We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #18 of 1,096 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I booked for 1 night, as we had to catch a very early train
from New Delhi Railway Station. We had to wait for almost 2 hours
before we could check in and looked at a couple of hotels next door,
which were worse. The room was reasonable and clean, but noisy at
night. We have been several times to Delhi and knew what to expect
in Paharganj, so I agree with the comments below. Only stay there if
you have to...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zauberberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    369
    192
    75
    55
See reviews for
61
324
228
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Agra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

small windowless rooms, but great value and clean hotel. Free wifi & internet, very helpfull staff, cheap softdrinks available for takeaway. Rooftop breakfasts are OK and included in the price as well. Only minus is the area, but hey... that's what you're paying for.

Perfect for backpackers, not wanting to pay an expensive luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geertos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at Smyle Inn for only 1 night. I booked in advance (something I rarely do, but I was arriving really late at night) Was planning on staying longer, but I didnt do it because:
- guy at the reception the moodiest figure I have EVER encountered on my trips. Just arrived and had to wait for over 4 hours on my room (which 'wasn't ready yet) And then he got all grumpy I asked for another room, since the hotel was far from fully booked.
- No windows/ AC didnt work (can live with that, but did pay for it!!)
- dirty as hell (which you can expect at pahargangj, but realllly dirty)

And besides that, there are far better places to stay in Delhi for the same (or lower) price

I have to admit I was located at the dependance (their 2nd, smaller building) So I dint know how the actual original hotel is like (but cant be much different I guess)

Sorry, but for me it was a bad experience and wouldnt reccomend it.

Just go to India, take a prepaid cab to Pahargangj and stroll around for half an hour, looking at different hotels, rooms and prices. You will get a fair deal without any surprises.

Except when you arrive during high season, or after midnight: dont book, just go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Staying in the cheaper backpacker hub of Paharganj in Delhi does not mean you have to put up with the conditions of the Smyle Inn. The room was windowless, with very dark lighting - no doubt an attempt to try and hide just how filthy the room was. There was no hot water, which is not a deal breaker, but the bathroom was so grimey it felt you were never clean. The cockroaches on the walls and floor don't help you shrug off this feeling! The sheets were so dirty we had to ask for them to be changed.,.. for equally grimey and holey new ones to be put on instead by a hostile man who trod all over the bed still wearing his trainers. Thank goodness for sleeping bag liners! The staff were hostile, unwilling to help in any way, and sometimes just downright rude.

You can find cheaper and far, far better in the same area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Your critical review of us, even though it is one month late, is by far the most explicit one and I do really appreciate you taking out time to report it in a public forum.

Anyways we had staff and cleaning issues in the month of August when you stayed with us. The staff issues and cleaning issues have been ironed out. The errant staff has been replaced and we have started taking feedback from all the customers during their stay with us regarding any issues. This is helping us in addressing the problems right in the start. These small steps have helped us get back to our feet and we have improved in customer handling and cleanliness.

I thank you one again for your time it means a lot to us.

Best Regards
Owner
Smyle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed there for 5 weeks while on an assignement. The team is great, indeed smiling and helpful.

It's clean and they will clean the room and the sheets everyday if you ask for it.

The free breakfast is honest and internet access works great. It's also the only one in Delhi with free wifi, most places charging 200 rupees a day for it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mister v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a fantastic little hotel! My friend and I arrived at the airport to find a friendly face holding up my name on a peice of card and he took us to Smyle Inn. It was incredible to see that the people of the hotel had found us as we had fortgotten to put the majority of our flight information on the pick up request email! The hotel is clean with very freindly with helpful staff that could give us as much information as we needed. we had a limited supply of air con in our room (still a luxury though!!) and the breakfast included was lovely. A great start to our adventure in India!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

we stayed there for one night. the rooms are very dirty and unlovely. the staff is unfriendly and they dont' want to help you at all! the rooftop restaurant it awful.
they first wanted to charge us two nights even though we stayed there less than 24 hours because we arrived before check in time 12 noon. be careful!
there are many better hotels around in paharaganj!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodyguardLovelySingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thanks for taking out time and giving us your candid feedback.

Staff issues are almost ironed out as we have been working on them for about a month now. Had you written to us in a email from our free internet cafe, we would sorted the problem right there and then during your stay itself.

You see when you post a negative comment about us on a public forum like Trip Advisor without actually discussing the problem with us, it does not give us a fair chance to express our take on your grievance.

You have also complained about us wanting to charge you extra money, though you stayed less than 24 hours. If you had only allowed us to explain OR if you had only read about the Booking Poilcy and FAQs on our site, you would not have complained about this. Your stay was actually in a two night window because of the 12 noon checkout time.

I once again re-iterate that we are listening to customers and want to solve your problems, as long as you tell us on our email ID. Leaving a negative comment without giving us a chance is not fair on us.

Hope you enjoy rest of your stay in India.

Regards
Owner
Smyle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,700 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#28 of 715 in New Delhi
714 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#88 of 715 in New Delhi
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunshine
#103 of 715 in New Delhi
188 reviews
Hotel City Star
#23 of 715 in New Delhi
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,096 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing