We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the metro and train station but no bedroom window” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corus Hotel
Ranked #553 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to the metro and train station but no bedroom window”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was only in Delhi for two days before heading out on the train so booked the Corus as it was near the train station. It was my only time in Delhi so I don't have hotel or area comparisons to offer. It was a great spot to get the metro, which is right outside.

The hotel and room was clean and the bed was a decent size. However, there wasn't a window and that was a bit disconcerting. It also took an age for the hot water to come through, I had to run the shower for around 10 minutes before it started to come through.

The restaurant was ok, we ended up having to have the set menu as that was all that was available that day and the courses came before you had finished the previous one (or in one slow eater's case the one before that). It has a bit of terrace out the back which is ok but the nearby bars are better.

It's Connaught Place so quite a lively area. During the day it's massively busy and one of my travelling companions got a bit overwhelmed and hassled, but it is big city India.

In the early evening we walked around and it was crowded with shoppers and revellers but there was no hassle and there are some bars in the surrounding areas that were busy and decent enough. However, once the crowd thins out it's just full of stray dogs.

I missed the complimentary breakfast the first day and the second day we booked a takeaway breakfast as we were leaving but it wasn't ready by the time we left.

Wifi was included and worked well.

So overall I didn't hate it but if I was going back to Delhi, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank timblankt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    92
    43
    41
See reviews for
30
56
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Tucked away on a higher floor of 'B" Block Connaught Place, opposite Gate 1 of the ubiquitous Delhi Metro, is Hotel Corus, which is favoured by business travellers and tourists owing to its location and budget price. However the lack of outfacing windows give the rooms a rather gloomy look and the furnishings add to that feeling.
The breakfast which is included in the price and served in the adjacent coffee shop was a little slapdash and could do with some fresh thinking.
Check-in was quite smooth and the hotel is certainly aiming to please.Complimentary wi-fi is provided.
The saving grace could be the sights and sounds of Connaught Place which envelops one
and provides a Delhi experience to take home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vayudoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Just finished another Very enjoyable long stay at Corus in New Delhi. Superb central location right on impressive Connaught Place and adjacent to Rajiv Chowk Metro, giving fast access to all Delhi. This is a great central, medium price hotel. The GM Mr Satish is to be warmly congratulated on running a very efficient and attentive hotel. Excellent friendly service and definitely the 'best room' is the place to be, with a wide view across Connaught Place. But even the inner rooms, some of which do not have windows, are worth the price for a good location and reasonable room rate.
Inclusive breakfast is simple, but very adequate, and can be quite creative if you request items straight from the kitchen. (Cockroaches need to be minimised though! But this is India. Don't come if you dislike unexpected excitement).
In my opinion, the main negative in this hotel is the restauant drinks pricing in the evening. "A tot" can cost an eye-watering 10x times the cheapest outside price, in a very nearby bar, which can double the price of a pleasant dinner! So the hotel drinks policy prices itself out of the dinner market for a thirsty and budget visitor. This is compensated by the really excellent (but mis-named) English Family Restaurant managed by Mr Anil and 100 yards away on the side of 'A' Block. (The down-market "bar", Dhaba, is 300 yards and the shop with the bottles, for the price of a tot, 400 yards!).
You don't go to Delhi to be quiet and peaceful so the ability to listen to open air concerts without leaving the room could be an advantage...and they all finish early in the evening, giving way to the barking dogs. (The Council MUST do something about these animals who are already seem to well outnumber visiting tourists!)
The travel service in the hotel lobby is very helpful, and convenient if you are happy to pay a premium of up to 100% on your transport budget. Save this by using the excellent friendly service, and down-market cars, provided by Mr Shakeel 9797715958 at Royal Holiday Tours just 300 yards away on outer Circle

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Delhi. The airport pick-up occurred around 2am. We found the driver fine, but had a strange drive to hotel. The driver stopped for gas and we were required to get out of the car while he pumped gas. It was desolate and we felt very vulnerable. Thankfully nothing happened. Our driver was also pushy about trying to get us to hire him to give us a tour of Delhi or take us to Agra.
Once at the hotel, the staff were not very kind or welcoming. Our room was okay and clean, but there were a variety of bugs noted. The next day, we could not get out of the lobby without the representative from the hotel tour company bombarding us with questions about our itinerary and he was also very pushy. We said no thank you and continued to explore on our own. We experienced culture shock once we hit the sidewalk. we have traveled all over the world, but this was the most uncomfortable we ever felt. We did not enjoy the Connaught Circle at all. People approached us every few minutes to try to sell us a tour guide or take us to their tour shop. It got old real quick. We went back to hotel and ended up booking a city tour through them. The tour guide was not good. He told us some places we wanted to see were too far away, but they really were not. He also was VERY pushy at trying to get us to use him to take us to Agra. He took us to a tourist store and we told him we did not want to go shopping. He kept trying to take us shopping. When going to Delhi, I would recommend staying in a VERY nice hotel, which would definitely not include the Corus Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldwanderer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service and staff....I luv their friendly nature and also internet speed is veri gud n food is delicious. ...5 stars from my side......rooms are very clean n hygienic. .....also reception people are very good ....

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Happy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Booked 12th to 15th December 2013 though a travel agent and paid for three night and it was not cheap. The first room they put us is was like a box room and when we complained they said they were fully booked but when we threatened to book out a choice of two rooms became available. There were a lot of stairs and the railings we not very secure and the rooms were dingy but reasonably clean. We stayed two night and that was only because we had a long day trip to the Taj the next day. The final straw was a mouse in the breakfast room The only good point was the staff were very friendly - but not discount was given for leaving early.

Keith and Elizabeth Young Scotland

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

An average over priced hotel with small dingy rooms in an excellent location...

the staff is kind and helpful bt not professionally trained...

the rooms are small dingy with no ventilation at all... bathrooms r extremely small... the whole stayin experience feels like an animal caught in a cage and at the price they charge u wud definitely feel cheated....

food was okay... nothin much to talk bout in terms of quality.... however again it was prohibitively charged... hw can u expect a bill of more than 500 rs 4 just a dal and 2 chapati's!!!!

the only saving grace is the location of the hotel... a great place for shoppin and hanging out with frds... lots of bars and resto around the place...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milan_choksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#257 of 705 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#105 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
#398 of 705 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#25 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#100 of 705 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emarald Hotel
Emarald Hotel
#539 of 705 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel

Property: Corus Hotel
Address: B-49, Inner Circle Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #553 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corus Hotel is one of the finest business hotel in New Delhi. We are located in the center of the Business Hub - Inner Circle Connaught Place and thus, are the prime choice of tourists and business delegations coming from all parts of the world for their stay in the Indian capital.we at The Corus believe in the best of service & hospitality to different type of travelers right in city centre.Being in the centre of the city gives us the unique advantage of being well connected with every corner of Delhi and even its suburbs. At The Corus we have rooms with contemporary décor in pastel colors in both Double and Twin bedded category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Corus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotels
Corus Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing