We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most terrible service attitude”
Review of Grand Godwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Godwin Hotel
Ranked #38 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have to say, it's the most terrible attitude I've seen. Staffs there from the reception to the general manager are totally ignorant and inflexible totally. First, for the wrong booking, we've already booked a room for our driver about one hour ago. We just set our luggage then went our for lunch. After lunch, the driver had something emergent, so he needed to leave at that time. However, the hotel didn't allow us to cancel or return the reservation. They didn't return the money with the totally new room and just with luggage for about one hour. Second, like this big hotel, with two tall building.....there was NO common washing room for guests. Like us, the time interval between checking-out and flight was more than 15 hours. It's very inconvenient for us. What worse, one of our members was suffering the severe allergy with rash and itch all of hid body. But the manager didn't take any concern about it. And the manager just pull down his face and didn't do anything. He's never wanted to try to solve any problem with us. And plus, with his bad attitude!!!!!! Again, it's the most terrible hotel I've ever seen. I won't go back again anymore.
這是我遇過服務態度最差勁的飯店, 經理們對於顧客的要求聽而不聞, 也完全不會設法解決。只會我推給你, 你推給他, 完全沒有經過管理的訓練和教育!! 是個糟糕透頂的服務!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Belinda914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peteraymond, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is so surprising to see that during your stay when you were asked , you told us that you were having a very comfortable stay and because of your good stay in your previous visit you booked this Hotel once again. It is very well understood by us that just because you did not get full refund against the last minute room cancellation you decided to post this review full of negative comments. You could have mentioned that the Hotel refunded half the amount at least and that also as a very special case. Mentioning that there is NO common washing room for guests is absolutely wrong. Our both the properties have an individual wash room for the guests. How can a reputed busy Hotel even think of not having a common wash room ?
It will be wrong to say that we do not want you to come back again . But, after seeing such a review the management feels disheartened and does not wish to have such ungrateful clients to be its guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have to admit the stay for me outweighed the hiccups from certain larger five star chains with similar names. The location is purpose fill if you have work downtown but thee luxury of the rooms and beds lighting bathrooms ac tiles are all very high standard and I would definitely repeat a stay with GG. Taxi driver I hired for a full day at 1500 was very friendly chap Anil.
Front desk also do currency which is great. Rooftop food music m drink is also wow.

Room Tip: The one directly above reception was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rush R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

arriving at airpot they arrage for pick up, staying at the hotel is comfortable and quiet inside.
food very tasty and fare prices. tour arragements by amar and apar was very practical and always careing for your choice and needs.we did jaipur-agra-varanasi-delhi tour(father and two sons from mexico) at first it may be pricey,but once you make the trip you avoid a lot of hassle,waste of time in traffic,looking for sites,etc. the drivers,guides , and hotel staff know foreigners needs
so if you have no much time to waste this is for sure a good bet for your holiday!.
hotel staff is also very useful in looking for you!!

Room Tip: pick up up floors and back part there is no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alvaro c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was a hassle free, and satisfactory stay. Good value for money. Clean and well equipped rooms, and efficient services. Being close to the main street of paharganj and not too far from either Connaught place nor karol bagh, the location was perfect for shopping,sightseeing and urban exploration. The nearby new delhi railway station and metro is easily reachable, no more than three minutes by foot. Morning Breakfast was awsome,we were enjoyed dinner on roof top restaurant.

Room Tip: 'try to Book room No 407" , " you will get best deals offers on hotel website"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sumions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed four nights in this nice hotel. The rooms are clean and fresh, tasteful furnished, the beds are awesome. The bathroom was small and practical, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than average and the masala tea is delicious. I stayed at the beginning and at the end of my three weeks journey and it was one of the three best hotels I visited. I appreciated more when I came back. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

Josephine, Belgium

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarthaArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at this modern hotel. The service and location were excellent. Literally 2 minute walk from the new delhi railway station and there are plenty of shopping court around the hotel. I've never seen such a varied selection for breakfast hot & cold buffet including varied fruits which they are very proud of, lots of cheese, lots of different breads, jams, cakes, sausage, eggs etc etc and juices. We went to the 4th floor twice and I loved the atmosphere and lush cocktails they seem to have excellent knowledge. The rooms were minimalist and bathrooms spacious modern with a separate hair dryer. The rooms were pretty Cold (although it was absolutely Scorching afternoon outside!). I would advise anyone who comes to new delhi must stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Book Rooms from the Hotel website,you will get the best deal and offers as compare to any of the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and modern, awsome beds and showers, tasty breakfast and friendly staff! The elevator smells quite strange but thats my only complaint but the price and location will make you forget about it ;). I'll be back in a couple days and no doubt i'm gomina be there again

RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#40 of 777 in New Delhi
959 reviews
Wood Castle
#29 of 777 in New Delhi
1,151 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#58 of 777 in New Delhi
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 777 in New Delhi
1,771 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Godwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Godwin Hotel

Address: Arakshan Road, Near Sanjeevan Hospital | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#68 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $37 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Godwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Godwin, a 4-story luxury & budget hotel is nestled in the heart of Paharganj New Delhi India and 2 mins walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. The hotel offers excellent leisure facilities, online reservation, luxurious rooms, travel inn hotel, heritage hotel india, cheap travel packages, travel to India's heritage places, guest house, deluxe rooms for conference events, Bed and breakfast, food bars, Tours guides to Agra, Jaipur, shimla, first class facilities rooms with internet, cabs, shopping malls, high standards of comfort and excellent rooms for business & leisure travellers for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Godwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Godwin
Godwin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing