We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Delhi weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #21 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, National Capital Territory Of Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Delhi weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Smyle inn is the perfect place to stay for a moderate budget. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, breakfast good and its a pleasure to take a hot shower in dehli in winter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    352
    184
    73
    54
See reviews for
58
310
217
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

For the budget traveller, this hostel has all the basic amenities you need - fairly clean room and warm water shower room, wifi in small lounge area, free breakfast and a printing store right next by. Staff are quite warm and friendly, although the cleaning staff are a surly. One of the staff was kind enough to give me an adaptor after I noticed I took the wrong one to India. The drawback was the swindlers outside the property and in the Paharganj area. The management doesn't not warn tourists about all the touts in the area and leaves them to their own devices - the swindler that approached me the first night in Delhi came to the doorstep of the hostel, one of the more confronting experiences I have had in Delhi. If you're prepared to brave the dingy and dark Paharganj area, this hostel may be for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leswanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Stayed on the top floor of the Smyle Inn closest to the Main Bazaar. Nice clean, quiet room with flat screen tv. Breakfast is included in the room price & is on the rooftop of the Smyle Inn 50 metres down the road. Felt this was one of the best value hotels we stayed in, in India. Location is good - only 5/10 min walk to metro stop.

Initially hotel is a bit difficult to find, but any local hould be able to help. It is down the lane beside a Citibank ATM, so you can use this as a reference point. The hotel is 30/40 metre down a lane - we didn't have any problems & felt safe at all times, but thought this was worth mentioning for female solo travellers. Only negative was that the guy from the travel agency in the hotel came up to the restaurant in the morning trying to drum up business. Would highly recommend this hotel & would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLouRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a bad experience on the arrival on New Delhi as we were cheated by somebody from the New Delhi railway station to a tourist information center.
Thanks to the reviews and tips given in google, we found this hotel! So, it's better to do some research before the arrival on the destination.
We stayed in this hotel (the new building) for 4 days before leaving India.
Pros:
- It's cheap, with Rs1180 for a double deluxe room (with 2 single beds), including a breakfast (well, it's a typical India breakfast but they do give cornflakes, so that you have something to eat if you can't really take in the Indian food).
- There is a 24 hour hot water service, which we needed it so much during that time as it's winter in India.
- It's clean and neat.
- There's a TV, with many TV programs but in our later stay, the TV screen was not working and they couldn't repair it. But, this didn't really affect our satisfaction on the hotel.
- It's near to the New Delhi railway staion, but if you are going to take the metro, you gonna go to the another side of the railway station. Anyhow, it's still within the walking distance.
- There are a lot of services provided here, money exchange, airport pickups and travel packages. Thus, we choose to take a taxi to the airport with RS300 offered by the hotel.
- It's safe, they will lock the hotel entrance in the midnight.
Cons:
- Well, the location is not safe for a solo female traveler. So, it's better to come in a group or with at least some companions. There was a rape case in that area during my stay. So, be careful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCG332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Im a bit late writing this review. I stayed here for 3 weeks in November. The place can be hard to find but once you are on Main Bazar Road you can pretty much ask any of the many locals who float around trying to sell stuff where the Smyle inn is and they will point you in the right direction. The Inn itself is good value for money and very clean. The Wi-Fi is a bit hit or miss. The first week i was there it was spot on but then became temperamental. Breakfast was provided which was a bonus and although basic it did the job. The manager Harish was a nice fella, he asked opinions on how some things could be improved and seemed genuinely interested in providing the best service possible. All of the staff where spot on with the exception of the fella that worked in the travel centre on the 2nd floor. He seemed very nice at first but later became quite rude and very dismissive. It didnt overly bother me as it was easier just to ignore him and speak to the other outstanding staff members. This is the only reason i give this 4 instead of 5 stars. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
274 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

At £11 per night for a double room with hot shower and breakfast in a central location, you can't really complain. The place is clean, the staff friendly, helpful and not pushy, the breakfast adequate and it is an easy tuk-tuk ride to all the main city sights. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of my trip and liked it enough to book again for a couple of nights at the end. I stayed in an a/c room at the beginning and non a/c at the end. The first room was larger but the non a/c room seemed to have been decorated more recently. Staff are friendly, airport pickup was great, breakfast OK and included in price. I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#77 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#31 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Centra Inn
Centra Inn
#33 of 1,053 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Su Shree Continental
Hotel Su Shree Continental
#37 of 1,053 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing