We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shoebox room best shower!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #20 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
christchurch, nz
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A shoebox room best shower!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Great bathroom modern with hot water. Sheets looked dirty as do so many white ones in India they'd be better off with coloured ones to not show the stains! Tiny room. Breakfast good except no black coffee. Very helpful travel desk with no pressure to use their services. Good wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandysun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    343
    179
    72
    53
See reviews for
53
302
216
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The rate was so reasonable we quite frankly did not expect all that much, but whaddaya know:

Pick-up from airport worked like a charm. Check-in was warm and welcoming even though it was quite early in the morning and we woke up the staff mid-sleep.

Location is excellent, just off Main Bazaar rd. Easy to get a ride to anywhere in the city practically just outside the hostel. Metro and railway station a five minutes walk away.

Stayed in a superior room which was basic but clean and cozy. Warm water was available at all times. Simple but tasty breakfast with tea, coffee, corn flakes, toast, omelette, juice and milk.

Special thanks to Anil at the front desk, he was soooo helpful and friendly at all times directing us to sights, telling how to get where and even telling what's the maximum we should pay for taxis, tuk-tuks, clothes and so on. An absolutely wonderful fellow!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

A bit tough to find if you don't know your way, but Smyle is clean and close to the action. There is a nice little rooftop area for breakfast which is a great place to meet people. Good advice was offered from the tour operator.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's was my first time ever staying in a hostel and might I add with my mother to top it all off. A woman that considers only Hilton's, Marriott etc as an only option. At first sight from the outside you might considered this establishment substandard to any hotel chain. Like the saying goes never jude a book by its cover. As you walk thru and meet the staff and find that you are just as goods as being home your thoughts and emotions change. The warm welcome and their eagerness to help you and make you feel as if you were staying in a 5 star gives no justice to how Smyle made my mother and I feel. Will I recommend Smyle... hands down. Thank you Smyle for making this experience one of our most unforgettable experience from accommodation and travel booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Position:
I like to live near Backpackers Areas, and Smyle Inn hostel is really near the Actionstreet (Main Bazaar). The Toilett at the start of the street was very bad. Everytime I went out or back to the hostel I had to confront the bad stunk (but it is everywhere in Delhi) and the men going to the pissoir. You can hear it, you can smell it, you can see it... It is a kind of "welcome to Delhi"

Rooms:
We have got a big room. Was ok, with AC, hot water and Internet. The rooms could be cleaner.

Communication:
The Staff is a very nice one. You can ask them for any information and they will help you. It was a good reason to go to this hostel.

Agency:
We have booked a tour in Rajasthan here. It was not so cheap but I am still happy to have done it. We were so lucky to have such a good driver, named Firoz, a very very smart guy. He gaves us tipps, don't cheat on us and was very quiet. He was a very good driver too and that's what you need in India if you want to come back healthy home.
All the hotels they booked for us were good. Only Agra hotel was HORRIBLE.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emka85_mondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were upgraded for free to a room on the top floor with a fan which was great, considering we nearly scammed coming from the airport and extremely tired. The room was clean and tidy, with TV and the included breakfast was simple cereal, toast, fruit and chai.
The second night though, we found a mouse in our room. One of the hotel staff quickly came and got rid of it. Unfortunately what let the stay down was the check out. the guy on reception who had given a free upgrade mistook us for another customer and tried to over charge me. he was a little rude and it kind of put an end on what was a quite a nice stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank erika o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest
I do apologise for the mistake of our manager. I do hope that you understand it was un-intentional. Due to manager shift change, mis-communication happened. Please don't let is spoil your memories of our humble Hostel in Delhi.
Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

For novice visitors, finding a Decent Hostel in Delhi may be a daunting task. Smyle Inn, located at the heart of Main Bazar, Paharganj, is a haven for budget travellers. It is a quaint hostel with the amenities of a boutique inn. With rates that are easy on the pocket, great location and very good service and amenities, this is a very good choice for travellers seeking a home to stay in this city.

The hostel has two wings: Wing 1 and Wing 2. The standard rooms are located in Wing 1 while the upgraded rooms or superior rooms are in Wing 2.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paodaolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#48 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#42 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#29 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#50 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#63 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing