We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel, overpriced, dreadful customer service”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #576 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful hotel, overpriced, dreadful customer service”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Do not stay in this place. It is a total rip-off and the service is appalling. We paid over $80pn for a room to find the toilet didn't flush and there was no hot water. 12 hours after reporting the faults they still hadn't been fixed. In that time they hadn't even managed to come in and clean the room and provide us with toilet roll. The excuse given for this was that our room "had our bags in it" (whose hotel room doesn't??) and the cleaners hadn't wanted to disturb them... Staff basically lied to us and laughed at us quite blatantly in turns when we tried to take the matter up with them on several different occasions.
Then when it came to paying when checking-out at 5am we were suddenly informed that the credit card machine hadn't been working for 2 months (no signs anywhere in the rooms or the reception to indicate this, in fact lots of "Visa and Amex accepted here" signs plastered all over the doors) so the receptionist then got security to lock us into the hotel so we couldn't "escape" without paying (as if that was our intention), and then marched one of us to the ATM in the middle of the night to withdraw the money before we were all then finally permitted to leave the premises. Nothing like treating your guests like common criminals to make them feel valued and respected.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbt3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
8
11
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The Hotel is conviniently located right on CP outer circle. Except for that there is nothing much to write about. The rooms are very average - in fact need upkeep. Service is slow. Over all experience is barely satisfactory.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Upkeep
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bhandarkar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

York is nice hotel situated at a prime location.

It is decently priced. Rooms are decent in size and have all necessary facilities.

The best thing about it is its location. A nice place to stay in at Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MyExp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allahabad
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I couldnot forget my stay with hotel york. I had a good time over there. I felt myself so much comfortable during my stay over there. All the staff are nice and polite and hospitable in each and every way. I have visited so many hotels in my life visiting the mostly all places in India. But never been such kind of amenities and services what I found in hotel york.
Indeed, I will definately recommand my relation and all my colleages to visit hotel york at least once in a life

Girish parwar

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girish0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I had the misfortune of staying in Hotel york a few days back.. by far my worst experience ever.

The rooms do not have a fan.. not do they have individually controlled AC.. the AC was controlled centrally at the whims of the owners. Most of the times, it was turned off, as a result of which the room was very very stuffy.

The night was really really bad tho.. thinking that the guest would have been asleep, the hotel turned off the AC at abt 11:00 P.M. and despite repeated complatints, refused to turn it on making excusses such as power cut in the entire area, local power cut, fault with the AC etc etc. Finally went to sleep at 2 after been fed up. the guys did not even have a table fan!!

The rooms were pretty sad too.. matress was ok but the place was dingy.. too too little light.

STay away form this place!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The rest has a bit of catching up to do. Reception staff did not inspire confidence - don't land in late at night or you are fair game. Room staff friendly and attentive. Room itself ok for R300 - ask to see room, bring bag + haggle there. Make to leave if no joy at first. Agree price, leave bag + get written quote(I just paid cash) at reception as staff can change day on day and they feel honour bound to try it on. Check out central Delhi then eat in restaurant. Food and waiting staff exemplary. Central location best + worst bit, convenient to a lot but lively and noisy. It was much the same 20 years ago, apart from prices!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Arrived late at night and accepted room in a bit of a hurry. Big mistake. Found a small lizard scurrying around the room, what looked like bedbugs in one of the beds, dust bunnies under the bed, battered walls in bathroom, dirt on many surfaces. Neighbor in next room was blasting TV at 1:00am and walls were quite thin.

Gathered up my stuff, returned the key to reception and got the hell out, walked into the street at 1:00am and hailed a rickshaw for Clark International.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank DougP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#109 of 715 in New Delhi
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#284 of 715 in New Delhi
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corus Hotel
Corus Hotel
#538 of 715 in New Delhi
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
#384 of 715 in New Delhi
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Property: York Hotel
Address: K Block Plot No-10 Outer Circle, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels York
Hotel York
York Hotel Delhi
York International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing