We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sino-Indian fusion cuisine...”

Chi Asian Cookhouse, SDA
Ranked #358 of 12,822 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Many a times while driving down the Outer Ring Road, I had spotted Chi Kitchen in the SDA market opposite IIT main gate. While experimenting with foodpanda.in for their home delivery services, we zeroed in on Chi Kitchen as it was listed under the restaurants in the vicinity of RK Puram. Also the ratings in an eatery rating website did influence our choice.

Probably being a typical Sunday evening rush hour, the foodpanda website had taken some time to process our order and I eventually called up the restaurant to reconfirm the same. But the delivery by Chi Kitchen was timely, very much within the 50-minute window as stipulated while placing the order. We had asked for one portion of Beijing chicken dumpling soup (Rs.195.00) and two portions of fresh & flavorful chicken corn soup (Rs.175.00 per portion). While the chicken dumpling soup was a clear one, the other was little thickish. Both the variants were Ok in taste and came in ample quantity for six of us at home. The main courses on our menu were a portion each of stir fried veg. (broccoli, asparagus & snow peas in black bean sauce : Rs.335.00), Hunan claypot chicken served with rice (Rs.395.00), lemongrass chicken (Rs.365.00) and Shanghai steamed fish with hot garlic sauce (Rs.525.00). They served simply steamed basa fish fillets (I guess) and the garlic sauce came in a different container probably for the ease in delivery. These were savoured with three portions of Mandarin chicken noodles (Rs.200.00 per portion). The restaurant offered a discount @ 10% (gesture appreciated) but added a packing charge @ 10%, which is rather steep for any home delivery practice. I found the total bill of Rs.3048.00 on the higher side compared to other South Delhi Chinese food outlets.

Regarding the food quality I have nothing much to add as Chi Kitchen will pass off as one of those many eateries toying with the Indo-Chinese genre of food popularized over the years in India. Whether any of its dishes stand out or titillate the palate, I would reserve my comment!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel-travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food and large variety. Clean and nice casual atmosphere. I especially recommend this restaurant for folks traveling to India from abroad, although there were mainly local Indian people there. It's not near shops or touristy places but well worth the cab ride.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 973rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiKitchenSafdarjung, Founder at Chi Asian Cookhouse, SDA, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Chi Kitchen and Bar at Safdarjung. We are the latest addition to the ever growing Pan-Asian cuisine restaurants in Delhi. However, our casual atmosphere and authenticity are a few qualities that set us apart. We pride ourselves on our ability to achieve satisfy patrons and spread positivity through food time and again.

We, at Chi, thank you for choosing to dine with us. We hope to cater to you again.

Warm Regards,
Sohrab Sitaram
Founder
Chi Kitchen & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stumbled into this place with a friend in the SDA Market late evening on a weekday. The place looked welcoming enough and was rightly done for a quick menu.
Ordered a couple of drinks and some starters - fried calamari and lamb, the taste was good and so was the presentation.
Wait staff is friendly but they really need to train them to be more attentive. Their bartender, although just across from our table, seems little interested in any Guest. Even when you wave your hand, he seems to be looking the other way, till you actually have to shout out at somebody....which happened three times with us. Not that the restaurant was busy.
The table next to us had quiet a few problems with their mains....so I guess that was a signal enough.

The food was good and we were quiet full.....so we decided not to do mains.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiKitchenSafdarjung, Founder at Chi Asian Cookhouse, SDA, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you and your friend stumbled into the Safdarjung Development Area outlet of Chi Kitchen & Bar and found the atmosphere welcoming and just right to grab a quick bite.

We are delighted to know that your choice of order including the starters and drinks were upto your taste and also found its presentation appealing. Here we would like to inform you that our culinary artists have honed and combined the talents of many specialist chefs to give our diners a flavor of the real ‘Pan Asian’ food as eaten daily by people of ‘Pan Asian’ countries.

We also noticed your concerns regarding the servers and bartender during your dining experience and are glad for pointing out to us. We have conveyed the same to our associates and assure you that corrective action will be taken on all the valid observations.

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us and look forward to serving you in the future for many more enjoyable ‘Chi inspired’ experiences.

Best Regards,
Sohrab Sitaram
Founder
Chi Kitchen & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Definitely a place to enjoy some delicious chinese and thai food. Its a small and bit expensive resto bar located in select city walk, but with very nice ambinence and interiors. Staff out here is very courteous and well behaved. Chi offers a good variety of chinese and thai food which one can try and enjoy. Me and my wife are both fond of chinese food and both loved the food we had out here. We took Crispy butter garlic Prawn (Rs.375/-) along with my fav Chili garlic noodles and both were real delicasies. I would rate this place as must visit if you'r looking for tasty chinese food!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank varunJiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just opposite IIT, Chi offers authentic Chinese menu. The seating on the first floor is nice and cosy. We ordered Dimsum for our daughter and she polished off the entire helping craving for more. Next we tried Garlic prawns, and I can safely say that they are best I have ever had. Wife ordered the usual chilly paneer, which was outstanding. Nice ambiance, chilled beer and good food, its a treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kpsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiKitchenSafdarjung, Founder at Chi Asian Cookhouse, SDA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with your family at Chi Kitchen & Bar in Safdarjung Development Area & sharing your experience.

We are delighted to know that you found our first floor seating cozy and the authentic Chinese menu impressive. Also, we feel pleased to know that your daughter relished on the dim sums which come in varied fillings and flavors. Crisp Butter Garlic Prawns is yet another starter in our menu which is a big hit with our guests. It’s nice to know that overall, you found our services, ambience and food & beverages at par with your expectations.

Thank you once again for sharing your dining experience with us and look forward to serving you in the future for many more enjoyable ‘Chi inspired’ experiences .


Best Regards,
Sohrab Sitaram
Founder
Chi Kitchen & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi Asian Cookhouse, SDA also viewed

Noida, Gautam Buddha Nagar District
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Chi Asian Cookhouse, SDA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing