We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveler rating
500
482
171
76
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
482
171
76
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationarakashan roadairport pickupconnaught placetravel desksister hotelrooms are cleanmain bazaarnorthern indiatuk tukmini barhotel restaurantbudget hotelhot waterbuffet breakfasttravel agenthotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
676 - 681 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent there 2 great nights December 2013. It was the smartest thing to do - making a reservation ahead. The rooms are great and comforting when Delhi gets a little too rough (and it does). Nice stuff, the street where it located is not the best but still- all worth.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. It was clean and modern with very nice decor. The staff were helpful. The breakfast selection was good and served on the roof top restaurant. It is also within walking distance from New Delhi Train Station. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CatherineHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
i am very grateful for your note complimenting the hotel, Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Godwin New Delhi in the near future.

regards
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Grand Godwin is on Arakashan Road in Paharganj. It’s a convenient (if chaotic) location, not far from New Delhi Station. The hotel provided free pick up from the airport, which is a massive bonus when you first arrive in Delhi.

We stayed for three nights when we first arrived, before travelling. We stayed one more night when we returned to Delhi.

Our first room was great. It was large, and mostly clean. The bathroom was spotless, but there were a couple of dodgy stains on the bed cover. Apart from that thought (we tossed the cover to one side) this was a really good room, excellent value for $$.

The second room we stayed in wasn’t as great—it was a small windowless room, which somehow managed to also be very noisy. Once again, the bathroom was spotless, but I went to make myself some tea, and the cups were disgusting.

One of the great things about the Grand Godwin is the rooftop restaurant. We started each day with an great buffet breakfast. We ended most days eating there (very good food) and having a beer. We met some interesting people on that roof, and it was comforting to know we were eating and drinking food that wasn’t going to make us sick. Neither of us experienced Delhi belly until after we left the Grand Godwin. The restaurant was spotless, including the kitchen, which you can see into.

The hotel staff were pleasant, especially the restaurant staff, but here comes my main gripe about the hotel. I’d just arrived in Delhi for the first time, and anyone who’s been there knows it’s an intense experience. I entered the hotel foyer… and was faced with about eight men in suits, all standing in a group, staring at me. No one spoke for a bit. They just stared. Then one of them dealt with checking us in… while the others lingered around and stared. In fact, the whole time I stayed there, there was a lot of lingering around in suits, staring.

I spent my whole time in Delhi staving off unwelcome attention, which was often full-blown harassment. Do your female guests a favor, and make the hotel the place they know they can relax, away from the harassment they receive on the street.

I’d seen great reviews and write ups in various newspapers, blogs, Lonely Planet etc. And for the most part, they’re true. The Grand Godwin a very good hotel for the price. I'm giving it 4 stars, mainly because of the spotless bathrooms and the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItcheeFeetKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest

We are very grateful for such amazing feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for having taken the time to share them through Trip Advisor and recommending us highly.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and to read that you had one of the most comfortable stays, most importantly to note that the restaurant team at the roof top restaurant assisted you in every way with choice of cuisines.

The housekeeping staff who serviced your room and gave you a spotless bathroom will be equally delighted to receive your gracious praise.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

regards

general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Grand Godwin, Delhi - the hotel is modern and clean, a spiral staircase leads from reception up to the 5th floor restaurant. Our room was a good size, extremely clean and the large bed was comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean, the enclosed shower had a good supply of hot water. The staff were great, so friendly and helpful. The wifi was fast. The little restaurant on the 5th floor served excellent food at reasonable prices, just R280 (£2.80) + rice, naan ect – lovely to sit and watch the eagles on the mobile phone mast opposite. The hotel arranged two days out with a driver to see all the sights for R3,200 - £32 which was worth it, we had considered the hop on, hop off bus but glad we didn’t - it would have been too slow and hectic. I would advise against the tour operator at the hotel organizing rail travel – total disaster! We would recommend this hotel for your stay in Delhi, it is situated in a side road and you probably, like us, won’t want to wander outside at night but so much to see and do in the day, just nice to relax on the 5th floor in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Grand Godwin and for taking time off to review us on TripAdvisor, sharing your experience.

We are glad to see that you found our rooms clean, spacious and well appointed with our staff members leaving a fine impression on you with their friendly and polite service.
It is our constant endeavor to extend services of the highest standards.

We appreciate your feedback ,Thank you once again for the same.

We look forward to your future visits to Grand Godwin and to the opportunity of being at your service once again.

Warm Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

grand godwin helped make my arrival in india very welcoming with an airport pick up and kind welcome at hotel. hotel amazing value. rooms among the best i have stayed in. very clean and modern. roof top restaurant great food. Mr Amar the general manager was very helpful and arranged for me an amazing Golden Triangle 4 day trip that i will always remember. i would highly recommend this hotel and staff were fantastic from arrival to departure.

Room Tip: ask for shower with four jets as an amazing room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback has indeed brought a huge smile on our face and we feel extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we always strive to give a guest the utmost stay satisfaction and we have achieved that through you. Indeed very happy to know that you liked the golden triangle tour offered by our professional travel people, I will make sure to share your feedback with the team, every satisfied guest is a huge win for us – they will be delighted to know you are one of them.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back here.

Warm Regards,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews