We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #24 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Drammen
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were very pleased to stay to start our India-trip at City Star. The hotel is new and very clean, and the staff is very helpful with anything you want.
The area around the hotel is not so nice, but it doesn't matter when you have everything you need inside.
The restaurant is good, and so were the meals we had there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norwegianstravels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greeting from Hotel City Star New Delhi !!!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.
We are happy that you found the hotel services up to your satisfaction. As a team, we try and provide a service within the best of our abilities.
Your positive sentiments have been shared with everyone. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit at Hotel City Star, New Delhi

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    471
    98
    12
    13
See reviews for
198
558
159
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked the Hotel as it was close to New Delhi station and it included a free pick up from the airport. All went well, picked up at 6 in the morning and were even able to check in early. Very welcoming staff and always helpful. Nice restaurant and roof top terrace. Amazing to look at the chaos on the street below. They also organise city tours with their own drivers. Unfortunately we opted for an overpriced tour from the tourist office. Would stay there again if I ever went back to Delhi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chieti, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked a room with extra bed (we were three people).
This hotel is PERFECT in Delhi: rooms, sheets and all hotel very clean, always hot water with curtains in the shower, wifi available.
The position is perfect: 5-10 minutes by foot from New Delhi Station ( both railway and Metro station). It's in a principal road, dirty and crazy as whole Delhi but a safe road.
On the rooftop there is a good restaurant with fast service (never seen in India).
I have to spend some words for the staff: Extremely Helpful! they helped us for everything we need. Thank you so much again!
Without doubt the best hotel I stayed in India!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDHworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After traveling for approximately 17 hours, we arrived in Delhi at 4am and we were greeted by the hotel's complimentary shuttle service, which was great (the ride is free, but you must pay a small fee for airport parking and definitely bring a couple dollars to tip the driver). We checked in without incident and received welcome drinks. I have very high standards for cleanliness, and was impressed with the hotel. It's modern and clean, and offered some of the nicest bathrooms we saw in India, with good water pressure and very hot showers. The rooms are nicely designed and very well maintained. We booked an executive suite (although I'm not sure if we actually got it due to our check-in time) and were placed on the second floor in the back of the hotel, right above an alley where we heard a fair amount of noise. It was a little bothersome, but not enough to prevent us from sleeping or to warrant moving rooms. There's a rooftop restaurant that's a very welcome reprieve from hectic Delhi. The complimentary breakfast was nice, and the dinners were reasonable and very delicious. The general manager of the restaurant was great and extremely accommodating - he even offered to leave the hotel and purchase something we asked for that wasn't available on the menu. In general, the staff was great. Since we were two female travelers, we received some unwanted attention from the male staff (stopping by our room to "check on things", asking to be Facebook friends, etc) but it was pretty harmless.

Tip: we're experienced travelers and tried to manage our own transport during our first day. We were constantly stopped, bothered, given wrong directions, etc. On the second day, the hotel manager arranged a private driver for us (approximately 20 USD plus tip) and it was worth every penny. We covered a lot of ground with very little hassle. I'd highly recommend this option. On our last day, we had to catch a very early flight to Varanasi. Again, the hotel was great - the restaurant's general manager arranged complimentary early morning room service in lieu of the standard breakfast, and the front desk staff negotiated our taxi fare to avoid us getting ripped off.

The only issue with the hotel is that the location is gritty (we were told not to go outside after dark but were too jet lagged to care). There are definitely nicer areas of Delhi, but for the price point we have no complaints. Overall, this hotel is an excellent value for the money and I'd recommend it to my own friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to reduce noise from the street. There appears to be a small market in the alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sperraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Nederland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here the first night after arriving in India, which was a warm welcome. We received a drink upon arrival and got a nice room with comfy bed. We slept in the next day, missing breakfast, but they offered us a complementary sandwich and tea instead. Also the front desk staff bargained a good price with the tuk tuk driver to the (nearby) trains station. Something which is generally not our specialty on the first day of our stay. Such a good stay, we're returning before our return flight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

For the location and price it's extremely clean and comfortable place. The front desk staff was warm and helpful. The breakfast was of good variety and quality and so was the late lunch we had which was made fresh to order. After check out when we had to wait in the lobby for some time, the staff made sure that we were made feel welcome and not a burden. The transportation arrangement to the airport was quite professionally handled. Overall a very good experience in a crowded part of the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sashakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived delhi let night and hotel provides free pick up service from aitport was very good. Hotel staff was very helpfull anf very kind. Room was very big and very clean and we enjoyed free wifi and testy breakfast.
We highly recommended every one to this hotel.
And thank to day dutty manager.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zinglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#14 of 715 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 715 in New Delhi
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing