We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and Well maintained”

Sulabh International Museum of Toilets
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Day Tour of Delhi's Quirky Museums
Ranked #100 of 422 things to do in New Delhi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A small but surprisingly amusing collection devoted to a serious subject--sanitation.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Unique and Well maintained”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My niece came visiting and the first place she wanted to go was the Toilet museum. Apparently she had seen a program on TV. Pretty close to where we stay. I had passed by on a number of ocassions.
This museum is maintained by the NGO Sulabh International whose mission is to provide cheap and affordable toilet facilities to the public and also educate people on the need to stop defecation in the open.
The museum is interesting and has some unique toilets used over the ages in different countries. However even better is the tour and the narration by the gentlemen who guided us during the visit. I enjoyed it thoroughly.
The museum also has plant that converts human waste to gas and uses that gas for cooking as well as lighting. The solidified waste that is a by product is used as manure.
Overall a nice visit to a very nice and unique place. Worth spending some time to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ravimark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good initiative”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

this is an excellent initiative of shulabh, I as travel escort travel with large groups of tourists and i need these facilities very often, the maintenance of these toilets are great and i never felt bad using these toilets

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SKTourescort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really educational, fun, and quirky attraction off the beaten path, worth the travel!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Out of all the attractions in Delhi, I enjoyed this the most because it was an entire experience. You saw cool things, you learned about important social issues, and they had a cool museum featuring all things toilet with a light-hearted nature.

HIGHLIGHTS:
- tour guide was very friendly and warm, knowledgeable, and seemed to really care about the mission of the place
- you can play with real poop that has been solidified and turned into different forms (like rock hard)
- there are lots of toilet humor cartoons and interesting history facts/stories, as well as prototypes of unique toilets inside the museum
- I liked seeing how waste from the public bathroom (part of the museum) facing the street is converted into biogas to power electricity/lights for the grounds and cooking for food, and how the water is purified through several stages to become useful for washing plates and gardening (you can see the beautiful garden that was planted using waste as fertilizer)
- 10-15 different models of latrines and toilets you can build in the developing world with cost breakdowns of materials if you are interested in working in international development/public health/engineers without borders

*This was the thing I saw that was MOST deserving of a donation, and yet it was the one place in India that DOESN'T accept donations. The Irony! The guide had a good explanation though. They don't accept donations to avoid the hassle of justifying how their funds are spent, as sometimes they put up employees in nice hotels to garner publicity and such spending may be controversial

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceeded every expectation! This museum is a gem!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

As you can imagine, a visited this museum out of sheer curiosity, to have fun with a friend of mine who was visiting Delhi. I was just expecting to see some weirdly shaped toilets and learn a few fun facts about the history of toilets.

But it was so much more than that. The staff was very sincere, energetic and knowledgeable, giving us a guided tour of the small museum and outside area, telling us truly interesting and thought-provoking tidbits about the different ways people have dealt with sanitation issues throughout the ages, and offering us free CD-ROMs of information contained in the museum.

It's definitely a fun and lighthearted place (a beautiful campus, too), but it also made me care a lot more about sanitation than I thought it would.

If you have time in Delhi to see more than the big sights, or if you live in Delhi and are looking for a fun outing, don't miss this place! It's out of the way (pretty close to the airport), but definitely worth the trek.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yayfortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hygine”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The most important part of our life but mostly neglected , it is not only for self but also for the community , all sort of designs with any type of enviorment and budget, dry or wet , what ever suites to the requirments of an indvidula or family or community is available here

Helpful?
1 Thank AnilRajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulabh International Museum of Toilets also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Sulabh International Museum of Toilets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing