We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good food for vegetarians”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pitrashish Grand
Ranked #481 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Hyderabad
1 review
“No good food for vegetarians”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I was 7 months pregnant hence i was given the best available hotels for the business trip to ensure that my trip is comfortable. But it turned out to be a bit pathetic as i was a vegetarian and there was hardly any good food for vegetarians. Additionally the food cost was also very high. The ambiance was good, rest all the amenities were good but my only worry was about the food which was not upto my satisfaction. I'm not sure if non-veggies would be happy to stay there. I stayed there for almost 10 days, more than myself i was worried about my baby who was yet to see the world. Thanks to GOD this stay didn't affect my health and i had a\delivered a healthy baby girl on 4th July 2009. That's it from my end :)

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — vegetarian food & milk to be precise
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bp1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
3
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

If you try to find a hotel in Delhi that is somewhere between a €400 a night 5 star and a €10 flea pit, you will be disappointed. There seems to be very little in the way of nice, reasonably priced hotels in Delhi. We thought that we had done the exception with The Grand Inn - but we were sadly mistaken.

We arranged for a pick up from the airport but there was no sign of anyone when we arrived so we phoned the hotel, who gave us the driver's mobile. It turned out that the driver was waiting outside because he wanted to keep the €0.10 that you have to pay to enter the airport. Ok, we thought, these things happen, no problem at all. So we followed the driver to the crappiest car you could imagine. We were surprised it even moved when it had to go downhill. And his driving style made me wish that the seatbelts had been left in the car rather than be cut out. Still, no problem. This is India, these things happen.

We had booked a suite - and we got the one that is on their leaflet/website. Like many hotels in India the bed consists of an undersheet and a blanket - there is no top sheet. We took a look at the blanket and sheet, and decided to sleep on our sleeping bag. But no problem, this is India.

Both the room and the bathroom had seen better days, many of them in fact. But since we only slept in the room we did not mind too much, after all this is India.

We stayed in many places on our trip to India and this place was the worst. It would have been acceptable at maybe €15 a night - but you have to be the type of person who does not mind staying grotty, noisy, run down places in order to save a few quid. We had agreed a rate before we went and were expecting some tax to be added - but we ended up getting over 25% "tax" added to our bill, and paying about €65 a night. This place was definitely not worth it.

The hotel itself is a bit out from the main sights in Delhi but it is easy to get a auto rickshaw in and out (about 50 rupees) and it takes about 30 mins to Connaught Place. It is on a busy enough road, and as the other reviewers commented there is nothing to see/do around the hotel.

If I were to go back I think that I would take my chances with one of the places around Connaught Place that gets the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. At least if it is as run down a this place you have things to do on your door step!


(it is worth noting that at the time we went there were only 3 reviews of this place and they were reasonably enough. The once written since then have been more truthful!)

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — the final bill.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fuu_muu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Very friendly staff who were keen to assist above and beyond the call of duty, and let me check in long before the official time.

Adequately comfortable room. Hot water supply rather unreliable. A bit noisy at night (but then, this is India...). Drinkable coffee.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, but that's primarily because of the location. It's a safe area and it's not too far from many sites of tourist interest, but it's a bit frustrating that (as far as I could find) there's nowhere to eat, nothing to see, nothing at all to do within walking distance - so you end up spending a lot of time in cabs or rickshaws.

A couple of tips related to transport if you do stay here. It's usually easier to get a cab/rickshaw on the OTHER side of New Rohtak Road. And when returning to the hotel, ask for the Liberty Cinema - no drivers will know the hotel, but the cinema (about a short block away) is a well-known landmark.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IndoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

The Grand Inn is five minutes from the Delhi train station, which certainly is convenient for early departures. Also, it is in a quiet area. My brother and his wife had a room right next to mine. We shared a (very) mini walkout. Their room was OK. However, my room had not been cleaned and the bed had been slept in. The food we ordered was good. Still searching for a reliable budget hotel in New Delhi...

  • Liked — Near train station, quiet area
  • Disliked — Room not clean, Slept-in bed
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

wonderful experiance stayin in this hotel, wonderful helpful staff, very near to best of the places, neat, good big rooms, good food, kind hearted staff, had wonderful staying in this hotel i think its priced decently had tight budget this time thought wud stay in some local cheap hotel but when travel agent booked this hotel thought it will be not be good but when reached there we got warm welcome and when we saw suites i was amazed and thanking god again and as it was vry clean and beautiful room with clean hygenic bathrooms which is imp thing and with all the facilities and vry vry helpful staff. i think best time we had in delhi and in our hotel room.

  • Liked — was very clean and hygenic
  • Disliked — there was nothing which we didnt like
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nitikalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Pitrashish Premium
#103 of 1,076 in New Delhi
40 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,772 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,714 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#30 of 715 in New Delhi
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pitrashish Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pitrashish Grand

Property: Hotel Pitrashish Grand
Address: 59 / 37 New Rohtak Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pitrashish Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of the Business Hub Karol Bagh and thus, are the prime choice of tourists and business delegations from all parts of the world for their stay in the Indian capital. We at The Grand Inn believe in the best of service & hospitality to individual travelers right in city center. Majestic exterior, pleasant and tastefully done interiors, luxuriously furnished rooms with all modern facilities, courteous staff, and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pitrashish Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel New Delhi
Grand Inn
The Grand Inn
The Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing