We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for short stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Connaught

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Connaught
Ranked #184 of 694 Hotels in New Delhi
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for short stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in Connaught Place during the last quarter of 2012 and it was a "its-not-bad" kinda experience.

You cannot expect friendly welcome/supporting staff or you cannot expect the people dressed in suits & blazers to react like "we-can-get-whatever-guest-wants". They are very normal, un-smiling people. They will do justice to their job by helping you with some details, but the smile factor will be missing. If you are someone who thinks that a long & sad face means something bad, then please don't talk to any of them.

The restaurant is very good... A bit expensive... but managable. The quality of food is excellent and its safe to eat in the restaurant. Those who serve in the eatery are friendly & co-operating. They try to understand your taste on the first day of your visit to the restaurant and they suggest food that suits your taste from the next day!

I stayed on business & had a chauffeur drive me around, so I din' have to talk to their in-hotel tourist operator.

Room Tip: Take some rooms in the right extreme. There is a conference room right up the left corner where some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adethya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    94
    108
    47
    30
See reviews for
47
65
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

very contrasted opinion on that property; very poor welcome by arrogant and unhelpful Front Office staff, this during the two days including check-out. However the restaurant staff was totally the opposite, extremely friendly. The food thee is the best of the four hotels I have stayed at and is really above expectation. Rooms are ok, nothing to complain about them. Internet is far too expensive and not too good. Overall remark: as expected, except for front office which is far below any expectation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeathToThePixiesBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Though it was a short stay for a night, I felt cheated at the room i got for the value,. The economy room was as big as an attic. I felt I was in a furnished prison. The restaurant bhowani junction was good, the staff helpful.

Room Tip: Please see the room for your self before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faisalsyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhopal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

During my 3 night stay i found The Connaught one of the best business hotel where one can peacefully stay. Rooms are very well cleaned with all facilities. The hotel is situated in a great location, just 5 minutes walk to Connaught Place main market- the shopping hub. My room was facing the famous hockey stadium- Shivaji Stadium which was interesting. Breakfast was excellent with variety of foods. The staff was very supportive and very quick. The restaurants of the hotel is good. Overall it was a very excellent stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhopalShweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

i suspect this is what you get for $150 if you want to stay near Connaught Circus. The rooms bear very little reality to the photos and both myself and friends felt this hotel was a real swizz for the money. The rooms were gloomy and the bedding felt damp, I actually had to ask for a hot water bottle to air the bed. The restaurant is all brown and dark and has one small window, but to be fair the breakfast buffet wasn't that bad apart from the undrinkable coffee. I really wouldn't ever stay here again unless i absolutely had to .

Room Tip: stay at claridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

During my 3 night stay I found “The Connaught” one of the best hotel where you can peacefully stay. Rooms are a bit small, and bath rooms as well, but well cleaned with all facilities. Location great, 5 minutes walk will take you Connaught Place, a nice place to walk around.

Tired of work during the day, but the “Mehafil” at the restaurant made very relaxed. Very friendly and helpful staff around.

A special thanks goes to Front officer “Mr. Lalit” (If I am not mistaken)

Wow, no words to say… super breakfast.. with lot of variety, I should say that this standard only makes this hotel to a 4 star, otherwise it should call a Super 3 star.

I would conclude saying “It was a nice Stay at The Connaught Hotel, New Delhi

Room Tip: Rooms facing to Shivaji Stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good location at Connaught Place, but hotel needs refurbishing. Tired fittings. Breakfast was plentiful and a mix of Indian and Western.
Not as close to Railway Station as thought so allow an hour for Old Delhi Station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#18 of 694 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#179 of 694 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 694 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#85 of 694 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Property: The Connaught
Address: 37 Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Connaught 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Connaught , New Delhi you savor the living experience at its best. Affordable, warm and cozy; the hotel welcomes you to the true Indian spirit of hospitality. Located in the hub of the business centre of the metropolis - Connaught Place, the hotel is in very close proximity to the Lady Hardinge Medical College. Also, in very close proximity to the Delhi Metro station, the Airport Express and the capitals main railway station. It also is very accessible to the International & Domestic airports. The hotel boasts of 87 refined, well-appointed rooms those are tucked carefully spread over the Seven Floors of the hotel building. Catch the spectacular bird's eye view of the Shivaji Stadium and the colonial stretches of Connaught Place. Also, catch a glimpse of the historic Parliament and India Gate monuments and enjoy a delightful view straight from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Connaught New Delhi
Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught Delhi
The Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel The Connaught
Hotel Connaught New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing