We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service, Worst rooms Avoid at all costs”

Hotel Glitz Westend Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Glitz Westend Inn
Ranked #259 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst Service, Worst rooms Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed here because a travel agent booked us in saying it is a 4 star.

1. Check in was pathetic, they always give a bad room first. They will change to better room after you complain.

2. They will say no payment was made by travel agent; but that was not always the case & makes your checkout longer.

There seem to be preferential treatment to foreigners for some odd reason.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kdandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
2
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We were part of a British group booked into this hotel for two nights while touring Delhi. This was a change from our original hotel itinerary in the Delhi area -- and it was somewhat disappointing. On the plus side, it is close to the airport. But in most regards it is not up to strong standards if you are looking for a four or five star hotel. This is two or three stars in Paris at best (and yet it is far from any tourist sites and shopping). The dining room food was adequate, although some in our group went hungry (not liking the few choices). Breafast selections especially were limited. The pool is fine and lovely in the afternoon, but sunset does bring mosquitoes (be sure to have and use your spray). The English language is a challenge for some of the staff, so communication can be humorous or frustrating. The property itself is not bad and has potential. However, some aspects of the rooms are rundown and needing more diligent and regular ongoing maintenance. The hotel is in three buildings. One has a lift, the other two (on two floors each) do not (just so you know). Overall, this hotel was a disappointing ending to our week in India -- our other hotels, in Agra and Jaipur, had been so very much nicer, cleaner, and better run.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank QwertyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

I am an Indian living in the US. I am extremely patriotic and proud of India. But this is not about India, just a WARNING about this hotel.

I was transiting via Delhi and had to spend the night. The airport counter recommended this hotel and gave me a ride to the place.
- Check in went on well
- Noticed a party going on in one of the rooms with loud music and over 50 guests and called the front desk if they knew about a party and when it would end. The sound was reverberating since the rooms were all facing an open center area and the volume was way up on the powerful sound system.
- Response: "No we don't, there is no party". (Hmm that's an odd response right?? )
- By around 10:30 PM it was getting louder and the children were running around knocking on doors waking people up.
- This triggered a whole bunch of guests (mostly people transiting and spending just the one night weary and tired) to come out of there rooms and complain.
- Now the staff said they knew about a scheduled "Reception party" in one of the rooms and did not let people know during check in and that they cannot ask the people to reduce their noise "since they were in their room".

For crying out loud, there are over 50 people spilling out of the room, loud music reverberating and children running around knocking on all doors.

Its very odd that a hotel would ignore all their guest for a party. It may very well be that they got a whole bunch of money for it, but shouldn't a hotel of this standard live up to it. The party went on till well over 2:00 AM. In spite of guests complaining and simply too tired from their travel do walk out of the hotel.

Now don't even get me started on the service at "breakfast", where there were over 8 staff helping around 10 guests, where two of them were ganging up on an American guest for taking a second cup of coffee. Apparently each time you take anything, they need to note it down and put it on your tab.

Back at the airport, I asked the same counter which recommended this place and found that a lot of people have bad experience at this place and that they are forced to recommend this place since the owners are politically connected.

Now i truly believe that all the "Stars" that this place may have or get, is all because of the political connections.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RafiqJalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

very run down, dirty and mosquito ridden - don't believe the non-smoking policy, there are no non-smoking rooms and they all smell of stale cigarettes. The front half of the attached building is collapsing, half demolished, looks like an earthquake zone. Definitely not 4* quality but if you can get a really, really cheap deal it's manageable for one night. Buffet was disorganized but OK. Yes it's close to airport but nothing else is.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyn61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 10, 2005

On the basis of description found on the web, I expected to have 2 relaxing nights in a hotel with small garden and swimming pool. In fact, the only positive facts about it are: (1) it is close to the Airport (indeed, you hear the planes) and (2) it has a swimming pool (which you may not need so much if your aim is to sleep...). In short, a collection of the worst imaginable:
- doors are paper thin, and windows have single pane which, as the hotel is next to a major highway, means constant traffic noise, and full 'perception' of hotel noises as well - in fact, we did not sleep for more than 50% of the nights we spent there...
- staff is at best strange, usually fully dismal: receptionist not really speaking English (understands AM for PM and therefore your airport pickup is not there, for instance) - also loving to wash the floor and clean the rooms in the middle of night, preferably making as much noise as possible in the process, and speaking really loud, so you have no chance to sleep
- sub-optimal food
- particularly gloomy court for dinner and breakfast
- not-so-clean bathrooms
- no customer service and attention,
- and the cherry on the pie: our second night, a drilling rig was operating (a large one, to dig a deep well) just 10m from our bedroom - at 8pm I called: 'will stop in 5 minutes', at 8:30 'will stop in 1 minute', at 9 I called the manager, at 9:15 I went to fetch the manager myself and drag him literally to the rig, at 9:15 I had to bring the manager again, and finally at 9:30 the rig stopped operating...the staff that said 'it will stop in xx minutes' not only did nothing, but did not even check - they just replied this to keep us 'happy' -
in short, I did not believe it could get that bad, particularly at that price. STAY AWAY BY ALL MEANS!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2005

The tour company I used booked me here for my first night in Delhi. I was appalled. There were mosquitos in the lobby, and the entire place looked like it was falling apart. The walls were stained, the pool had no water in it, and the bedsheets were visibly dirty. The towels were gray, there was no shower curtain (though the curtain rings were still hanging), and I felt it necessary to shower in flip-flops. The only bright spot was the inexpensive internet access that allowed me to look up alternatives for my return to Delhi later in the week.

Helpful?
17 Thank Park27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
Lemon Tree Hotel, Udyog Vihar, G...
#31 of 228 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson ...
#12 of 228 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Dee Marks
Hotel Dee Marks
#377 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Gurgaon
#1 of 228 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Trident, Gurgaon
#2 of 228 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glitz Westend Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glitz Westend Inn

Property: Hotel Glitz Westend Inn
Address: National Highway No 8, Near Shiv Murti, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glitz Westend Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glitz-West End Inn is a uniquely positioned property with more than 120 rooms and varied amenities to suit all kinds of needs and persona. Just 20 minutes away from New Delhi International Airport. Close to bustling city spaces like Cyber City, South Delhi and Aerocity. Only property in the area catering to destination wedding capacity of more than 300 guests. Multiple multi-cuisine restaurants with tasteful decor and ambiance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Westend New Delhi
Westend Inn Delhi
Hotel Westend Inn Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing