We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consideration, Care, Customer Satisfaction...”
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #18 of 1,084 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Shimla
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Consideration, Care, Customer Satisfaction...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have now stayed at the Smyle Inn on two different occasions, Spring & Fall, 2013. In India there is a saying, and we feel that it is appropriate here: 'Cheap & Best'!

The Interior of the facility shows a level of 'class' far above the price that you pay for a room here, which you will Rarely find in India even with higher rates paid, and which makes your stay in a 'funky' part of Delhi very nice indeed.

The location is Perfect for the traveller/tourist, as it is So close to the New Delhi Railway Station, as well as a Metro Station that can feed you into any part of the metropolis in a matter of minutes. The Staff are friendly & courteous, the Owner Harish is a gem and who will bend over backwards for you, and the facilities (2) are clean and well maintained. What else could you possibly need!? This is, and will be, our 'regular home' when we pass through Delhi as we needn't look any further, and are completely satisfied.
Thanks Harish for taking care of us!!
Robert & Grace

Room Tip: It seems that there may be two 'tiers' represented by the 2 different facilities that are Sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    365
    190
    75
    55
See reviews for
60
319
227
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's my first time visiting Delhi, and I booked this place based on the many good reviews on tripadvisor. It's cheap, the rooms are clean and aircon-ed (this is very important). There's hot water, and service is good.

The only unpleasant thing is during the trip from airport to the hostel. I booked the pick up, but the drivers made a mistake by thinking that I arrived at the international airport (I flew from chennai, so it's domestic airport). My friends and I had to wait for almost half an hour, and worse, the driver still asked for tips! It was horrible. However, in the evening, the owner apologized for it, promised to rebuke the drivers and gave us some discount on the taxis. I guess it was just the drivers' desperate mindset of getting extra money.

The best thing about the hostel: the friendly owner who delivers good service and is trustworthy. This place is strongly recommended for backpackers or those who want to save money yet enjoy delhi. It's a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hey Samuel,

Thanks for your review. I remember our conversation regarding the behaviour of the driver. After that we have put some checks in place to ensure that the problem does not recur.

It is our constant effort to ensure that the guests have a pleasant experience and a comfortable stay at Smyle Inn.

Remember:
As owner, I am just an email away in case anyone needs any assistance.

Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It is my third time visit New Delhi and the second time visit Smyle Inn, compare with two years ago, they changed a lot, no more run down interior.

Basically, they developed both wings for give more space to the customer instead of keep them in the room after siteseeing in Delhi,

Roof top terrace is my favorite place for hang out with other guests and chat.

Bath room improved a lot also, towel, soap, toilet paper, wifi could find in every room.

Great team provide all you need in Delhi and travel outside with very reasonable charges.

However, the neighbours trying to copy their business mode which made the team feel frustrated. Be honest, the accommodation business competition in Main Bazar is really serious.

Other thing I would like to say is the issue with PICK UP.
whenever you arrived in New Delhi, please ask for a Pick up as the cost is not a big issue, but the security is the point, some customer got lost when they try to reach the property by themselves, but ended up with stay some where else as the Main Bazar area with more than 300 propertis, they got scammed.

Due to the high commission other hotels offered to the scammer, they will try everything they could to lure the customer. In this case, do arrange pick up with Smyle Inn after you made the booking.

Harish, Gurvinder, Anil, and all other great staff.

I could not have such great trip to India without the support from you.

And i would definately stay with you again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarodZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jarod

Thanks for your review of Smyle Inn.
We are continuously improving and upgrading our rooms, facilities and services. Its our constant effort to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests.
You have rightly mentioned the nuisance of tourist scams that begin the moment you land at the airport. That is the reason, we very strongly recommend our airport pick up facility.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

As always, we look forward to see you again.

Warm regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you want to experience the real Indian culture then this is a great place to stay as just outside this cosy inn is the streets of Delhi. The people who run the inn are extremely friendly and helpful! Great if your on a cheap budget and want to experience India!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I am glad that you could experience real India and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Smyle Inn!

Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms at Smyle Inn are clean and we furnished. The staff is friendly and more than willing to help you book tours that are reasonably priced and provide great service compared to other hotes in the area. The breakfast is a bit smal but is sufficient enough.Overall a very good experience here and I woud recommend it to anyone looking for great service and clean rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your review of our Hostel in Delhi.

We try very hard to cater to the needs of a budget traveller by providing all the facilities under one roof at very affordable prices.

Thanks for recommending us to the travel community.

All the best
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very clean and modern rooms for a very reasonable price. Awesome location . Very safe Very happy with my stay. The owner harish is a really good guy. He helped me with a few problems regarding visas and passports. Loads of nice places to eat in the area. Close to metro ect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompeterparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks Tom for your kind words and reviews. I am glad that I could help you with your Visa issues.

Would love to have you back when you visit Delhi again.

Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm L.K It was my first time to India.Last month I booked for my 7 days stay at Smyle Inn.I was very surprise the cost of the room is a a 4 stars for the price.Clean with T.V Air con very good facility obtain from the hotel to pick from the airport.The nice breakfast with the smile of the staff Mohan every morning.Harish and Gurvinder arrange all tours to make my stay successful .Nice safety hotel in a security area.Where you all facilities transport something to eat shopping even all shops owners are very kind and friendship.All the staff gave me lots of ideas where to go shopping due to my first time in India.So I'm very thankful to Harish and Gurvinder for their advice to make my stay a success. I will not hesitate to stay there again for my next travel To New Delhi.Thanks to all the staff.L.K

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayK549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear LK,
During your stay, you were almost like family to us. It is such a great pleasure meeting good people like you. I will cherish the memories. Hope you do the same.

Do let us know when you are coming to Delhi, we will love to host you in our Hotel.

Wishing you all the best with your Happy cooking
From
Harish and Gurvinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#27 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
Hotel Sunshine
#103 of 716 in New Delhi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#87 of 716 in New Delhi
319 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,084 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing