We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, excellent Rooftop-Restaurant, very friendly staff and very interesting location in the middle of the bazar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metropolis Tourist Home
Ranked #129 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Goa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, excellent Rooftop-Restaurant, very friendly staff and very interesting location in the middle of the bazar”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed a few times now, and just can confirm : Great clean mordern rooms ( especially the "suites" !), excellent Rooftop-Restaurant, very friendly staff and very interesting location in the middle of the most buzy traveller bazar Pahar Ganj. Airport pickup and drop service works fine, bookings and reservations via email work welll, nothing to complain at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
47
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worms, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This Hotel was written in the Lonely Planet and in my german book as well. Sent them an email, replied within minutes and confirmed me a room for the next day. Central located in Paharganj and 30 seconds walk from the Metro. I was so suprised when I walked in there and saw the room. Absolutely europe style, modern and one of the best places I ever stayed in... For Paharganj its a bit pricy, but definitly worth in. WIFI in every room for free, all new renovated, LCD TV, AC and very luxury furniture... Nice roof top restaurant/bar, bit over the price average of Paharganj, but definitly good... Very friendly reception staff as well... Def finitly the place to stay when youre in Delhi!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBSchaenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The rooms are great here - the photos online are very accurate. Bathrooms are fantastic, awesome, big showers with good hot water. This room has more soundproofing that other palces in the area, which was nice and meant we could sleep in a bit. Wifi is a little temperamental but good when it works. Balcony is good to look out over the chaos that is Pahar Ganj.

The staff here are generally polite and helpful, though the atmosphere in the reception and public areas isn't as good as other accommodation we have experienced in the area - it's a little dark and there seems to be a lot of staff just standing around and often just sitting outside our room, which was a little strange.

The roof top restaurant serves great food, both Indian and western cuisines. Location is great for shopping in the Main Bazaar and there are some other great restaurants just around the corner.

Room Tip: Consider getting a separate room vs. staying on the fold out sofa bed if there are more than two of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in the "older" Metropolis last December. This review is overdue. The rooms are clean, modern and well maintained. The staff are very helpful and do a great job to make your stay the best possible. The roof top restaurant is a great refuge from the busy main bazaar traffic. On check out I left a picture that i had purchased in Bhutan, in my room. I called them from the airport and they had it sent via courier to my mother's home in Canada......at no charge.....i think the package arrived within a week.....now that is above and beyond for service, thoughtfulness and consideration. Thank you so much. When i return to Delhi i certainly will be staying at the Metropolis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

There are two Metropolis Guest Houses / Tourist homes ... they are both run by the same operation - but there is some confusion here I think if you are reading these reviews. This is for the newer one, that is a minutes walk from the 'old' one. The 'old' one which is right on the Main Bazaar has the restaurant, and older rooms. This place has no restaurant (they will bring room service over from the other apparently) ... but has the newer renovated rooms. confused? well .. So was I at first as I only knew about the older building and went there first only to be direct to the new one.

Anyway ... The room was spacious, and had a very comfortable bed, lots of lights, and switches ... etc. TV with good channels. The bathroom - while 'reno'd ... was dank. the concrete ceiling had water stains, moldy tropical rot stains ... and just smelled dank. The water was hot, the shower large ... but the over all experience was shabby.

At 2000 it's a bit expensive. It is also located on a quieter alley ... overlooking a run down park, where in the morning if you get up early enough you can watch drug addicts get high. The area is the area ... there's not much to do about that - but if your looking to spend that kind of money - I recommend the Le Roi ... about 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After staying down the street in a room that cost 450rs per night we were sick and looking for refuge. We decided to check into the Metropolis and spend $30 a night. What we got was a very comfortable bed, AC, and a bathroom that was super modern and classy. The rooftop restaurant also brought out great plates of food, though as expected only tourists eat here.

If I ever come back to the paharganj I will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had expected more on basis of Trip adviser ranking. Can also compare with much lower ranked and cheaper Vivek hotel now. Clean and good room, but hotel felt dark, subdued, staff not very interested to help. Ultimately had outsiders help us with transport, food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arend v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#83 of 716 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#27 of 716 in New Delhi
681 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Hotel Lal's Haveli
#109 of 716 in New Delhi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Star Plaza
Hotel Star Plaza
#131 of 716 in New Delhi
147 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#93 of 716 in New Delhi
449 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#47 of 716 in New Delhi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Tourist Home

Property: Metropolis Tourist Home
Address: 1634-35,First Floor,Main Bazar, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolis Tourist Home 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel started in 1983 with 20 rooms,it has the best location in comparison to other hotels which are in a very congested areas around.The most famous export market near by makes it an ideal place to stay for handicraft dealers from around the world.hotel is centrally located in delhi with all major tourist destinations and business centers at a radius of not more than 15-20 min,nearest metro station(tube)is at a one min walking distance.The hotel went under a major renovation for one year 2011 to 2012 and re opened on 7 th feb,a major facelift to all 20 rooms, pictures can be seen on travellers review.facilities:aircon,electronic safe,24 hrs hot shower through solar panels,refrigerator,spacious bathrooms with glass curtains,kohler bathroom fittings,spacious balconies which are usp's of our property,electronic door key card system,dedicated internet wifi routers for a perfect internet experience,a multi cuisine restaurant.the hotel is well equiped to serve business travellers and tourist as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metropolis Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Tourist Home Hotel New Delhi
Metropolis Tourist Home New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing