We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and welcome cleanliness”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #22 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value and welcome cleanliness”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and found the place very welcoming amidst the chaos of New Delhi. Our airport transfer was spot on.

Rooms are clean and all extras like water and sanitised toilets make for a good stay.

The restaurant had a decent breakfast and all our other meals for lunch and supper were reasonably priced and tasty.

The general manager of the hotel was also helpful to offer travel advice.

I would stay here again on a trip to Delhi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank AlVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    471
    98
    12
    13
See reviews for
198
558
159
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews and its reasonable pricing. As promised, a driver was waiting for me at the airport with a name placard. When we arrived to our hotel, we were greeted with snacks and drinks, and our check- in was efficient and quick. The hotel travel agency, Divine Holidays organized our overnight and day trips to the Golden Triangle (Delhi, Agra, Jaipur). Thus, I was extremely pleased with the drivers and guides that the travel agency selected for us. Divine Holidays and Mr. Singh did a fantastic job, plus, their rates to "The Golden Triangle" were much cheaper than booking them through Expedia or some other on-line travel sites. The staff took great care of all our requests and needs. The rooms and beds were comfortable. This hotel is a year old and is beautifully designed, however, it is located in a congested and older part of Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We absolutely loved it here so much!!! we have already booked accommodation here for our next trip to India. nothing we asked was too much of a task and we felt very at home. The front of house staff looked after us so well arranging post, money change, day trips, taxi services and everything!! every single time we entered the hotel we where greeted with smiles and these attentive staff where so good with conversation , we wished they weren't working and could join us!! The hotel is super close too all our favorite parts in Delhi... Connought Place, India Gate, Sarojini Bazaar, Janpath and STARBUCKS where all within short car ride.

When leaving the hotel we did a 3 day trip out of delhi to agra and onto Jaipur where we where given a driver and a car (at a reasonable price) we couldnt be happier!!! our driver Mr Gulab Sing. was the best host!! he knew everything we wanted to see plus more and was so flexible with us on our journey! the most pleasent driver we recieved the entire 2 months in india!!

Thanks Hotel City Star, you are all fantastic

Room Tip: we had a room right at the front of the hotel.. GREAT street view. luckily the curtains are massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larissa_Sharelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked this hotel based on all the recommendations here at the Tripadvisor and I am sorry to say, but I cant say anything else than I totally agree with everyone. Hotel was reasonable price and probably the best on that area. It is clean, fresh, nice located and staff was really friendly and helped with everything (just ask, they seriously will fix almost anything and you can even change money with better rate than at the airport/in the city).
The breakfast was nice and offering every morning something new, mainly Indian dishes. I stayed here three nights and would like to stay here again. It really felted like oasis after long days in the city. Room was nice, we got a small basket of fruits and biscuits when arrived and a news paper every morning. Small things which also makes a huge difference. This was really money well spent, and I just hope that they won't raise their prices after all these positive comments :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiinama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are well designed, comfortable and clean. Great location for exploring Delhi. The staff organised transfers for us, looked after our luggage when visiting Agra overnight, called tuc tucs and negotiated prices. Room service is 24 hours. This place provides a welcome retreat after spending a day in the chaos of the city - hot shower, fluffy towels and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca_jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had planned for a 21 day trip around India. We had a rough idea where we wanted to go but had nothing booked. One of us wanted to wing it. But at the last minute I insisted we booked the first night in India, Delhi.

Hotel City Star was the choice and we were pleasantly surprised. They picked us up, had a welcome drink and a lovely clean, modern room for us. The buffet breakfast was great and the staff very friendly.

The location is hectic but that's India isn't it.

After trying to work out our itinerary on our own and hearing about trains being booked out, we ended up using the travel agent located in the hotel.

They organised our specific 17 day trip through Rajasthan, with a driver and accommodation.
Our driver was great and we enjoyed a seamless and painless trip.
We thought the cost was reasonable for what we wanted to do.

Room Tip: The back rooms are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TansTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We did a three day trip through the Golden Triangle. The trip was organized by the travel desk of the Hotel City Star (Mr. Singh). Delhi is certainly an experience. We arrived at night and were very happy with the hotel which is in the middle of the city. The hotel is not a luxury hotel but everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed eating at the rooftop restaurant and to watch the craziness on the streets. The breakfast was saved by the delicious pancakes. Mr. Singh organized very good drivers for our trip and also the guides in Jaipur and Agra which were very helpful. The guides will bring you to tourist shops. But as they say ... it is your choice to buy and looking is for free. In Jaipur we stayed at the Khandela Havelli and in Agra at the Taj Villas. The Khadela Havelli was very nice with a beautiful rooftop terrace as well. The room at the Taj Villas was quiet and clean, but overall just OK. We had a really nice trip and a big thank you to Mr. Singh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChFi_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#32 of 716 in New Delhi
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing