We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yatri House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yatri House
Ranked #346 of 1,063 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Good but Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Located just west of Paharganj. Very pleasant and very quiet place (it is on a minor sidestreet off Panchkuian Marg a short ways northwest of Ramakrishna Ashram Marg metro station). Nice garden / courtyard. A good breakfast, internet, and one transfer (well executed) included in the price. Rooms have some heat and are clean, but are quite modest for the price. However, unless quiet is very, very important to you, it is significantly if not spectacularly overpriced; we decided that quiet was worth it while we were trying to work through a 10 1/2 hour time difference-worth of jet lag, but not once we were acclimated to India time. A minor irritation was that, upon arriving at the usual ungodly hour, they insisted on taking our passports, and refused to return them until much later in the morning. I do not sleep well without my passport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
110
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We recently booked this hotel by email from the UK for our first three nights after arrival in Delhi with a taxi collection from the airport included in the cost. All went well and we found the accommodation satisfactory, particularly as it was centrally located close to a metro station and in a very quiet private road. Staff were friendly and helpful serving breakfast in a pleasant little courtyard. The clean room was a good size but nothing special and without style. On reflection we realised that the price we were charged was high compared to the other hotels we stayed at (including another one in Delhi where we stayed at the end of our tour of Rajasthan) .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

To be picked up from the airport at crack of dawn and put straight into our room at about 7am was a huge weight off my mind when we arrived in Delhi. We were able to get a few hours sleep before braving the streets of Delhi. This we got at no extra charge which we thought was very reasonable. We were very pleased that Yiatri house, although being central and ideally located, was infact so well set back from the main road that it was lovely and quiet. This in itself was a relief (if you've been to India you will know what I mean!).
We only met Sanjay (the owner) on our last day and found him to be very easy to talk to and very helpful and very amenable.
Although the room and bathroom were clean enough, the electrics were from the arc with power socket hanging off the wall and we were worried about turning on the bedside lamps in particular.
Nice, huge TV on the wall, for those that want and good free wireless internet access was great (only 2 of our other hotels ever charged for this so not uncommon).
Beds in India are nearly always hard, with sheets and blankets. However Yiatri house had the best soft pillows of any place we stayed in 3 weeks travelling.
Our room overlooked the little courtyard where breakfast was served. It was possible to hear people outside but by then we were up already.
Breakfast was nice. Staff very accommodating. One guy slept in the 'lounge' next to entrance and had to wake up every time someone arrived or left in the night. However was nice to know that we were safe indoors! This guy recommended a superb restaurant (Malahotras) for take away, but we decided to brave the streets (to check it was ok) and found it to be the best food we had in Delhi. We made a b-line for it on our return.
Yiatri House is very basic with no frills (much more 'guest house' than 'hotel'). Reasonably comfortable and we felt very at home there. It was easy to find our way from/back to as well.
The reason we did not return at the end of our holiday was that for 5000 rupees (for a double), it was very expensive compared to much better and cheaper hotel accommodation we subsequently found very easily. However for first time in Delhi it's probably ideal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

If Hiltonia is not your scene, Yatri House (yes, it IS a house) is the perfect staging post between full-on India and the rest of the world. It provides the perfect oasis of calm when either arriving (they whisk you safely from the airport) or as a chance to regain your composure and finish off your visit prior to flying out again. It has always been a great place, but recently the standard of attentiveness to detail has been taken up one more notch; the towels were perfectly presented in the bathroom, there was the sense that the cleaning was bordering on fanatical! In short; it was an absolute pleasure to return to. Added bonus; eat the food with complete confidence! I don't often say that...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

A quiet escape from the hustle bustle of CP. Very kind and accommodating staff. I would stay here again the next time I'm in Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Yatri House was one of the best places I have ever stayed during my travels. Rooms are immaculately clean, spacious with comfortable beds. After weeks traveling on horse-riding expedition, we enjoyed the luxury of large flat-screen, great library and absolutely delicious breakfasts (coffee and toasts were out of this world:-)) The location itself is also perfect, Yatri house is located in a quiet alley road, but in walking distance to Connaught Place, Paharganj, Main Bazaar, etc. Last but not least, the owner is very helpful and friendly gentleman, he arranged for us great trip to Agra and Fatehpur Sikri. When I come to Delhi again, I will definitely stay in Yatri!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel standard rooms. Comfortable beds, spotlessly clean, chilled mineral water complementary, fabulous breakfast included, good shower and wifi. Only 5mins walk to metro, highly recommended. Tuk tuks might not be able to find it, the gate is next to the heart and lung hospital.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
La Sagrita
#57 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#37 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Wood Castle
#11 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#42 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Jyoti Mahal Guest House
#237 of 703 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#74 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yatri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatri House

Property: Yatri House
Address: 3/4 Bhanot House Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,063 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yatri House Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing