We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable, but very corporate.”
Review of Hotel Vikram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vikram
Ranked #139 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was booked for us via an agent, I did ask for it to be changed months ahead of our visit due to some of the reviews we read, but this just did not happen.
So, I have mixed feelings about this hotel.
The location is poor. Well, for the tourist the location is poor, but for the commuter it sits right on the ring road with good connections to the train station and airport.
I had read some of the negative reviews on here and was 'prepared for the worst'!

We turned off the dirty side street through the gate with a breathe of relief, the hotel actually looked OK. We went up to our room and I was pleasantly suprised, my expectations were low, but even so, the room was clean, tidy, everything worked, didnt look tired and after our 16hr train ride was actually very welcoming!

The staff were very pleasant, although were expecting us the day earlier as our agent booked us 2 nights instead of 1. Nevertheless this wasnt a problem for them (does mean we have overpaid our agent a day).

We had a couple of drinks in their "1440" restaurant which has a small but clean courtyard area which, although enclosed, doesn't feel confined, nor does it make you feel in the outskirts of the city.
My only complaint about this is that the smoking 'area' is not adhered to, and guests seem to smoke anywhere they want... Not great if you're non smokers.
We did have a meal here too, which turned out fine, the food was nice and reasonably priced, though it does make me laugh that the beer is priced at "max selling price 65rupees" but was being sold for 200rupees! Still cheap, but it did amuse us.

In conclusion, this feels like a corporate hotel, great for business trips or short stopovers. For tourists looking to explore Delhi, I would say this is not for you. We went for a walk around the block and its very under developed, we were very much stared at as we walked down the street sometimes to an uncomfortable level.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RacingSnake_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunil V, General Manager at Hotel Vikram, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review, following your recent visit.

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We will make every effort to ensure that we continue to live up to your expectation.

I would like to inform you that the work being carried out by civic body during your stay has been completed and the area is now clear.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Warm Regards,

Sunil Datta Vashista
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 287 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Apart from transport links this hotel was disappointing. The restaurant both indoors and outdoors was lovely but the food let it down. I paid almost £4 for a small side plate of poor quality luke warm chips. The pancakes at breakfast were stodgy and the dinner very average for the price charged.
The window in my room was rattling in the wind and I had to complain twice to a manager sitting in a room on my floor who made some poor clearer go and look rather than getting up himself to look. His solution was a piece of newspaper wedged in it! I found the attitude of that manager very offhand and not friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnie120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunil V, General Manager at Hotel Vikram, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Hotel Vikram for your future travel needs.

Warm Regards,

Sunil Datta Vashista
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, hotel was booked by an agent. The rooms are poor to average, food is acceptable. If you're on low budget, you'll get a reasonable deal.
Don't expect any luxury whatsoever. Location is quite OK, though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently. i chose this Hotel sue to its location, close to where my work related assignment was and opposite the Moolchand Meteo.
1. Courteous, efficient staff at the reception.....was quickly checked in.
2. Great location, opposite Moolchand metro, making going to various places in Delhi quick and easy.
3. Comfortable room with lovely bathroom (bath tub)
4. Swimming pool, which unfortunately I didn't get the time to enjoy
5. Excellent buffet breakfast, catering to various tastes. Very attentive and efficient staff at the breakfast buffet.
6. Newspapers delivered to the room every morning.

To summarise, I was glad to have stayed here and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Amazing breakfast buffet served here..
Relaxing and super comfortable rooms.. The food quality is superb and delicious delicacies are served here..
Humble staff and super fast service..very close to market area..good place to stay with family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugandh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in February. This hotel appears to cater for business people and conferences and is not your average foreign tourist hotel. We thought that the location was excellent for using the metro and getting to the airport. Our room on the first floor was large with good furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The ensuite shower room was modern and supplied with nice toiletries. We had wondered whether being across from the metro station might be noisy but the room was well insulated and we were not disturbed at all. We ate in the restaurant one evening - the food was fine. Breakfast was standard fare- we were a bit disappointed with the coffee which was dispensed from Nescafé packets when there was a real coffee machine behind the bar that was not on offer.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShropshireGadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice on my recent visit to india. It is next to a train station and a busy road but could not hear noise in the room at night. Security is tight with all vehicles checked before being allowed to enter hotel carpark. Rooms and bathroom are a good size with comfortable beds. The bathroom on the first visit had a walk in shower the second had a bath with shower. It is not a large hotel but the restaurant is good with a large selection available for the breakfast buffet and large selection to choose from to order for lunch and dinner with a bar. The bathroom has a nice selection on complimentary items and never had a problem with the hot water. Rooms had tea/coffee facilities and they came and checked on your supplies and topped up if necessary every afternoon. Wifi is available for a charge of 200INR an hour, dont bother though i had nothing but trouble only got about 10mins of use in the hour as had to keep going down to receiption for them to tell me either the server was down or they had to reset it but at no time did they offer to extend my time even though it was down for over half hour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianKPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunil V, General Manager at Hotel Vikram, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the Hotel Vikram.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and you were extremely happy with the hotel services and the facilities available. I have shared your feedback with my team and they were extremely happy to hear from you.

It is comments such as yours that motivate our associates to offer even higher levels of excellence and we shall make every effort to continue to live up to your expectations in future as well.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Best Regards,

Sunil Datta Vashista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Grand FFOUR
#126 of 715 in New Delhi
50 reviews
Greater Kailash I
The Legend Inn
The Legend Inn
#66 of 715 in New Delhi
200 reviews
Comfort Homestay- Morning Glory
#346 of 715 in New Delhi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#32 of 715 in New Delhi
994 reviews
The Suryaa New Delhi
#19 of 715 in New Delhi
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vikram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vikram

Address: Dr Choithram Gidvani Marg | Lajpat Nagar - IV, New Delhi 110024, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Defence Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $98 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vikram has been the landmark not only for location but also for the budget segment in Delhi. Being there for over four decades Hotel Vikram has earned a special place in the mind of business traveler and leisure groups. Hotel Vikram is the only Four Star Hotel in South Delhi and within stone throw distance not only from the main commercial area like Nehru Place, Okhla Industrial Area, Jasola and Mohan Cooperative but also from the main Market places like Lajpat Nagar, Greater Kailash, South Extension, Delhi Haat and the main Exhibition Ground Pragati Maidan.The hotel is built on around 2 acres of land and offers rooms with modern facility fusion with the authentic Indian décor. Our Business Centre is available 24hrs to assist you for all secretarial work. With 100% coverage of Wi-Fi network in the public area and all the rooms, we offer freedom of conducting business anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vikram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vikram Delhi
Hotel Vikram New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing