We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot of money for very little”
Review of The Connaught

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Connaught
Ranked #276 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed November 26, 2012

i suspect this is what you get for $150 if you want to stay near Connaught Circus. The rooms bear very little reality to the photos and both myself and friends felt this hotel was a real swizz for the money. The rooms were gloomy and the bedding felt damp, I actually had to ask for a hot water bottle to air the bed. The restaurant is all brown and dark and has one small window, but to be fair the breakfast buffet wasn't that bad apart from the undrinkable coffee. I really wouldn't ever stay here again unless i absolutely had to .

Room Tip: stay at claridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 323 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

During my 3 night stay I found “The Connaught” one of the best hotel where you can peacefully stay. Rooms are a bit small, and bath rooms as well, but well cleaned with all facilities. Location great, 5 minutes walk will take you Connaught Place, a nice place to walk around.

Tired of work during the day, but the “Mehafil” at the restaurant made very relaxed. Very friendly and helpful staff around.

A special thanks goes to Front officer “Mr. Lalit” (If I am not mistaken)

Wow, no words to say… super breakfast.. with lot of variety, I should say that this standard only makes this hotel to a 4 star, otherwise it should call a Super 3 star.

I would conclude saying “It was a nice Stay at The Connaught Hotel, New Delhi

Room Tip: Rooms facing to Shivaji Stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siddique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good location at Connaught Place, but hotel needs refurbishing. Tired fittings. Breakfast was plentiful and a mix of Indian and Western.
Not as close to Railway Station as thought so allow an hour for Old Delhi Station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Whoa this hotel bites the big one!! It claims to have won an award for "Business Hotel of the Year" way back in 1997 and they have obviously decided to "rest on their laurels" as I'm guessing they have not updated the hotel since then.

The rooms have not been renovated in years and they smell all damp and moldy. There is no hot water possible from the sink, only cold, the toilet barley worked I had to jiggle it to stop it from flushing all the time and the TV is miniscule. The walls are wafer this, expect to hear everything about your neighbours life and more!

The Internet chargers are ludicrous! Ive stayed in millions of hotels and even at the super luxurious hotels in remote countries you don't pay this much. On top of the exorbitant charges the internet is as slow as a turtle….and you would be complaining about the speed even if it was free!!!

The breakfast is better than expected but still not amazing……I saw a wannabe chef flip an omelette onto himself…..which pretty much sums up the hotel.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is good but the hotel is just about okay. Certainly not VFM.
The Staff took 10 minutes for check in and also for check out!! Unreasonable when you have already booked in advance. they seemed totally hassled.
Rooms are adequate and bathrooms are functional.Nothing great.
Breakfast is adequate but the restaurant is very small and finding a table can be tough.The staff here is really helpful and nice.
The coffee shop is small.
The conference room is good but mikes and sound system pathetic. food here is good.

Stay/arrange a conference if you have to- its not too bad but can be better,

Room Tip: Select one facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhruvdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for one night only at the start of a trip to India. The rooms are ok, they are basic but clean and a reasonable size. Our room overlooked the hockey pitch which was interesting. The en-suite bathroom could do with a bit of a overhaul, our shower didn't work so we had to use the bath which took an age to run and as the plug did not fit correctly it drained slowly away leaving you feeling like you had not had a through wash.
On the plus size the food is delicious. We only ate breakfast here but there was a large range of different dishes to choose from and the food was piping hot. The hotel is well located for shopping and eating out, we found a nice restaurant about 15 minutes walk away which was a good introduction to India for our first night. A tip would be to buy water from the small stall directly opposite the hotel rather than in the hotel as it is about half the price.
On the negative side we left a jumper in the hotel room when we left, we called within about 4 hours of leaving but were told nothing had been left in the room. It could have only been left here so this left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while doing business in Delhi. The staff were friendly and helpful and I cannot praise the restaurant staff enough. Food was excellent and because my husband has a food allergy, they cooked dishes especially for him.
The bedroom was comfortable but the ensuite needs a through spring clean. The bath mat was a plastic mat to prevent slipping in the bath which had an overhead shower. but this mat was not suitable to stand on while drying. It was in need of a good scrub.
We went for a walk outside because we had spent the whole day travelling. Not a good idea because we were constanltyy hassled to hire a auto or go to a certain shop.
Overall the stay was comfortable and the price was good, considering the area around was not the most pleasant but still suitable for a business traveller because of its central location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 715 in New Delhi
697 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#111 of 715 in New Delhi
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#63 of 715 in New Delhi
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Address: 37 Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#75 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $77 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Connaught , New Delhi you savor the living experience at its best. Affordable, warm and cozy; the hotel welcomes you to the true Indian spirit of hospitality. Located in the hub of the business centre of the metropolis - Connaught Place, the hotel is in very close proximity to the Lady Hardinge Medical College. Also, in very close proximity to the Delhi Metro station, the Airport Express and the capitals main railway station. It also is very accessible to the International & Domestic airports. The hotel boasts of 87 refined, well-appointed rooms those are tucked carefully spread over the Seven Floors of the hotel building. Catch the spectacular bird's eye view of the Shivaji Stadium and the colonial stretches of Connaught Place. Also, catch a glimpse of the historic Parliament and India Gate monuments and enjoy a delightful view straight from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Connaught New Delhi
Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught Delhi
The Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel The Connaught
Hotel Connaught New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing