We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok location, a bit grim.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #21 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok location, a bit grim.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

The hotel was ok, cheap-ish for Delhi and it's location right near the New Delhi train station was very handy for both metro and trains to Agra (especially as they're very early!).
Our A/C worked most of the time except when there was a power cut then the room heated up pretty fast (happened 2 out for 3 nights we stayed). Breakfast is handy, but hotel staff are a bit too eager to get you on an expensive tour. Ignore them and plan yourself through the train station tourist bureau at New Delhi as there are tourist quota train seats i.e. always a seat free for tourists - don't let anyone tell you it's moved/closed/destroyed it's still there!

  • Liked — Location made up for the worn cramped rooms
  • Disliked — The lcation was down a back alley where the sewage seemed to run, rooms were tiny and in need of a refresh.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    352
    184
    73
    54
See reviews for
58
310
217
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

This place is just terrible - it's like a bad joke.

We arrived, exhausted, at about 6am (having pre-warned them about our arrival time). we walked into the reception area to discover a place in complete pitch darkness. when we finally managed to wake up the man on the desk (the manager?) he could not have been more rude - he was actually pretty outraged at having been woken up. he threw a set of keys at us, my boyfriend went to look at the room, and it was absolutely disgusting. apparently when he asked if we would be given any sheets he was told that there were already sheets - the man was pointing to the mattress itself (i.e. the fabric covering over the actual springs). whether he thought other hostels let people sleep on bare springs, i dont know.

the place was a complete dive, and i have never met such appallingly rude and aggressive staff anywhere in the world.

anyway, we walked out, and ended up at a place which i think was called Cosy Inn (it was Cosy something anyway) which is much cheaper, newer and lovelier, just around the corner (turn left as you walk out of the door of Smyle Inn, then left again - it's about 50 metres away).

if there's ANYWHERE else you can stay, then do so. remember that for this area of delhi (i.e. the main bazaar) you really dont need bookings... there are hundred of places to stay - the side-alleys are bursting with budget hotels.

  • Disliked — The terrible rude manager
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

We stayed at the Smyle Inn for three nights. This was our first stop on a quick two week tour through India. We arrived at 5 a.m. and went straight to bed. The Bazaar area where it is located is an eye opener to say the least if it is your first time in India. It is a very dirty area with way too many touts and beggars.

All this being said, the room we received was very clean. The air conditioner did not work and the manager reluctantly gave us a new room where it did work. It seemed like the staff preferred to do nothing if that was an option. You had to be persistent in order to get what you wanted.

The price of the accommodation was good and it was definitely a clean room with a comfortable bed.

If you are just looking for a clean, safe place to rest your head and don't really care is the area is nice around the hotel, then this place is perfect.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location/Surrounding Area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tcktsaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

I was shocked to see that I got enSuite with hot / cold water, free internet, free breakfast and all for a small amount of around 10GBP. They had a counter where I could book cheap airline ticket for my visit to Goa. The internet had headphones and mike and I could speak to everyone back home using Skype.

The staff was helpful and friendly and guided me to good places to eat and shop in the nearby areas.

I have also taken a Golden Triangle tour from them which I will embark on after I come from Goa just prior to leaving for home.

Overall this is a Fantastic value for money.

  • Liked — Value for money, good staff, honest dealing.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness could have been better.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColinBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Booking the hotel was easy from their website www.smyleinn.com . Let me set the expectations right that this is a basic place but comes out to be a value for money hostel. It provides free internet access, free breakfast. There is a roof top sitting area which gives a good view of the chaotic old city constructions. It was good to chill out there. There is a small travel counter that helped me with a reasonable costing travel package for Rajasthan which I enjoyed very much. They also helped with onward airline ticket. The manager and the staff was OK and were helpful if we had any issues. They also helped in getting the used to the place. Word of advise, please do take their airport pickup service which is a big plus, otherwise it will be very difficult locating their place.

  • Liked — All the facilities like Internet (Free), Travel Services, long distance phone etc were all in-house
  • Disliked — Could be more clean (but you don't get so much in GBP8 per night)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnAxworty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

We booked here for 2 nights and arrived in the middle of the night, the airport pickup was waiting for us, which is the only good thing I have to say about the Smyle Inn. That pickup cost us 450 Rs, + we were hounded for a 200 Rs tip by the driver for a trip that should only cost 250-300.

The room is dirty and disgusting, we got a few hours sleep and headed out to find another one. The place is in the middle of a main bazaar, expect dogs, chickens & cows to keep you awake ALL night and then just when you doze off the morning markets will open. Hot water is non-existant.

Staff were friendly, yet obviously trying to make money off you just like everyone else in delhi.

Hands down the worst hotel I've ever been in. BUT also the cheapest!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Located in a noisy dirty market
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

This budget hostel is cheap, as clean as budget accommodation gets and very central (alley just off Parghanj near railway station in budget backpackers area). You get a TV that works, warm to cold shower - sheets -and a towel and pillow if you ask (they are very grubby i.e. not washed after every user but this is common in India).

Rooftop is small, dirty and awful, no view as screens around it and noisy generator constantly mowing. However, I did meet really nice people there funny enough.

The owner is extremely rude and arrogant. He made life difficult for me and a few others - no-one liked him. He never told you whether you could stay another night until the next morning at 10am so you had to hang around, he seemed to like the 'power'. He was very aggressive and questioned everyone on where they had spent their money i.e. why not with him.

I would not stay there again as travelling through India I have stayed at a variety of places but all with charming and hospitable and helpful owners and managers. However, Smyle Inn is organised, central, clean and functional so you could do worse however this guy does not deserve the business he gets from his disgusting attitude.

Karen, England

  • Liked — location and fact that rooms had TV, warm shower and sheets although grubby
  • Disliked — Owner was rude, arrogant, aggressive and extremely patronising to everyone
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Naama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#77 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#31 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Centra Inn
Centra Inn
#33 of 1,053 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Su Shree Continental
Hotel Su Shree Continental
#37 of 1,053 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing