We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 stars at best, do not recommend”
Review of Hotel Vikram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vikram
Ranked #129 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2 stars at best, do not recommend”
Reviewed March 22, 2008

My Background: I am a frequent international business traveller (US, Europe, China & India) and when on personal vacation, an adventure traveller (Europe, South America, Africa, APAC).

Hotel Vikram Review:
I would stay here if,
- you are on a tight budget, looking for a below average hotel to stay
- you are a local Indian business man, with non-western expectations

I wouldn't stay here if,
- personal vacation in Delhi
- business travel with western hotel expectations
- with family

In a nut shell, this hotel is 2 stars at best. Its safe, has AC (if it doesn't fail), clean bathroom and a comfortable bed. Its a very basic hotel.

I recently travelled to Delhi for a trade show and stayed here because my local sales manager had booked us here. I had reserved a Luxury room, which is loosely defined. When I checked in, I asked for a non-smoking room, and was led to a room with a single bed (i.e. prison size bed). Apparently, all their non-smoking rooms have single beds - which is tucked away beside a wall that was fairly stained. I had immediately asked for another room with a double or queen size bed, but was told all rooms with larger beds are "smoking". Since I was staying here for almost 5 nights, I wanted a decent size bed to sleep in so I braved the smoking room. It turned out to be ok, with no distinct smoking smell. The carpets in the room are quite old and worn, and not overly clean. The bed is comfortable, but the clean staff for some reason always wrap the comforter (the covering that never gets changed!) around the pillows, which makes the pillows not very appealing to sleep on. The sheets are well worn, and have stains that cannot be washed out. The rooms do not have ironing boards or an iron, so you have to dial room service to get one every morning - which usually takes 30-45 minutes to arrive (i think they must only have one and its shared among all the guests every morning!!). When it does arrive, the iron is from the 60's, and is basically a piece of metal with a handle and an electric cord. It does not steam, etc. like a modern iron. The ironing board is heavily yellow stained (like someone urinated on it).

The bathroom is quite small but usable. My room in particular did not have running cold water in the sink. The shower has good water pressure.

Half way through my stay, the motor of my room's AC died in the middle of the night, so I had to change room again (3 times in total within 5 days).

Every room has wireless Internet, but the connection is quite slow. A week's worth of Internet is 1500 Rs, but if you put it from the front desk (instead of online), its a bit cheaper.

The staff is generally friendly. The restaurant downstairs is not bad, although the breakfast is quite basic. By default, they serve you instant coffee, so you need to ask for "black espresso", in which case they brew it from a machine. The Indian food in the restaurant is pretty good, as I ate there a few evenings after long days. Room service is efficient and quick.

The hotel has a Tourist desk that can arrange tours to Taj Mahal. It'll cost you 4200 Rs to hire a private car and driver. A guide will cost another 500 Rs (which you paid to the guide directly). The drive to Agra/Taj Mahal is about 3-4 hours, so leave early (6am).

Would I go back again? No. However, my expectations might be different than others, so if you are looking for a 2-star quality hotel, than Hotel Vikram is fine. But if you are a westerner travelling on company business, I would recommend you stick to a western chain hotel.

The location of hotel is irrelevant as you have to take a cab everywhere anyway in Delhi generally. The noise level outside the hotel is pretty loud - I can always hear frequent car honks and dogs barking in my room, so if you are a light sleeper, you might have trouble sleeping.

I hope this helps the next person make their choice. I paid 8500 Rs for my room. Hotels in Delhi are generally expensive due to lack of rooms and high demand. Bare in mind that price of a hotel room does not necessary reflect its quality like it normally does in North America or Europe.

  • Liked — Decent restaurant down stairs for a la carte items
  • Disliked — Clealiness of the rooms and lack of normal size non-smoking size rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CanBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    125
    62
    22
    10
See reviews for
55
46
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

My family (2 Adults and 2 Children) stayed at the Vikram at the end of October 2007 for 10 days. Having previously been in India in 2002 and at the time, for what was then called the Marriott Hotel (its name has changed now- can't remember what) we paid £60 room only, we were now alarmed to find that an average room in a 5* hotel was £220+ per night. We therefore decided to go for a cheaper option, bearing in mind we could run into problems with this decision!!!

However, we were pleased to find that the Vikram is a clean and friendly hotel. It is about a 20 minute taxi ride from the centre of Delhi (depending on traffic conditions). We negotiated Rs 10,000 per night for a luxury room including 2 extra beds and breakfast. In all honesty we have to say it equalled the 5* hotel we previously stayed in if you are a tourist. (In fact the luxury room was larger than the room we stayed at in the Marriott )

If you are looking for a clean hotel in Delhi at a reasonable cost, then the Vikram is fine. In the UK it easily exceeds Travelodge, Premier Lodge etc. However - for room service the alcohol was expensive - especially wine!!!

The swimming pool was dry in October and we are not sure when it will be refilled.

If you are looking for a reasonable price, then we would have no hesitation in recommending the Vikram. Remember 4* in the UK isn't necessarily 4* in India - it is perfectly adequate.

  • Liked — reasonable location to delhi centre, good value
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We spend a bit of time in Delhi on business and have stayed in a number of hotels. Whilst I agree that there are some problems with the hotel (yes the staff aren't very friendly) it feels much more homely than all others in the City. The snacks in the bar are terrific (try the chili chicken) and it's a great place for a quiet beer after a full on day in the hustle and bustle that is Delhi.
There are some interesting walks around the hotel into what I presume to be fairly up market areas with their own common gardens and the market is mightily impressive (if you're into shopping).

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed in a superior room between 02 March and 07 March 2007. The room was spacious and stylishly furnished. Room service food was good and was also reasonably priced. The only problem though was that the front-desk staff was very unfriendly and very unhelpful. In addition, the location is not ideal. It is about a 30min drive by tuk-tuk to Connaught Place and the main shopping and tourist areas. Overall the hotel was ok, but we felt that it was not value for money and would probably not stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Liked — Room and Room Service
  • Disliked — Front Desk Staff and Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank M&L_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2006

I had a comfortable stay at the Vikram, Delhi. Hotel is situated in Lajpat Nagar, just off the Ring Road which is the main arterial road of Delhi, making it easier to travel around. Although the immediate surroundings doesn't have much to offer.

The lobby is bit on the smaller side but adequate seating is available for it's size. Check-in was fast but not very friendly.
Room was adequate in size for a hotel in this class. Bed was comfortable and TV had most of the cable channels. Bathroom was good. The window didn't offer much of a view.

Breakfast was good and plentiful. Breakfast area was pretty neat and it also had a large Plasma display. Service was okay.

Overall, a good experience though the hotel is more of 3 star class rather than 4 star as it claims to be.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gags9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

In Delhi you can either spend $200 plus for a luxury hotel, or take a risk at the lower ranges and hope for the best. We wanted the Ambassador which is very centrally located but they were booked, so we tried Hotel Alka- bad choice- don't stay there!!
In the morning we packed our bags and went searching for something better and ended up at Hotel Vikram in Lajpat Nagar. It's about 20 min or so from Connaught, etc, but close to the Lotus Temple and other sites, and Greater Kailash which has great shopping and restaurants, as well as the Lajpat Nagar market which is very good, much better prices then downtown.

The hotel has recently been refurbished so the carpets and rooms are new and very nice, and the bathroom was small but nicely done, even better than the Taj Mahal bathrooms. The staff was very kind and helpful and we were thrilled to find it after our terrible experience at Alka.

Not good for wondering around outside, but good for a safe haven after an intense day in the city. It's clean, nice, and friendly, and not too far from the airport (always depending on traffic)

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank buttrfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Vikram hotel twice during April 2006. It is described as a 4 star hotel but is no better than a very average 3 star hotel. The rooms were O.K. (television, air conditioning etc) but hot water was temperamental and twice I had to take a cold shower. Buffet breakfast was rather bland and the options limited. Hotel bar was small and pokey but the drinks and snacks were well priced. Check in was efficient but not very friendly. On the plus side the hotel was clean and safe and was conveniently located close to the Locus Temple, Qutb Minar and the South Extension Markets. Overall not a bad place to stay as long as you are not paying 4 star rates

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Mounthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Comfort Homestay- Morning Glory
#252 of 715 in New Delhi
2 reviews
Defence Colony
OYO Premium South Delhi
OYO Premium South Delhi
#315 of 715 in New Delhi
4 reviews
Grand FFOUR
#127 of 715 in New Delhi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greater Kailash I
The Legend Inn
The Legend Inn
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
191 reviews
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
2,235 reviews
Treebo Conclave Riviera
#131 of 715 in New Delhi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vikram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vikram

Property: Hotel Vikram
Address: Dr Choithram Gidvani Marg | Lajpat Nagar - IV, New Delhi 110024, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Defence Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vikram has been the landmark not only for location but also for the budget segment in Delhi. Being there for over four decades Hotel Vikram has earned a special place in the mind of business traveler and leisure groups. Hotel Vikram is the only Four Star Hotel in South Delhi and within stone throw distance not only from the main commercial area like Nehru Place, Okhla Industrial Area, Jasola and Mohan Cooperative but also from the main Market places like Lajpat Nagar, Greater Kailash, South Extension, Delhi Haat and the main Exhibition Ground Pragati Maidan.The hotel is built on around 2 acres of land and offers rooms with modern facility fusion with the authentic Indian décor. Our Business Centre is available 24hrs to assist you for all secretarial work. With 100% coverage of Wi-Fi network in the public area and all the rooms, we offer freedom of conducting business anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vikram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vikram Delhi
Hotel Vikram New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing