We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't visit this hotel”
Review of Hotel 55

Hotel 55
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel 55
Ranked #570 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Hannover
1 review
“Don't visit this hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

- Air conditionier in the room is not working
- Room is connected to other rooms in hotel, so that in the night it is impossible to sleep if at least one guest is watching TV as the sound is perfectly transferred into the room
- The hotel is quite clean
- The price is extremely high for this conditions
- The only positive thing is rather friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a3cj3bdbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
14
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Don't be put off by the entry. Unfortunately rebuilding of roads, facades etc in Connaught place for the Commonwealth Games made it a bit difficult to negotiate around. The rooms are clean although a little old, bathrooms are fine. It is the staff that make this hotel such a pleasant place to stay. Many of them have been there for years. They will organise tickets, cars, rickshaws, meals and they are so happy to help. We enjoyed our 4 days there and are very happy to recommend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwintravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francais/Español in UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I am not sure if it is worth to stay into this hotel. I think it is too expensive for what it is.
PROS
Location

CONS
They ripped us off with the taxi cost coming from the airport, use the prepaid taxi when you arrive at the airport.
Not really clean
Noisy
Forget about the restaurant

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I don't know if it is the looming commonwealth games but the whole area around this hotel is 'under construction', which made getting to it (and even finding it) quite difficult, it also didn't feel very safe at night. Hotel staff were helpful, rooms were dodgy (run down and dusty) well overpriced, basically your paying for the city location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr0pBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

It was a clean and economically priced hotel right on Connaught Place. Surprisingly quiet seeing as how we had a room next to the circle. Nothing fancy but great as a centrally located place as we came back through Delhi for one night on our way home.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Hotel 55 is an adequate hotel with a 70's styled interior which is quite in need of an update. It is centrally located in Connaught Place and thus convenient for exploring. Our double room was cool and for a pleasant change there was no requirement for AC of the fan on during the night. Bedding was musty but clean and the decor is average. Shower was hot and towels provided.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

This is not a luxurious hotel and should not be regarded as anything other than a convenient centrally located overpriced hostel. It is absolutely a 1* (at best) and guests should not expect something modern or luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Hotel 55 is an excellent option to stay when exploring Delhi.
Rooms are clean, staff are friendly, good airport pick up.
Be aware of unscrupulous travel agents that roam around and in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
#383 of 715 in New Delhi
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#111 of 715 in New Delhi
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#288 of 715 in New Delhi
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corus Hotel
Corus Hotel
#538 of 715 in New Delhi
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 55

Property: Hotel 55
Address: H-55, Outer Circle Connaught Circus, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing