We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Temple”

Swaminarayan Akshardham
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.80*
and up
Private Evening Tour of Akshardham Temple with Musical Fountain Show
More Info
$44.00*
and up
Private Temple Tour by Car in Delhi
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Temple Tour in Delhi
Ranked #2 of 429 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fantastic site to visit - unimaginable architechture, great theme show, diaorama and I max presentation. If any tourist, irresepctive of his religion or creed, has half a day to spare, this is a must see. It is one man's creation in five years totally with voluntary support. A monument which makes every indian proud!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Temple”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

One of the most beautiful temples we visited. Security is tight. No cameras allowed but this is for your own enjoyment as you will spend morebtime taking pics than enjoying the beauty and splendor of the temple. You may take a photo on site which costs about 100 rupees collect it when you are leaving. Nicely packaged and makes a nice keepsake. The tour is well organized and the gardens and carvings are so beautiful. One must travel through the three buildings that give the history story of swami and the inventions of India. You will be pleasantly surprised. On your way out stop at the bookshop and buy the book on the temple 5 rupees therein is all your photos captured. Snack at the veg eatery and don't be put off by the queues as everything runs like clock work. I could easily have spent a full day here. Will visit the temple again at our next visit to India.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MirindaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,775
    1,634
    425
    124
    102
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautifull but with a fake feeling”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having traveled tthrought the golden triangle (Delhi, Jaiour, Agra) this site lacks a soul. We visited this site on our days back and were impressed by the size of the complex but confused by it all.
This is not a must but more of a nice to go to place if you have the time

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MaximeSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must visit monument!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wow!! It is an experience one is not likely to forget with the various shows that blow your mind! It is a temple that gives you a glimpse of the history, culture and values of India. Beautifully done carvings, the meticulousness of planning and design, the rich carvings lined in gold are a sight to behold. I felt proud that India has the capability to showcase something that competes with the best in the world! They have a tour through about 8 or 10 theatres that showcases the life history of Bhagwan Swaminarayan and the dolls / puppets used in the show look so real with eyes that blink and it has been really well designed. The boat ride showcases India's rich history and the musical fountain is another show that really is superbly done. A must visit for the entire family to see what India is all about! .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Temple”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am not a Swaminarayan follower myself but this temple was like heaven. I really enjoyed my entire 3 hours in the temple. Only no pictures allowed inside so forget camera though you will miss it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShitalRaichura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Nice temple”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we loved the architecture nice peaceful place to be in, one must visit this temple. this is close to Metro statiuon so one can easily reach here

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delphy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swaminarayan Akshardham also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Swaminarayan Akshardham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing