We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chanchal Continental
Ranked #299 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Taif, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in the hotel”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I had been to India ,with family ,in connection with my official work in the first week of January 2013 . Delhi had been shivering with cold but we felt absolutely comfortable due to excellent facilities in the hotel. One of my friends had recommended me this hotel.The hotel is situated in a premium location .The staff is excellent , very friendly and offered intime service .Very nice breakfast was included in the rent and above all free Internet service .

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibrahimmasoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
27
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Positive: The rooms were fine and compared to the other places we stayed in India, they were real luxurious. It was nice having the breakfast with a good choice. There was Indian and Continental type. The location is great! Walking distance (less than 10 min) to the train station where you can get a metro, pre-paid taxi or auto-rickshaw to any place in Delhi.

Negative: Not too many people at the front dest spoke English, so we had to wait a lot in order to understand what was going on. They wouldn't give us options on what to see and how to get there. It seemed like the only way to see Delhi was using their tour company. We had to discover everything on our own. The guy that showed us the room (which we didn't need nor asked for!), wouldn't leave. We had to give him the tip he asked for. A little annoying that the staff isn't trained well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadya_Merunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a family room. The room was fine, but we couldn't figure out how to use the AC. The location being close to the train station and the market was convenient, as well as the free wifi and breakfast included. The staff were also friendly. If you go to this hotel or any other hotel nearby, I would recommend the prepaid taxi from the Delhi airport because they charge less (around 150 rupees versus 670). We also did the city tour, just for convenience ($20) and the Taj Mahal tour with them. I'm sure we overpaid, but we didn't really know where else to book these and we just wanted to do them without stressing too much.

Onto the bad: there were cockroaches. Baby cockroaches, but cockroaches nonetheless. The manager is also a bit of a businessman. We needed to book a train, but for one of the trains we had to do it through the foreign office and he couldn't book it for us. He reassured us that it would be available the next day if we just continued to do our tours (it was just really shady because there were a couple of times we asked if we should book it on that day). That being said, we weren't able to get our tickets. It just seemed like he didn't really care because he wasn't getting a commission out of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anomelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent here 3 nights in standard room . Sadly but it's not so good as it was on the web pictures. No one didn't clean and refresh the room. We had room at 2 floor so it was noisy 24/7. There is no proper shower cabin, and water take a time to get warm. It's not so far from the train station. But if you would like to see Delhi find a pre-payed taxi. So just be aware of this issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_addictive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stsyed in the family room for four which was great value, clean room with nice bedding but a little small. Breakfast was an enormous all you can eat buffet which was delicious. Good service especially from the very friendly driver, and free wifi and complementary newspaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skoonveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel location is at one of the busy street in central delhi. The area of the hotel is completly unhygenic as the area is full of dust & dirt. But the hotel was well maintained. Staff was also very helpful. Overall itz worthy for the money which has been paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank 293San516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

it was pleasured to be here.staff are really good in nature and according to budget its cost effective. complementary breakfast is really too good and quality food.i would love too visit in my next trip.

Room Tip: all rooms are good almost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anandsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Chanchal Deluxe
#405 of 715 in New Delhi
70 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#74 of 715 in New Delhi
90 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Delhi 55
Hotel Delhi 55
#156 of 715 in New Delhi
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Blessings
Hotel Blessings
#284 of 715 in New Delhi
96 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Vivek Hotel
Vivek Hotel
#234 of 715 in New Delhi
333 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Le Roi
Hotel Le Roi
#128 of 715 in New Delhi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chanchal Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanchal Continental

Property: Hotel Chanchal Continental
Address: 8524 Shiela D B Gupta Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chanchal Continental 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy luxury accommodation at budget prices with other like minded travelers who start their journey into India from here. We have 53 well appointed AC Rooms with direct dialing telephone in each room, Cable and satellite color TV, Refrigerator with soft drink, attached bath, 24 hrs running hot & cold water, wall to wall carpet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chanchal Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing