We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis in New Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #17 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis in New Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We only stayed here one night but it was a very good experience. We arrived after a long flight and they checked us in quickly and let us into our room at 11am. The hotel was very comfy and had everything we needed to get over our flight and everything you expect from a Shangri-La hotel (decent room, fast free wifi, comfy bed, clean bathroom with robes, slippers etc). The pool area was peaceful and relaxing with an adequate sized pool and attentive pool staff. The only thing that let this hotel down were some of the staff, particularly the concierge staff who seemed uninterested in helping and also made booking a train ticket into a small drama. Also the security of the hotel and number of staff on the door is ridiculous, you get quizzed if you attempt to leave the hotel without a car. Apart from some minor quibbles we enjoyed our stay here. Not the best Shangri-La we've stayed in but still a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_McGiverns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear from you.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had a pleasant experience during your stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Glad to learn that you found the hotel comfortable, rooms well appointed with all the requisite amenities, enjoyed the provision of complimentary high speed internet access and found the pool area serene and relaxing.

Your constructive observations about the staff at the concierge and the security personnel have been duly noted and will be taken up as a training need going forward.

If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    749
    207
    87
    59
See reviews for
458
647
201
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel is build in 90's and it looks like there were no renovation since tере times! Smell in rooms (especially #2117 3-5 april) is terrible. Quality of food in both restaurants is disgusting. The only that worth visiting - spa! Very good massage!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank NikolaySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
Your constructive observation about the food at our restaurants has been duly noted and will be reviewed on priority.

However, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the treatment at The Spa at Shangri-La.

Do send us your contact details at slnd@shangri-la.com for us to get in touch with you personally.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La's- Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I spent 4 days in this hotel, at the beginning of April. Security is excellent, and there are always plenty of staff at the door to help with anything you might need - all the staff are extremely polite and helpful. Room was not very big - quite tight - but had everything I needed and a good bathroom with decent toiletries and there seemed to be plenty of 'little boxes' of things that I didn't need. Food is OK but nothing to scream about. I had three excellent spa treatments - pedicure, massage and facial - just wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind words of appreciation with us post your recent stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience at The Spa at Shangri-La and enjoyed the Spa treatments.

We are also happy to learn that you found our security measures outstanding and staff helpful and friendly.

If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, do come and stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff at the club lounge were extremely helpful although the hotel may have a few limitations they make ur trip one to remember. I was given guidance on restaurants and places to visit the manager on the club lounge even took an extra effort to ensure all information given was accurate and did all my bookings. Overall the service was exceptional

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityexplorer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your encouraging comments with us.
We are truly delighted to learn that you appreciated our staff's responsiveness at the Horizon Club Lounge and the assistance given by the Manager at the Lounge for visiting the nearby restaurants and famous tourist attractions around the city very useful.

Your wonderful comments have been shared with the entire team at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Has all the ingredients to be a top-notch hotel but is let down by the service -- a shame, considering what a swanky property it is. The location's safe -- no derelict buildings nearby. While the room was not-too-spacious and didn't come with a safe, hair dryer, iron and a fridge, the toiletries and the free Wi-Fi more than made up for it. The toiletries are just bril, the best amongst all the 5* properties that I've stayed in India! The front desk was not at all attentive and the staff lacked warmth and were not willing to go the extra mile, sth you come to expect of 5* hotels. To sum it up, it didn't knock me off my feet, like other 5* properties in India have.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z_Tasreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We are so pleased to learn that you found the hotel well located with safe surroundings, appreciated the high speed internet and you loved our toiletries.
Your constructive feedback about the service at the Front Desk has been duly noted and will be taken up as a training need going forward.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly, this hotel ranks higher than its current rating of 20th in Delhi.

The hotel has the usual luxury features - a sumptuous foyer, good rooms, a nice pool and garden - all of which are like an oasis in the middle of Delhi. Yes, as noted by one reviewer, the towels are a bit worn, but this is a common thing in many of the Indian 5 star hotels we stayed at.

However the service makes up for that. I inadvertently left some medication in the fridge when we checked out. When I rang late at that night I was relieved to find that it was in the care of the Lost and Found department, who sent it by courier to my next stop in Jodhpur, and did so on a complimentary basis. That more than makes up for any towels.

We returned to the hotel on our last day in India, and after two weeks on the road it seemed even more inviting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onepoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-laDel, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your kind words of appreciation.
We truly are delighted to know that you had a pleasurable stay experience and enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We are pleased to learn that you found the property luxurious, rooms comfortable and the pool side and lawns well maintained.

Glad to hear that you were at ease with the courier delivered by the hotel to your next stop free of charge and without any hassle.

Your wonderful comments have been shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you again at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Also does not compare to the standards of other Shangri-La Properties around the globe. Hotel has a beautiful Lobby and welcome ambiance. However once into the elevators and heading up to the floors, the Hallways leave much to be desired. The hotel rooms as well are aged and not very clean. Sometimes there is some welcome fruit and sometimes not. Sometimes the glass window that separates the shower/tub from room is clean, and sometimes it is not. The beds and sheets are not top quality and comfortable. The rooms however are pretty large in size. The wifi is very slow and sometimes not even useful. Pool is never open, always seems to be under construction, seems like for years and years now. Hotel provides a beautiful breakfast to guests. Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, however hotel staff throughout India are as well. I would suggest staying in a more modern, luxurious hotel next time your travels bring you to Delhi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpertTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-laDel, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.
Our pool is now open and it was temporarily shut during the winter season for maintenance, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused for the same.

Your constructive observations about the room cleanliness, the bed spread used and the internet connectivity have been duly noted and will be reviewed on priority.

However we are pleased to learn that you liked the ambience of our lobby, found the rooms to be comfortable and spaciously sized, appreciated the responsiveness of our staff and enjoyed the breakfast buffet at our All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno.

Do send us your contact details at slnd@shangri-la.com for us to get in touch with you personally.

We value your patronage towards the brand and sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again and provide us with an opportunity to serve you better next time.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing