We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed 6 nights during the Christmas-new year period” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel SunStar Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel SunStar Grand
Ranked #34 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stayed 6 nights during the Christmas-new year period”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice experience from the 6 nights.
Location is good which is near the metro station.
Staffs are nice and helpful.
Providing money exchange service.
24hr hot water with heater in room.
Wi-Fi provided is in fair speed.
Rooms are well maintained.
Food from.restaurant is nice.
Breakfast is fair but I like the chai.
recommend to stay in Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacylll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are happy that You liked the location. 24 hrs running hot water, & free wi-fi .
We will strive to improve our services even further.
Thank you for referring about our services. You have liked the breakfast, friendly service, nice clean well maintained rooms & helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    128
    61
    28
    27
See reviews for
149
157
91
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights last week...Good things first:
1. Very Good People - Everyone were polite
2. Location - Heart of City - moving around (ignore the rush of Karol Bagh please) is easy
3. Rooms - Spacious
4. Cost - Not too high
5. Water - hot water 24 hours (remember, we were there during the coldest of times in Delhi)
Some things which could improve:
a. Linen: they could change them daily (only once did they change in 6 days, that too after I threw them on the floor) - of course, towels were changed daily
b. Kitchen on Rooftop - very noisy and could not sleep at night - we were allotted 3rd floor and had to shift to 2nd floor after the first night.
c. getting a tea at 5am - this could be disastrous. Normally nobody picks up the phone at that time - reception or room service
d. Ask - you have to ask for everything - like everyday I had to tell them to deliver the newspaper.
e. Breakfast - Not "great" but at the same time was edible - could have more options.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st or 2nd floor - never go for 3rd or the ground!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaji_vk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going. But we are sorry to note that you had some minor complaints regarding change of linen, news paper & some noise.
But you have also praised us for good location, good spacious rooms, reasonable tariff, good & polite staff.
I assure you that We will strive to improve our services and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring about our mistakes.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was very happy with all aspects of this hotel. The staff were very helpful with every request, from local advice, to running down the road to buy a power adaptor for me!
The facilities were fantastic. Not just functional, but clean and modern.
I really loved the buffet breakfast- especially the lime pickles.
With free wifi, all TV channels and a swimming pool ( which I didn't have time to use! ), The extra facilities are great.
I would recommend this hotel to all visitors.

Room Tip: Street facing room allowed me to see the Sikh festival parade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring about our GOOD BREAKFAST. You have mentioned ,comfortable nice clean rooms & helpful staff. you have recommended our hotel to all travellers. You also reffered our hotel as a" great place to stay."
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Christmas period before travelling around India. Although having done an extensive amount of travelling before I didn't feel comfortable walking around New Delhi on my own so the hotel staff did their best to make sure I had safe and affordable transport options available. The wifi was particularly helpful as a way of contacting my family and the TV options were good as well. I had one small issue with cancelling my last night's stay as I wanted to travel to Punjab to visit the Golden Temple and the manager was very helpful in making sure I wasn't charged anything extra. The taxi service from the airport was also very helpful and delivered on what was promised.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAN090288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for recommendong our hotel to all future travelers. You have mentioned that you were very happy to stay here. You loved the breakfast, nice clean rooms & helpful staff. You have written GREAT PLACE TO STAY
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 consecutive years during our visit to New Delhi. It has been a very good hotel which is walkng distance to Karol Bagh (shopping Complex). The amenities in the hotel are very good and the staff is well trained and friendly. The staff is available 24/24 hours for help. The hotel room is superb with a wood decorations which you wont find in other hotels.

Room Tip: 206 and 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilayatibabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you are enjoying your stay at our hotel since last 2 years
You like the location as it is near the shopping area.
You have reviewed that staff is well trained & friendly.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring to us as 'NICE HOTEL EXCELLENT STAFF' .
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel has great food and nice quiet rooms at the rear of the hotel. The rooftop terrace restaurant is lovely for breakfast and the room and ensuite was quite clean. Staff want to be very helpful and there is a feeling of safety. John Singh was good bringing room service which is quick and inexpensive. I recomend you can stay here and ask for a room at the back if you have trouble sleeping although the rooms have dark curtains.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeitgeist1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring about our good services. You have mentioned friendly service,comfortable rooms & helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location near some great markets, and it's not far from the main parts of the city. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. It's clean and comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom was nice and clean with a good shower. The food on the rooftop restaurant was also very nice. The steam bath was a great added extra. There's also a sauna and a pool. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was quiet and spacious with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgst7687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring about our services. You have mentioned friendly service, great food, you have liked the roof top restaurant,friendly, polite & helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#32 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunstar Residency
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#27 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
#59 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#16 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
2.0 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SunStar Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SunStar Grand

Property: Hotel SunStar Grand
Address: 7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SunStar Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms have the following additional facilities 1)Refrigerator in every room 2)TEA kettle in room 3)Dental kit/Shaving kit/Sewing kit/comb/hair dryer in bathroom 4)24 hour room service 5)24 hour full power & water back-up 6)24 hour running hot water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel SunStar Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing