We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveler rating
500
482
171
76
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
482
171
76
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationarakashan roadairport pickupconnaught placetravel deskrooms are cleansister hotelmain bazaarnorthern indiatuk tukmini barhot waterhotel restaurantbudget hotelbuffet breakfasttravel agenthotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is a gem in the hotel jungle of Paharganj. Within 3000/- you get a good double bedded room with breakfast. The room is clean and so are the toilets. There is 24 hr. hot water and fresh towels. The breakfast spread is excellent if not lavish. The room service is laudable and the food in the restaurant above average, with large portions.(We only had vegetarian food). i would recommend it to every business traveller on a moderate budget, but not wanting to compromise on comfort and taste.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunilgarodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest
We are very grateful for such amazing feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for having taken the time to share them through Trip Advisor and recommending us highly.

regards
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our otherwise agreeable stay was spoilt by an overpriced transfer from Delhi to Ramnagar (Corbett National Park) organised by the hotel's travel desk. They charged us 9500 INR for the car and driver. Upon our arrival in Ramnagar people there were shaking their heads, telling us that we had been ripped off. We noticed how true this was a few days later when we met fellow travellers at the train station in Ramnagar who, due to years of experience of travelling in India, managed to organise a car and driver from there back to Delhi for only 2500 INR after failing to make it on the train.

Even though the manager of the Garnd Godwin Hotel later insisted (in a less than appropriate manner, raising his voice to us) that the price we had been offered was reasonable, we could not help but feel that paying almost four times the amount for the same route was unreasonable. At least we were offered a free transfer to the airport as "compensation".

The hotel itself is clean, the staff is friendly (even though it was weird that they expected a tip for even the simplest of services such as bringing a second towel that was missing in our room) and the food at the rooftop restaurant is average.

Grand Godwin is one of many average choices in the Paharganj area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serhat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out the time & giving us your valuable feedback. Thank you very much that you liked the room and the staff.
Dear guest as you have mentioned in your review regarding the trip to Ram nagar I would like to clarify and mention you some points which I hope you will agree with me.
You have asked to arrange for the car at 11 pm in the night which was very difficult to arrange in the night and you just gave us 20 minutes. It was not the usual time of the day but still we do manage to arrange a nice car with a good driver and regarding the price we showed you the govt approved rates from one of their sites and when We did the calculation in front of you , you yourself told us that the price which we offered to you was ok and quite reasonable.
Dear guest you just mention only one complimentary compensation but if I refresh your memory we gave you a complimentary breakfast also at 3 am in the morning ( which is not usual time to give breakfast) as you were about to take your flight back to your country.

I thank you for your review once again and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
GM
Godwin hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved the room but its location on the central atrium was very noisy. Take ear plugs.
The hotel travel desk will try to sell you trips so be on your guard but when we got ripped off the hotel were fsntastic the worked really hard and got all our money back. I have never been so grateful. For honest and friendliness this place is second to none. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeprocter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Godwin for 2 nights and although the price might seem steep for the average backpacker this place is really worth every dol.,pound or roupie.Super clean and modern and very well situated near train station(without the noise)and the main bazaar .Nothing but high fives for this hotel not to be confused with it's twin hotel next door on the right The Grand Godwin delux or something like that.The best room in 2months of India so far;super bed and sheets,super modern bathroom and shower.Mini bar,cable,cofee machine,etc...Well worth 2600roupies/night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gohabsgo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

We are very grateful for such amazing feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for having taken the time to share them through Trip Advisor and recommending us highly.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and to read that you had one of the most comfortable stays.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent there 2 great nights December 2013. It was the smartest thing to do - making a reservation ahead. The rooms are great and comforting when Delhi gets a little too rough (and it does). Nice stuff, the street where it located is not the best but still- all worth.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews