We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sunstar Residency
Ranked #44 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
188 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

I stayed here several times while having to transit through Delhi and found it to be pretty good with minimal problems. The food was great, the service was prompt and the rooms were good. It's not for people desiring five star or even a good four star experience but it is a great choice for those looking for a nice three star place. The only downside is the neighborhood, Karol Bagh is quite chaotic and noisy....but then again all of Delhi is that way!!!!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank seahawksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency!!!!!!!!!!!
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
U praised the:::::: (The food was great, the service was prompt )
We are regretting for any type inconvenience during stay with us. We will try our best in future as improve to inaccuracy.
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    63
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
84
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

I have been at Sunstar Grand. To comment on the previous review, I am not sure that Sunstar Grand and Residency are the same hotel. Looking at Sunstar Grand's website, it seems that Grand and Residency are two different hotels. They must be under the same ownership and close to each other, that's why it gets a bit confusing.
I will post my review under Sunstar Grand.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank eurotourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency!!!!!!!!!
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

Also known as the "Hotel Sunstar Grand". Marble floors and staircase. Nice older style with good furnishings and bed for this medium price range. Clean but worn linens, good service. Plenty of water pressure. Great rooftop terrace for breakfast if you get up early (only one shady table for the latecomers) thankfully breakfast is also cheerfully delivered to your room.

[--]
We paid US$50/night large double with AC.

Have a local friend call and reserve the room in Hindi - you'll pay less ;)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stampgrabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
U liked the nice and clean rooms.
You liked the location
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

This place is a good surprise, especially if you have tried the terrible Ajanta hotel before!! Our room was large, clean, confortable, the bathroom huge with an amazing bathtub... The food was also excellent and service above average. I am going back there in few days and definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
U praised the::::(hotel rooms were large, clean, & comfortable, the bathroom huge with an amazing bathtub... The food was also excellent and service above average. You definitely recommend it !)
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2005

We stayed in Hotel Sunstar for 2 days in December and the experience was horrible. The room looked like a dungeom. Being in the busy Karol Bagh area, there is constant noice all night and several bugs allover the room. We were changed to a different room but it was only slightly better. Having paid an exhorbitant amont of money for COX and KINGS travel agency for out Delhi-Agra-Jaipur trip, we felt cheated. On requesting a different hotel, they told us to pay by ourselves, which we agreed. The travel agent called back witha hotel for 300$ saying thats the only hotel available in Delhi as it was a busy season. We checked on the Internet and got a great deal at the Grand for 125$ and there were tons of other hotels available.
COX and Kings is an unreliable travel agent set to cheat unsuspecting foreigners (as we saw many Japanese staying in Hotel Sunstar).
DONOT STAY THERE. DO YOUR RESEARCH. LOOK FOR DEALS. and dont become a walking ATM machine!

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency!!!!!!!
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
We are regretting for any type inconvenience during stay with us. We will try our best in future as improve to inaccuracy.
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#31 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Hotel SunStar Grand
#36 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#34 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunstar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunstar Residency

Property: Hotel Sunstar Residency
Address: Wea 8a/50 Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunstar Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Sunstar Residency we believe in the old saying of our land "Atithi Devo Bhava" roughly translated "Guest is God". We take each and every single request of our customer as an order and we try and ensure that best of services are offered. With aim to provide tranquil and peaceful enviornment with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunstar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Residency Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing