury Boutique Hotel
#144 of 736 in New Delhi
46 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Emperor Palms
Hotel Emperor Palms
#85 of 736 in New Delhi
158 reviews
Biden Pura
Taj Princess Hotel
Taj Princess Hotel
#94 of 736 in New Delhi
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biden Pura
Hotel Pooja Palace
Hotel Pooja Palace
#133 of 736 in New Delhi
272 reviews
Hotel Swati
#147 of 736 in New Delhi
139 reviews
Hotel Florence
#111 of 736 in New Delhi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Inn

Address: 15 - A/6 Ajmal Khan Road | Near New Bloom School, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $52 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Florence Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the finest downtown hotels located in the heart of the city. At the Florence Inn, you are looked after by the people who respect and value the word "Hospitality." Situated just minutes away from the city centre, world class shopping and prime business districts, Florence Inn is a haven of tranquil elegance located amidst the vibrant city of Delhi. Choose from our full service well appointed, tastefully designed Executive Rooms, Premium rooms, & Deluxe rooms. Free Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Florence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florence Hotel New Delhi
Florence Inn Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing