We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #16 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
GoTravel0033
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in Feb. 2014 when I was in Delhi for a business trip. The entire staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing including the manager Nitesh who provided exceptional service. The rooms were clean and the bed was so plush! It was also quiet inside the room (could not hear the traffic), which is hard to find in India. I wish I could have stayed in it all day. I loved the toiletries that were in the room. There were great amenities that were provided in the hotel as well. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the steam room in the spa area was incredible as well. My only (small) complaints were that the elevators were very slow at times, a cup of coffee in the restaurant was very overpriced and it was too cold to use the pool (but that is not the hotel's fault). I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better in India. Further away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoTravel0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services. We are also happy to learn that you found our staff efficient and helpful, rooms clean, peaceful and well appointed with comfortable beds and luxurious toiletries.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at our All day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno and had a pleasurable experience at the Spa at Shangri-La.

Your constructive observations about our elevators and the coffee pricing at the restaurant have been duly noted and will be reviewed on priority.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    733
    200
    83
    57
See reviews for
445
624
197
876
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in Shangri-la Delhi for two nights at the beginning and a night at the end of our Golden Triangle Tour.

We absolutely loved it. Old style business hotel with everything you might need.

Perfect location, walking distance to Conaugh Place with plenty of little shops, restaurants etc.

Would definitely choose it again when visit Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikelandgelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind words of appreciation with us and for taking time out to recommend our hotel.
It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services.
We are delighted to learn that you found the hotel well located and in close proximity to the popular tourist area - Connaught Place which is famous for its choice of shopping and eateries.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Best hotel during our stay in India. Everything was perfect for us. Beautiful rooms with connecting doors which we didn't have in any of the other hotels during our stay. Rooms were beautiful and well equipped. Mini bar was full of luxuries but we stayed only one night and had dinner and breakfast - so we didn't have time to take from the mini bar. The restaurant served buffet dinner which was amazing. Food selection was fantastic and delcious. It was well worth the money. Staff were lovely and just wish we had time to spend longer at this hotel.

Room Tip: Buffet dinner is delicious and good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgibson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recommendation and kind words of appreciation, post your last stay with with us. We are truly overjoyed to learn that you found our hotel to be the best during your trip to India. We are also pleased to know that you found our rooms luxurious and well appointed with all the requisite amenities, enjoyed the buffet spread during breakfast and dinner at our All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno, offering great value for money.

My team was excited to learn about your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Arrived very weary after a delayed flight check staff were totally amazing and it was a pleasure to sit in a very grand lobby/reception. All staff here are amazing and go out of their way to help without intrusion. Restaurant has a huge selection and breakfast good. Also recommend the oriental restaurant on the first floor - best thai I have had. I agree with some of the comments the rooms are a little worn but overall experience very good would definitely come back!

Room Tip: High levels rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuck31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to receive your recommendation and your valuable feedback about our hotel post your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you found our staff responsive and helpful, the hotel lobby elegant, breakfast at Cafe Uno delectable and enjoyed the Thai spread served at our Asian restaurant - 19 Oriental Avenue.

Your encouraging comments have been shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you again at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

After spending nights mainly in low cost hotels while backpacking, I wanted to book a luxury hotel for me and my boyfriend for the New Year. I found a good deal from the Internet for two nights at Shangri-La's Eros -hotel. I was a bit afraid of how the staff would react and treat us, because we looked quite weary... They welcomed us very friendly, and treated us well. The hotel is very fancy, and I can imagine that it has been one of the most luxurious hotels in the world back in the days. Our room was spacious, clean and decorated nicely. The hotel has a good location, but walking around was quite difficult because of the traffic. We mainly used taxis for moving around, but remembered to be very careful with them. You always need to make sure that a taxi has a working meter and it's legal, otherwise you will get into trouble... On the New Year's Eve we decided to stay in our hotel room and order food & wine from the room service. The food was pretty good though the price didn't meet the value. We also tried the hotel's buffet dinner & breakfast, which were definitely worth the money. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, and I can recommend it especially for couples because of the romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for recommending and choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services.


We are also happy to learn that you appreciated the warmth extended by our staff, found the hotel centrally located and tastefully decorated with clean and comfortable rooms and enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffet at our All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno.


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on family leisure for the wedding function.
Had a challenge at airport transfer where was left stranded with the driver as the hotel car could not take the luggage, but luckily got another car.
At arrival due to hotel being full could not get rooms on same floor.
We were disappointed with these few things and bought to the front desk attention, the answer was nothing can be done tonight ( which we understand) but no assurance given for tomorrow as well.
Bought this to the attention of duty manager and they handled and offered room move next day, which was efficient.
Had a suite reserved and hotel gave use surprise cake and flowers in room as wedding gift.
Steam in suite room is good and balcony in suite room is worth the extra amount on a sunny day, we had a great afternoon tea at balcony.
Club lounge is good and staff is helpful, great view again.
Door staff was extremely helpful and always remembered our name and car.
Breakfast at cafe uno is very good and the spread is nice - a good touch is the bread man going around tables, again staff is helpful also.
Even dinner buffet is also very nice.
Spa and salon staff is very helpful.

Hotel is in central Delhi so easily accessible with taxi and takes only 30-40 mins from airport provided traffic is not in its peak hours.
Good shopping options - staff recommended to try Khan market which was nice plus some south delhi malls were also good options.
Recommend to get a room with club access and suite with balcony - keep in mind to get a room with hotel pool or garden view as the other side is construction site and no view at all.

Hotel is old and rooms size is not so big.
Would say a bit dated and to certain extend hardware is not up to shangrila style.
But staff helpfulness is good, when hotels Director operations heard about my concerns he wrote to me and which was a good touch.
Over all a good experience at end and would return to hotel.
Staff is helpful in hotel which makes it a good hotel.

At times you might find staff over helpful, but I believe it's indian way of customer interactions so don't mind.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fandumany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your frank and forthright feedback with us.


We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused with regard to the experience with your airport transfer and room preference on the first day of your check-in. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the efforts of our Duty Manager in handling the matter efficiently.
We are also happy to learn that you found our suite well appointed with facilities such as a steam room and a balcony to relax.


We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our Horizon Club Lounge, relished the breakfast and dinner buffet spread at Cafe Uno, appreciated the proactive and helpful services of our staff at the Spa. I am glad to know you appreciated the concern shown by the Director of Operations of the hotel.


The central locality of the hotel made it convenient for you to have an easy access to all the popular shopping areas such as Khan Market and the upscale Malls in south Delhi.


Your other constructive observations about the hotel have been duly noted and will be reviewed on priority.


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location, good security, comfortable beds but the hotel needs a facelift. The carpets are worn and not clean. many areas in hotel could use updating. The restaurant for breakfast has very good variety and choice but feels like a cafeteria.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Honahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your frank and forthright feedback with us.


Your constructive observations about the room size, the hotel decor, our bathroom amenities and the breakfast spread at our All Day Dining restaurant Cafe Uno have been duly noted and shall be reviewed on priority. Our apologies if you have felt that we fell short of your expectations on this stay. Do send us you contact details for us to discuss the observations with you personally.


We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Oriental restaurant at the hotel and may we assure you that our restaurant pricing is at par with other Food and Beverage outlets at our competition hotels, however we will still review it on priority and take immediate action wherever required.


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing