We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”
Review of Yatri House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yatri House
Ranked #417 of 1,128 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Arriving in Delhi Airport, we were met by a very friendly driver who took us straight to Yatri House. Such a relief when arriving late, and he was exactly where they had said he would be.

The room itself was spotless, with air con, albeit noisy, an absolute necessity in the heat of July. If you are thinking of staying at a cooler time of year, the ceiling fan would probably suffice. Hot water was available after the flick of a switch for about 10mins.

At breakfast we were given what we thought was a fairly substantial menu...turns out it was just a list of everything they were going to provide! Brilliant! They also provide bottled water in a fridge in the room. And free wi fi. All this added to the comfort in an otherwise crazy city.

The main sell though of Yatri House is the helpfulness of the staff. The owner (I guess), on our first night, saw that we were very stressed out after our day trying to dodge scams around the city and getting lost numerous times, sat us down, brought us sodas and when we asked, organised a taxi to take us to dinner, wait while we dined, and then drop us back. He negotiated a good price before the driver saw we were three girls. Unfortunately in Delhi, it is not always so easy to be brought back to your hotel as the auto rickshaw drivers generally have money on their mind and commission from elsewhere, so this was a big relief. The other men that worked there were always so friendly and accommodating.

We stayed 4 nights altogether, about 3 too many in Delhi, but loved every minute in Yatri House which made it somewhat bearable.

One slight minus is that our trash cans weren't changed in the four days, but I'm sure if we had asked, this would have been done. I am guessing the men just thought it would be impolite to enter our room when we weren't there or even when we were, but resting.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 224 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent our last couple of days here before heading home after several weeks n India. This small hotel is not fancy, but is clean with hot water and air conditioning. It is back off the main road, so is quiet, and is a great location for seeing the sites and shopping in Delhi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

we stayed in yatri house because of the positive reviews on this website. we found a nice and clean place, with nice garden, but nothing more. we got a ground floor room and the ac didn't work and at night we could hear the stuff talking on the phone very loud. for 5000 rs. that the place charge you can stay in a 5 stars hotel in delhi and it's going to be for sure much more nice . the next day in delhi we stayed at delhi bed & breakfast which was much nicer for 3500 rs.

Room Tip: get a higher room then the ground floor, it has to be more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shlomitt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are comfortable, the area quiet yet close in to everything you need. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phantphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After som hectic weeks in India we where about to head back home. The last two days where spent in Delhi at Yatri House. It was such a pleasure to arrive there. Quiet and a bit away from the crazyness but still very central. It is right by a metro station which makes it very easy to get around town. They have a little garden and the breakfast is huge. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.
At 5000 rupies a night for a double room it is a bit on the pricey side compared to rest of India but we found it worth it.
I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissStine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Located just west of Paharganj. Very pleasant and very quiet place (it is on a minor sidestreet off Panchkuian Marg a short ways northwest of Ramakrishna Ashram Marg metro station). Nice garden / courtyard. A good breakfast, internet, and one transfer (well executed) included in the price. Rooms have some heat and are clean, but are quite modest for the price. However, unless quiet is very, very important to you, it is significantly if not spectacularly overpriced; we decided that quiet was worth it while we were trying to work through a 10 1/2 hour time difference-worth of jet lag, but not once we were acclimated to India time. A minor irritation was that, upon arriving at the usual ungodly hour, they insisted on taking our passports, and refused to return them until much later in the morning. I do not sleep well without my passport.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We recently booked this hotel by email from the UK for our first three nights after arrival in Delhi with a taxi collection from the airport included in the cost. All went well and we found the accommodation satisfactory, particularly as it was centrally located close to a metro station and in a very quiet private road. Staff were friendly and helpful serving breakfast in a pleasant little courtyard. The clean room was a good size but nothing special and without style. On reflection we realised that the price we were charged was high compared to the other hotels we stayed at (including another one in Delhi where we stayed at the end of our tour of Rajasthan) .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 728 in New Delhi
774 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#52 of 728 in New Delhi
1,735 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 728 in New Delhi
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 728 in New Delhi
4,089 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 728 in New Delhi
2,854 reviews
Hotel Shree Ram Deluxe
#368 of 1,128 in New Delhi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yatri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatri House

Address: 3/4 Bhanot House Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 1,128 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $69 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yatri House Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing