We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay in cool and comfort within budget”
Review of The Janpath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Janpath Hotel
Ranked #265 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
ahmedabad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stay in cool and comfort within budget”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I prefer Janpath whenever I am in delhi. It is simply good with reasonable budget for any business and even family trip.

the location is best on main janpath road near connaught place, to give you chance a simple walk for shopping in palikaa bazar. The hotel entry and its lobby gives a energetic feeling and vibrancy.

The food is good but not much of variance and choices. Taste is good.

After recent renovation the inside has changed like anything. One biggest thing about janpath is the size of the rooms. You won't probably find such big sizes rooms in many even luxuary hotels.

The reception, help desk, travel desk and all other are there standing just for your call to serve you. Land in there and enjoy your stay.

Only draw back is it's a PSU (ITDC) hotel. So can't change the attitude of the staff becos they are sure of their job gurantee and no firing. So service not expected what we expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbirdahmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    100
    53
    25
    31
See reviews for
32
28
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Had a couple of my clients from Turkey who wanted to stay in a "GOOD" hotel.....the one I thought about was the Janpath in New Delhi. It is situated at the right place, amongst the Hi end lane selling hi end handmade products, though highly priced.
The hotel is chic though simple in looks.
The rooms are comfortable with a private sitting area even in rooms meant for a single person.
The food & drinks at the resturant :Swagth were good esp with the very friendly and polite stewards.
Its a place where family, friends, clients would be very happy to stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeta_nishkriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I visited this hotel during the Common Wealth Games in Delhi 2010.The hotel has been renovated and look is very fresh. The security is of a very high level.
The entire lobby and the room corridors are done new and the staff is very pleasing and gentle.
The location of this hotel is great.Rajiv Chowk Metro station is just nearby.
The old chain of Sagar Ratna is replaced by Swagath.The food and service at Swagath is fabulous. The cuisines from various parts of India specially the South are done really well. The restaurant also has a very romantic open air sitting arrangement. I dined thrice at this restaurant and the food was fabulous. Once we reported a slight feedback on a particular dish and the restaurant manager promptly changed the dish.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Staff at this hotel are slow, rude, inefficient and often get things wrong. Be prepared to have lots of patience to wait for anything and everything, including checking in and checking out, room service, restaurant meals, or getting them to fix the invariable problems with the rooms.

The rooms are relatively well-equipped and of a decent size. But fittings and finishings are poor and cleanliness is average. There was incessant leaks through the glass walls and because of that the corridors smelled funny. Water coming out of faucets seemed more cloudy and brownish than water in other hotels in India I have stayed at.

In sum, I have had better rooms, better facilities and better service at hotels with tariffs that were half that you pay here.

Do not recommend. The only benefit is the location. But then there are many hotels in the city with good location. So I still do not recommend.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank J_O_SAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2010

it was good experiment . but at night some bad smell was coming i dont know from where....

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamed_280ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guntur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

It is located to Connaught Place. Very convenient for business travelers. Close to the commercial hub of Delhi. Very good for shopping. Lot places to see nearby like Jantharmanthar, Parliament House. Close to New Delhi railway station.

Food is good and cheap. Good music in the restaurant. Friendly service. Very convenient to visit other places close to Delhi. Good access to transport and other tourist services to visit nearby places of Delhi.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I visited this Hotel many a times but after recent renovation, the hotel has had a great look with stain glass covered air conditioned passages and the beautifully decorated spacious rooms. The lounge has become spacious and tastefully done.The wooden partition separeates the sitting space and the bed and this brings a lovely ambience. The free goodies like fruit baskets, cold drinks, mineral water and tea/cooffee maker would make you feel happy. Number of channels were less for TV view and the bathtub needs improvement. The service is slightly below par but not distracting. All in all, a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#113 of 715 in New Delhi
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#72 of 715 in New Delhi
2,482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
2,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Janpath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Janpath Hotel

Property: The Janpath Hotel
Address: Janpath Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Janpath Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the commercial & shopping hub - Connaught Place. Easy accessibility to Delhi Metro, 45-minutes from Airport, 10 minutes from railway station. The total changeover of the hotel ensures value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Janpath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janpath Hotel Delhi
Janpath New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing