We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place by Delhi Standards”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #576 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place by Delhi Standards”
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Before I start this review, let me tell you something about myself. I was born and raised in India, allthough have spent the past 7 years in the US and travelled to many countries. So I am used to certain things while in India and have certain expectations in other countries - so my review may be a bit skewed (but not really).
First of all, if you intend spending something below $150 for a room in Delhi - expect the worst. Delhi is expensive and every hotel is looking to cash in on tourists. To expect western standards for something below 150-200 bucks is almost impossible. If you go to a 5 star (or sometimes a 4-star), you will get what you expect. Any hotel that says it is 3-star is generally a sham as there is no clear demarcation on what is a 3-star or 2-star in Delhi (or for that matter in india).
The reason, I chose York was for the location. - It was on the Outer Circle of Connaught Palace -- right in the heart of Delhi -- so there was always a lot of Hustle Bustle. Close to the railway station and almost central to everything that you would want to see. Pricing is a bit Expensive $87 (including tax), but most things were ok. The room was clean, the sheets, towels, blankets were clean. The mattress was worse than a $40 mattress. The room service was decent -- the waiters do not keep knocking on your door, asking if you need anything. They only come if you call and that too promptly. The hot water was good, pressure excellent, bathroom overall reasonably clean. The area is safe and plenty of restaurants around. Overall, I had no complaints. Just remember - most $50 motels in the US would have far better amenities. But this was Delhi -- and I had lowered my standards before I even started looking for a place.

If you hunt well -- you can probably get a cheaper place with better amenities. I was a little lazy and this was only the 3rd motel i looked at.

Just as a note of caution, do not book any hotel in Delhi before hand unless it is 4-star, 5-star and unless you are going during peak season and chances of finding a decent hotel room are bleak. Take a pre-paid cab from Delhi airport and keep hunting till you find a good place.Pay the cabbie a couple of 100 bucks (around $4-$5) and he will oblige. Look at the rooms before you decide on the hotel. The cabbie will generally take you to a place where he gets a commission for taking you there, so be careful.

Overall, York worked well for me, since I had to stay for 2 nights. If you are going to stay just one night, just bight the bullet -- and go for a 5-star.

Hotel Vikram is another good hotel (alltho more expensive) which was recommended to me by a couple of friends. The only reason, I did not choose it was because it was in South Delhi and travelling would have been a pain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Mattress / overally Price of the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYGlobe_Trotter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
8
11
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

On our way to Agra from Chandigarh, we where forced to spend a night in Delhi. As this was not planned for, we ended up having to search for a hotel at 11pm in the night. We where looking for Nirula's as that was highly rated by our "Let's Go India" guide, but that has closed down so the nearest was York Hotel.

TRUST US, DO NOT GO THERE. It cost us Rs 3,700 (ZAR 650 / US$ 90), the first room we got was all musty and smelt damp. As we thought it was only for a few hours we thought we could survive the room. We tried the shower and it flooded the room. So they moved to another room that was dirty, no hot water and the bath tub had rings. Dirt rings. We decided to just suffer it out as we would be out in a few hours time. The next morning we didn't even take a shower as it was so disgusting. We just took our bags and headed for the train station.

Disgusting!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything. Was dirty. Expensive. Unfriendly staff. No hot water. Everything!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M&L_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

When I checked out, the hotel raised the rates by 50% over what we had agreed on when I checked in. So I got screwed and obviously will never return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dirkG8610JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

The hotel looks more like a motel than a hotel. Was expecting at least a 3 or 4 star hotel due to the price i paid (booked online) and the lonely planet put it as midrange. What a dissappointment.

Overall it's okay and clean (although looks a bit run down) - friendly staff and an overally helpful tourdesk to wakes you up in the morning while you're having a peaceful sleep to ask ifyou would like a car for the day! The place is safe and located at the heart of budget shopping. Just 5 min down the road is Costa - thank goodness!

Tips - bring your own toiletries!

So if you're planning to stay there, remember to be modest in your expectation!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmyeeQq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2006

We stayed here in January with our two children (15 and 11) for 6 nights as part of a round the world trip. It was my and our children's first trip to India (my wife had visited when she was young), and first experience of a developing country.

The staff were friendly and helpful (tipping is mandatory), and the hotel is quite central (which was a key feature for us). The hotel was very basic though, and Connaught Place is generally fairly run down (except for inside many of the shops).

The hotel is situated in K block, which is in the northern part of the circular Connaught Place. The nicer hotels in that general area tend to be on Janpath which runs south from Connaught place. There is a brand new metro station in the middle of Connaught Place.

When we arrived at the hotel we found that our room only had one queen sized bed and one single bed (despite clearly setting out by email when booking that we required a room for 4 people - and being quoted a price on that basis), with not enough room to fit another bed. Rather than pay for two rooms (if we had known we may have to do that we would have chosen another hotel in the first place) we ended up having to sleep three people on the queen sized bed.

The room did have a TV, hot water, a shower, and a toilet that worked, but apart from that it was pretty sparse, and was fairly dusty (as is most of Delhi). The hotel has room service, but the choice is very limited. The sheets were clean, but the blankets were very old and dirty (with Delhi dust and cigarette ash).

The hotel has a man who organises tours/drivers, who was fairly helpful (although a bit on the pushy side). We booked a driver for a day trip of Delhi through him, which was okay but it would have been better to have a guide (or to do a guided tour) - we did a guided tour to Agra through Ashoka tours (a government agency situated in Connaught Place) - which was much more informative and enjoyable.

The hotel was renovating its facade while we were there, as well as doing up the adjoining restaurant (which was closed). Even so, I don't think we would stay there again. On reflection it would have been better to pay more and stay in something a bit more upmarket in a nicer area (eg on Janpath) for our first experience of Delhi.

Helpful?
7 Thank ianallen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#106 of 715 in New Delhi
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corus Hotel
Corus Hotel
#539 of 715 in New Delhi
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#289 of 715 in New Delhi
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
#382 of 715 in New Delhi
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Property: York Hotel
Address: K Block Plot No-10 Outer Circle, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels York
Hotel York
York Hotel Delhi
York International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing