We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai Food in Twone Neung Roi in Radisson Blu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Neung Roi

Neung Roi
Ranked #98 of 12,554 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Neung Roi finds its inspiration from the undiscovered, unseen nooks and corners, cultures and traditions of the kingdom of Thailand. It offers a harmonious coming together of complex elements of cuisine from its various regions. The freshest elements are sourced and then prepared painstakingly by our specialist chefs to create dishes that are exquisitely well balanced while retaining their natural goodness. It is the best of Thailand recreated in a menu.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food in Twone Neung Roi in Radisson Blu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Best Thai food Neung Roi in Radisson Blu.I'm not really great fans of Thai cuisine but I loved the food in Neung Roi when I went with Dad 2nd time.Neung Roi - miens 100 ed in Thai,Neung Roi is not a very big restaurant it has a covers of 45.It was full with no table empty.One must go and try the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Singapure123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    33
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worthy addition to the NCR foodscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

While we are not really great fans of Thai cuisine, the word of mouth praise was enough to sway us to give it a try. The restaurant is in the newly refurbished portion of the hotel, which till recently was more famous for its immensely successful The Great Kebab Factory.
The décor of Neung Roi is chic, minimalistic and has just the right touch of oriental. Nothing is overpowering and the glass walled open kitchen adds to the friendly vibe. The menu, on an iPad, is divided into four sections, Isan, Lanna, Central and South, based on the regions of Thailand. Each section has its own exhaustive menu, which means that there is a lot to choose from.
The good news is almost 40 percent of the menu has vegetarian dishes. This in itself is a rarity since most restaurants these days seem to scrimp on vegetarian fare, instead concentrating on non-vegetarian food and segregating vegetarians to some 5-10 standard dishes.
An addition note if you are vegetarian and are planning to visit Neung Roi, do remember to informer the servers as this is a speciality restaurant and some vegetarian curries might also have a dab fish sauce in it. The staff however, is well versed with what goes in a dish and are can help you make informed choices.
We started off with a palate cleanser, a pan leaf served with some peanuts, sauce, onion and a small piece of chilli. The taste was just amazing and while I did think the chilli might overpower the palate, it had quite the opposite effect. The burst of flavour sets the tone for the rest of the meal.
First up was Tom Yum Pak soup that was spicy and sour soup had chunky pieces of vegetables in a robust flavourful broth. The taste of galangal came through quite clearly. Next on were Porpia Sod and Yam Pak Sod. Porpia are Phuket style fresh vegetable spring roll, which will make you forget the all the spring rolls that you ever tasted. These steamed rolls were feather light and came with a peanut dip. Yam Pak is a combination of raw mango, long bean, cucumber, carrot and baby green aubergines. The dressing was light and the mango and cucumber impart the requisite tanginess and freshness to the salad.
For the main course we had Phad Kee Maow Tofu a delightful combination of tofu, vegetables in hot basil, chilli and dark soya sauce. The spiciness of Phad Kee Maow was evenly balanced by Phad Pak Banjarong which had asparagus, snow peas, mushroom, baby corn and cauliflower in garlic, soya sauce & pepper gravy. The Phad Thai Gai, flat rice noodle with bean sprout, chive, tamarind, chilli and peanut was flavourful and made a great combination with Khao Phad Samoonprai, red curry fried rice with white turmeric and herbs.
The standout thing about the experience was that each dish had a distinctive flavour, was light on the palate and everything was extremely fragrant. By the time we were through with the main course we were so full that we did not have the capacity to try any sweets.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivangiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the 'unknown' Thai Food at Neung Roi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I love Thai food and think of Bangkok as an important Food capital of the world, especially for delicious street food. What Neung Roi has managed to do, unlike any other Thai restaurant in the city, is bring forth the unknown, yet delicious, dishes from other parts of Thailand and present them in a most interesting manner. This is a must visit for any Food-lover who takes pride in finding new and unknown aspects of a familiar cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiniKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
367 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Pause Before Submitting to the Indignities of Air Travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

It is rare to find Thai restaurants worldwide that showcase regional cuisines within Thailand. Most of these are in Thailand itself or in New York. Neung Roi features cooking from the central part of the country, the cuisine with which people are most familiar as it is the cuisine influenced by the royal family, from Lanna (Northeast around Chiang Mai),Isan (the far Northeast), and the Southern part of the country. The principle chef and soux chefs are all Thai and one can taste this in the preparation. Even when they set out to produce street food like Pad Thai the result is authentic.

This makes the menu too long to manage decisively, so we were happy to have had the time to dine. Service was attentive--even sometimes a little too much so--but courteous and well informed. The wait staff had eaten the menu and knew the idiom of this cuisine. Ambience was blessedly quiet after a 7 hour taxi ride from Uttarakhand to Delhi before catching our flight out. On a busy night it might be a little noisy but the space is well designed to contain this tendency. Our meal was about US$100 for two without wine or other alcoholic drinks.

Our meal began with appetizers that included grilled mushroom skewers and small baked dumplings filled with yellow bean custard. The great things about such small plates in Thai cooking is that they always come with interesting and arresting sauces and condiments.

We then experienced a salad revelation in Yan-Mo, a salad of pomelo with crispy fried onions, shallots, lemon grass, crushed roasted peanuts and, I believe, some kaffir lime leaf. It was dressed with sweetened rice vinegar. I will try very hard to duplicate this one at home.

Our soups were lovely, very tasty versions of the usual clear soups with galanga, lime leaf, lime juice, citronella and vegetables.

Our entrees were a pair of tofu based dishes, one with a peanut based curry and the other with long beans and roasted red curry. The latter was much more of a clear sauce than expected. Both were delicious and perfectly piquant. There is a good assortment of vegetarian dishes--many more than in most restaurants in Thailand. Since the restaurant is in India this is a necessity.

The rest of the experience was so good that we asked the chef to pick his favorite dessert. He served us a yellow bean custard topped with crispy fried onions, which was a most unexpected but welcome contrast in texture. The onions were both sweet and savory. The custard was accompanied by a serving of hand-made coconut ice cream with small pieces of coconut flesh again for texture.

If you are leaving India, this is a great place to pause before submitting to the indignities of air travel, especially if you have had a long trip. It is only a ten minute taxi ride from Indira Gandhi International Airport. Save some extra time and precede your dinner with some of the excellent spa treatments and a swim in the pool (90 minute massage is a little under US$100 and the pool is Rs1000 for non-guests if you also get a treatment.) You will arrive at the airport with a relaxed and satisfied body and an aesthetic smile in your mind!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great option for Thai food lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

A must visit for Thai food lovers.

Ambience is quietly elegant (with some funky hanging lights) in a retro looking hotel. The menu is huge & confusing but the service staff is knowledgeable. We were served a complimentary pan with peanuts & thai dressings, which was different and interesting. For appetizers we had a Chicken satay with a lovely peanut sauce, a crunchy Som tam and an outstanding double fried Pork belly, along with a great Tom Kha soup.
For main course, we had Chicken Green curry and Lamb massaman curry with Jasmine rice and Egg noodles. Green curry was a perfect balance of flavours , only was a tad less spicy than what a green curry should be. But the Lamb massaman curry was wishy-washy, lacking the bold flavours of massaman curry. The Egg noodles were quite nice. We ended with a simple & flavoursome Mangoes with sticky rice, although the rice was just a bit hard, should have been silky smooth. Overall a lovely meal.
Prices - not so cheap but worthwhile (Food & soft beverages for 3 incl taxes came to Rs 5600). Service was good and wonder of wonders, there is no mandatory service charge !! In todays times when almost every restaurant adds this usually undeserving charge, its amazing to not find it in a 5 star restaurant of this calibre. Anyways, we were happy to add a tip in lieu of that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SSGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neung Roi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Neung Roi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing