We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience!”

Mehrauli Archaeological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.18*
and up
Walking Tour of Mehrauli Archaeological Park
Ranked #48 of 416 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is totally hidden away near Vasant Kunj. The no of times I've driven past and not noticed it is unbelievable. You need at least a couple of hours to walk around this place to appreciate it. Lots of monuments have an explanation but the ones that intrigued me the ones which are still hidden away and not been restored. There's a mosque in particular which gives you the goosebumps with the trees growing inside and a tomb of an unknown person. Unfortunately lots of rowdy kids from the Mehrauli village keep hooting so makes better sense to go in a group. Don't miss the Rajon ki Baoli.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zarreenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    76
    16
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Definitely a hidden gem, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

It is right next door to the Qutub Minar, though finding it is not easy! We walk back from the Qutur Minar and found a back door which led into the rose garden. That in itself was impressive as the scent of the roses was impressive. There are a few sign posts around but overall this park needs some TLC!!!
It is a very large park so if the temperatures are above 30 it is probably not a good thing to go here as you have to walk everywhere. We ended up walking to the Mosque and the Tomb which was well worth the walk in the heat. There was a security guard that showed us around and opened the padlocked gates to the tomb. He showed us the tomb itself which was actually nicely decorated. We gave the guards a couple hundred rupees and went of to find the exit.

We walked through some other remnants and another smaller tomb and found the entrance. The original entrance was even less descript then the back entrance!!!
The entrance is not opposite the Metro but about 700m to the right (on the opposite side of the road).

BTW the location on the map in TripAdvisor is wrong, this is the location on google maps: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?hl=en&ll=28.521853,77.18919&spn=0.012726,0.022724&t=m&z=16

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden jem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Mehrauli Archaelogical park is very close to my house and is a place we go often. It has many monuments including the tomb and mosque of Jamali Kamali, Balban's tomb. The place is very well maintained and worth a visit. It adjoins Qutab Minar

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anirmukerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth finding, though it isn't easy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We knew this was next to the Qtub Minar, but were visiting the two at different times. No-one knew where the Park was, so we took an auto-rickshaw to the Jamal Kamali mosque in the park. In fact, if you turn right down the sandy side road at an angle to the main road, you will see a large green sign in Hindi and a kissing gate. This is the entrance. There are more formal gardens and a rose garden at the entrance, then the tombs etc are further on, more in the trees. Worth a look is the stepped well to be impressed by the engineering. A free and peaceful haven.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehrauli Archaeological Park also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Mehrauli Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing