We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third rate hotel at the five star price”
Review of Hotel Samrat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Samrat
Ranked #419 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Designating Hotel Samrat a five star hotel looks to me a big joke. I stayed there in October 2006 and it is a dirty and unkept .
Bathroom leaked, torn mattresses, dirty carpets, holes in walls etc. Baradari restaurant is horrible too. Many waiters but hardly any service they provide. Food was Ok but meats were undercooked.

Many managers are there just seeking bribes or tips. When I checked in they told me that hotel is available only for one night and I have to check out tomorrow. After checking in, the duty manager approached me that he will work out something tomorrow and advised me not to checkout. My reading was that he was looking for something. After two three hours he called my room to ask me that I should come down to meet him because he is alone at this time. Hence, a big tip was given...

Moreover, someone entered our room and stole 1.6 lakh rupees along with 210 US dollars and a checkbook. It happened when we went for a dinner in hotel restaurant called Baradari. The friendly manager knew our plans for dinner time (when and where), the same man who let us stay for another night.

In conclusion, don't stay in this unsafe and a rat hole.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank lion1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2006

Our first choice hotels were booked up, so our driver took us here. What a mistake 7500 INR for a dump. We left after seeing the room, the 4 alternatives offered were just as bad. Everything the other reviewers mentioned are still the same, bare wires, grey sheets, stained worn carpets, baths that were disgusting. The corridoor walls were horrible. I was prepared to sleep in the airport rather than stay here. Awful, awful, awful.
We left and checked into The Hyatt - worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frankie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London UK
16
Reviewed February 27, 2006

Do not stay at this hotel. For a start, it's only partly a hotel. The upper floors, and part of the 1st floor where there are guest rooms, are obscure Government office eg Telephone disputes Tribunal, Ministry of Forests etc. The rooms are Ok if a bit down at heel, but the corridors are shabby with junk piled up on the staircases. The pool was 'closed' in high season, and the gardens scruffy with no chairs etc. Breakfast in the Red Chilli restaurant was poor, dismal decor and limited food, which ran out. No way is this a 5 star hotel.

The hotel appears to make its money from a nightclub which belts out incredibly noisy music at least one night a week so that you can't sleep. When the nighclub is closed, the restaurant may be let out for equally noisy parties. We had to move rooms at midnight.

Curiously, there is a rather good new restaurant on the hotel premises, stylish, modern and a good menu, if almost no customers. [Not the Red Chilli]

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
15
Reviewed October 11, 2005

This is the worst hotel I and my family have ever stayed in. Grey sheets, bare wires inserted into electric sockets. It's not only dirty, it's simply not safe. The entrance is nice, but a complete facade! You will be shocked to see the state of the rooms.
They have 4 bell boys who don't have much to do for most of the time - it's a pity they couldn't give one of them a paint brush to start redecorating the bedrooms. I would never stay in an Ashok property again. The rooms aren't cheap either, I can't believe that it gets away with masquerading as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
15
Reviewed September 19, 2005

As a frequent traveller I was completed dissappointed with this hotel. From the start the service was appalling. The car I booked to collect me from the Airport never turned up. When I checked in there was no apology or offer to credit the charge. They also were confused and tried to charge me twice even though I had paid e-globe on-line. The foyer was being sandblasted all week and the rest of the hotel was completed dilapidated, musty with regular power cuts. I had cockroaches in my room and the so-called drinking water was in broken sealed out-of-date bottles with the labels torn off. It was my Birthday on the 13th and when I went to the bar to buy a celebration beer, I was told they had run out of stock! There was no Internet or business meeting rooms to hold meetings.
In brief, every aspect of the service, facilities and accomodation was the worst standard I ever experienced. It was a short stay and only because I had pre-arranged meetings, I'd have checked out the following day.
How they can claim 5 star is totally bewildering.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver,Colorado
224
Reviewed July 12, 2005

We had booked for 2 nights at Hotel Samrat through a travel agent as it was closer to the US Consulate.

We drove back from Jaipur Thursday evening (30th June, 2005) and checked into Hotel Samrat. We went to the reception and checked in. We took an elevator to the 4th floor and had to walk past smoke filled government offices to our room. As soon as we entered it was one of the worst rooms i had ever seen in my life filled with cigarette smoke eventhough it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. We tried another room in 3rd floor which was of similar condition. Then we were told that we will get another newly renovated room and as soon as we entered this room we could smell the paint.

That was it!. We could not take it anymore and talked to the manager that we wanted to check out. So there it was. The shortest checkout!.

Also i wanted to get a copy of the cancellation confirmation and the manager was rude saying that they wont give us the copy. She said we could complain to anyone we wanted and she didn't care.

So Please skip any of the "TheAshokGroup" properties. PLEASE!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool England
17
Reviewed April 5, 2005

An impressive entrance and that's where it ends. Musty, old and bare rooms requiring complete renovation. There isn't a mini bar, tea/coffee facilities or trouser press as advertised. Staff totally unhelpful at reception. Give it a miss!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Ashok
#203 of 715 in New Delhi
587 reviews
Hotel Diplomat
#238 of 715 in New Delhi
101 reviews
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#77 of 715 in New Delhi
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#146 of 715 in New Delhi
184 reviews
Shervani New Delhi
#172 of 715 in New Delhi
138 reviews
Greater Kailash I
FabHotel BMK Greater Kailash
FabHotel BMK Greater Kailash
#465 of 715 in New Delhi
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samrat

Address: 50 - B Kautilya Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $65 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Samrat 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the landscape garden. Samrat’s elegant structure built around a centre flower-filled atrium an open air courtyard lives up to the concept of luxury hotel. The hotel has a choice of 255 rooms with a Pan-Asian restaurant “SHIRO,” a multicuisine restaurant ‘CHAKRAAS.” To serve you better there is LAYBA, a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Samrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samrat Hotel New Delhi
Samrat Hotel Delhi
Hotel Samrat Delhi
Samrat New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing