We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Value and a Good Experience”
Review of Hotel Lal's Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Ranked #113 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This small hotel offers a quiet reprieve from the chaos of Delhi and Pahar Ganj. The rooftop offers a small restaurant for breakfast and other meals and the food and beer were reasonably priced for a restaurant.

Pros
Clean
Well maintained
Excellent service
Good value--price quoted included everything, no surprises upon checking out.
No hassle after the initial discussion of tours (we had our own plans)
Good internet (wifi)
Walking distance to train station
Cons
A/C as only one speed and temperature
Red carpet on the floor. I am not certain why carpet is so popular in many hotels in Asia where cleaning and dirt are both issues. I prefer tiles which can be washed.

Overall, I felt safe in the area. The area has many hotels and places to eat. Also, it seems to be the home of many businesses who are selling home renovation/improvement products. The area is busy, hectic and noisy, but so it most of India. Lots of places to eat close by so no need to go far.

No issues with this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side which was relatively quiet. The room did have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiritedbolderwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had been when we visited Delhi in Oct 2012 for the 2nd Indian grand prix.
The hotel booking was done online and we got the rooms exactly matching to what we booked(Some hotels say rooms not available at present and provide different rooms).
The room service is very good. Food was decent.
The washrooms were clean and sanitized.
Hotel staff were very co-operative.
The only low point was the location. But we just needed a room to crash at night and to keep our luggage.
So overall it was a very good experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azhar915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The manager was very friendly, helpful and reasonable. I've got a nice room and the bed was comfortable. The view was not great but nothing in Pahar Ganj really is that grand. Clean bathroom, and appreciated the free newspaper. Food was okay

I was a bit taken aback by the need to tip again after years of being used to just paying the service tax included on the bill. The culture of tipping should really be phased out from the service industry in India, and service fee be simply included in the bill. Everybody demands baksheesh everywhere in India, from the hotel porter, waiter all the way up to the government babus and it's confusing when it becomes a bribe! I was a bit annoyed when not a few workers came out to ask for the tips after I checked out and had to pay people I didn't remember serving me!

Sorry to rant about tipping here, it's actually everywhere not just here - the hotel's a nice place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RemaChhakchhuak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You will be greeted by the longtime Manager Raman, a true icon in the hotel. He deserves a crown and has the best heart, the best ideas and is always helpful. But their is the entire staff also, they have all been with the generous owners, Mr Wason and son Amit Wason for many years. The quality of this simple yet stylish, clean and extremely friendly hotel in Pahar Ganj will be your home for the time of your stay in Delhi.
They have a restaurant on the roof, but you can also order for your room, nothing is impossible here, a real gem of a hotel at excellent rates.
The Ramkrishna Marg Metro station is a few paces away and prepaid taxi from airport is 370 rp.
Enjoy your holiday or working holiday here at Lal's Haveli.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has the potential to really, I stayed there for two days because I came here to work, staff quickly gave me the keys and went to freshen up, the room was small bathroom clean, fresh sheets, you will see that the service is old, I was very rested here My hometown fun

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

cool place, my room had a private bathroom and bed, I went to dinner at the city which is very close to the hotel, good service and clean, good communication, and is priced cheaply lying all I want, I'm happy with the stay, this hotel will surely often fell into , a good place for a day trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank olek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My sister and I want to thank you for the great stay at your hotel!! The staff was really friendly and helpful and looked out of us in the big city of craziness (which we loved)! The street we were on was a real taste of the city! The rooms were clean, comfortable and the hotel was close to the metro which is easy to take anywhere in the city. We really felt like home at this place! A big Dhan' yavada to Mr. Roman, Govind, Vinod, Kishan, Pratal, Nawal,Raj and Manoj !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank erinkavanagh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#70 of 715 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#93 of 715 in New Delhi
331 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 715 in New Delhi
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#80 of 715 in New Delhi
253 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#325 of 715 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Hotel Toronto
#137 of 715 in New Delhi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lal's Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lal's Haveli

Address: 8892-95 Multani Dhanda, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lal's Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lal's Haveli as the name indicates, a blend of old world splendour, great eastern traditions and glorious Indian hospitality enhanced by the comfort of the present day of living, it has been designed for the corporate seniors, business men hopping from places, meeting deadlines running the show on the globe. Spacious and bright guest rooms are fitted with air conditioning, heaters, curtains and bed mattresses. The guest rooms are a haven of comfort, there is an aura of gracious olden hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lal's Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lals Haveli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing