We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, but nothing special”
Review of Yatri House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yatri House
Ranked #352 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, but nothing special”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We booked Yatri House for our overnight stafy in India. They arranged pick up from the airport at 7am - following a long haul flight from the UK. Although we booked well in adavance and had several communications with them re needing three single beds, they initially tried to put us in a small double room. They did eventually give us a three bed room, although we had to wait outside in the courtyard for three hours, despite this room being available from at least the previous day, as it had not been cleaned - not the best start to our hokiday.

However, the room and shower room were of a decent size and the staff very friendly and helpful.

The price is probably a bit too expensive for what the hotel offers, despite being in Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
110
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Yatri House in Delhi is the place to be for an informal but very comfortable place. My wife and I stayed there for a total of 11 days in 3 separate stays. The house has a nice little garden tucked away from the noisy traffic but not far from the action of Connaught Place or the Metro stop that connects you even to the airport. And speaking of connections, the Yatri offers free Wi-Fi -very important to us - which we could use from the comfort of our air conditioned room. The Yatri gave us everything we needed while away from home; the attentive owner and staff made sure of that. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninopagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at this stylish, well-managed B&B. The accommodation was stellar, staff were courteous and attentive, and thoughtful 'little touches' (mineral water in the room, WiFi) were very welcome. We'd highly recommend it and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

As two women in their 60s visiting India for the first time (and during the monsoon), we wanted a hotel where we could be really cool and comfortable after a hot day of sightseeing. We chose Yatri House based on the pictures and reviews, and we were not disappointed. The staff were kind and helpful, the garden was relaxing, the breakfast was great, the AC was cold and the water was hot! It was almost like staying at a quiet private home, on a lane off a busy street. After a few minutes of chatting, the owner had suggestions for us of how to organize our time in Delhi, and arranged a car with an excellent driver (ask for Rahul) to take us on our out-of-town excursion. The only drawback was the walk on Punchkuin Road to an area with restaurants, etc. It was lined with men standing around and it was terribly noisy and polluted.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Pleasant place – very clean, spacious room, good furnishings -- but somewhat isolated in a neighborhood with few amenities (no nearby shops for basic goods, no restaurants, coffeshops or bars). The owner and staff are helpful, but the owner/manager appears to be around only in the morning. It’s a 300m walk to the metro station (the system is quite good), on which it is easy to reach the more traveler-friendly parts of the city. Expensive for the level of service provided.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

It was our first foray into Indian hotels and we spent two nights here. The rooms were clean and well appointed, with large tvs but nothing special about the decoration. The bathroom was clean and sufficient.

Breakfast which was included was tasty and a good enough range of items,

Worth staying for the helpful staff. We were allowed to store our large bags for two weeks while we explored further afield and they arranged a free pick up from the airport.

I would say its a little expensive compared to other cities we stayed in but that is apparently normal for delhi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The guest house was relatively quiet and the location was good (walking distance to metro station). The linens and furniture were quite old. The a/c and hot shower worked and the breakfast was adequate. The hotel staff was helpful. Wifi was unreliable. The other aspect of this hotel's business, the readily-available "driver" service, which is just a facade for a very rude and aggressive tout. Also, the manager tried to charge us a rate that was higher than the one that we had already agreed to beforehand.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#27 of 715 in New Delhi
776 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,772 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,689 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yatri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatri House

Property: Yatri House
Address: 3/4 Bhanot House Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yatri House Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing