We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay away from most of the noise & traffic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SunStar Grand
Ranked #50 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our final hotel stay in India for this trip. We stayed here in 2007 & at the time it did the job of a place to sleep & relatively easy haul to the airport. We again found it to be a comfortable stay. Our room is fine with enough room, the softest bed encountered on this trip, free wifi in room, an in room safe and a rooftop bar & restaurant. The bathroom was well designed & there was plenty of hot water. There are power backup facilities. The included breakfast was fine & the 2 dinners were enjoyable last experiences of Indian food. As requested the beer was very cold! The hotel is a good location for Karol Bagh markets-few minutes walk. It is also close to the new metro.
The below ratings reflect the price paid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJBAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that this was your second visit to our hotel and you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
You liked the location near metro station and market. You liked the rooms.
You have praised the service staff were friendly &helpful specially the front office staff

Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 771 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in November 2013 for 6 nights -

CONS
Small rooms - rooms are really small compared to other hotels in the area.

The worst breakfirst provided - don't even bother booking with "free" breakfast. Its a joke, our first morning the so called "buffet" breakfast had barely anything left and we arrived for breakfast at 9am.

The pool downstairs is useless and dirty - whilst I stayed no one ever utilised it as its in a really small area.

We stayed in room 306 and it was really noisy!! As there is a kitchen upstairs and kept us awake all night.

The manager is helpful, however will try to make commission with everything you book from him. We tried to arrange freight and he quoted us 750rupees per kg when we paid 500rupees. Very corrupt person as we paid cash for our stay there he would not issue us with a receipt, when i requested for it he said he cant as i have paid cash.

The only good about this hotel is the staff are helpful.

Very disappointed tourist - will not be staying here! And also will not recommend to any tourists.

Mohish, Australia.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohishandAshishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest first of all i want to say sorry and feeling bad that we could not make your stay comfortable to the level of your expectations. But i want to say that the guests have given us that high ranking on the basis of the levels of the amenities,cleanliness we provide equivalent to any of the star category big hotels at a bare minimum price.
More over i feel that you were upset with some other things & so you felt bad about every thing.
You were three persons staying in one room. Mr.Narayanan ,Aruna raj & Ashishna sanjivni raj. A driver namely Mr. bhim sen had brought you to our hotel. Through out your stay this driver was with you and giving every service to you. You did not take any kind of service from our front office .These drivers are very clever. To keep them self in customers good books they can go to any level.
Below I will answer all your cons point wise.
1)Yes its true that our hotel is 7 years old but it it is renovated & maintained at various intervals but to say that our rooms are small is wrong. Our hotel has the biggest size of rooms if you compare with other hotels of our budget in our area.
2). By simply finding barely anything left in buffet breakfast on the first day does not make it a worst breakfast ever seen by you. As soon as you reached there our staff refilled all the items.I want to tell you that we make fresh breakfast. As there was a group staying in the hotel the items in breakfast were almost finished. But this does not mean that we do not serve breakfast.
3)Its everywhere mentioned that ours is a budget hotel with all modern amenities but still we have a very good size rooms equivalent to 3 star hotels but definitely not the size of 4 or 5 star hotels where the tariff is five times higher than our tariff,
4.Dear sir you have made a complaint regarding the pool without even using it. YOU did not find any person using the pool because in winters no body uses pool even in 5 star hotels in Delhi. Our pool is not heated.
5) we never hesitate to give receipt for the money taken from guest.I have seen in my records that a reciept no. 769 for INR 6000/- was issued to you on 15/11/2013
So from your review I do not think that you put a exact picture in the review and you wrote your own version without knowing or getting into the facts regarding breakfast,pool & cash receipt
. But still I want to apologise on all the issues raised by you and expect that you will definitely give us one more chance to prove our hospitality and services.
Regards,HOTEL MANAGEMENT
ASHOK TANEJA +919810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed at hotel sunstar grand for 3 nights in delhi,this hotel is great,with friendly staff ,very good choice of restaurant rooftop or basement near swimming pool and execellent food quality.Location is most central and close to everything as tourist spots are spread out in the city.Taxi can be easily hire from the hotel.Room service if very good and varied.Swimming pool is also very good size as well as sauna bath and steam bath work properly.I will come again when i am in delhi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 000mathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.You liked the location near metro station.
You liked the roof top restaurant. You also liked the food.
You liked the pool in the basement. You also praised services of sauna & steam bath
You have praised the staff for service & were friendly.

Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to make sure that my friend and I were safe when another guest was bothersome. Sunstar has CCTV in place. Rooftop dining was pleasant, drinking and sharing stories with staff and visitors was a highlight, despite the weatherbeaten sign for the hotel proclaiming it a hoVel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
You enjoyed food at roof top restaurant
You have praised the staff helping nature & found be friendly.
Thanks for praising our hotel .
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was woken by the telephone ringing at 4.00am. Such was the commotion caused by me trying to stop the loud ringing that water from my bottle cascaded all over the night stand. Whilst checking out I mentioned that I had not requested a wake up call & the lovely man on Reception very apologetically said one of my group had given the wrong room number. I was only there to sleep & shower so didn't get the full use of the hotel. Wish I could have stayed longer in New Delhi. The staff seemed friendly & helpful. I appreciated the use of the hairdryer delivered to my room as I chose not to lug around.my GHD (tip: take a travel dryer).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are very sorry to know that you were disturbed by a wake up call given to you at 4 am which disturbed your sleep. It is definitely the mistake of front office that he should verify the room no given by some tour leader before giving wake up call. We have taken it very seriously and warned the front staff to be more attentive in future.
You liked the hair dryer facility.
You have praised the staff were friendly & helpful.
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice stay in this good middle-class hotel. Very friendly staff that offer excellent service. Hotel itself is nice, but there is a big quality-difference between the different rooms. The indoor swimmingpool in the basement is rather peculiar.
I stayed here with a group of 20 people. We had a buffet-dinner on the rooftop: excellent and very tastefull!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our budget class hotel. You enjoyed the buffet dinner on the roof-top. You liked the rooms and in-door pool in the basement
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Dear friends I travel on a regular basis an have seen the first of hotels .When I came to Sunstar Grand I was beyond impressed. The service was very prompt and the staff went out of their way for my comfort. The food was fantastic and the room was very clean. MR Sanjay is very friendly and polite with guests.I highly recommend this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank RAJESH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
Thanks for sparing your valuable time & writing a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you regularly stay at our hotel.
You like the clean rooms and fantastic food
You have praised the service staff were friendly &helpful specially the front office staff

Thanks & Regards.
Hotel Management
Ashok Taneja. +91 9810104774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#40 of 728 in New Delhi
796 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
#70 of 728 in New Delhi
262 reviews
Wood Castle
#22 of 728 in New Delhi
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#62 of 728 in New Delhi
325 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#45 of 728 in New Delhi
1,169 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#8 of 728 in New Delhi
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SunStar Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SunStar Grand

Address: 7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $40 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SunStar Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms have the following additional facilities 1)Refrigerator in every room 2)TEA kettle in room 3)Dental kit/Shaving kit/Sewing kit/comb/hair dryer in bathroom 4)24 hour room service 5)24 hour full power & water back-up 6)24 hour running hot water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel SunStar Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing