We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #24 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been in India for four weeks and this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. The location near to New Delhi Railway Station was one of the reasons why we picked it. Accommodation was good and the hotel was clean throughout. The staff were very helpful, unlike some of our previous hotels where it was a bit false. In particular they helped me with printing tickets and sorting out transport. We were welcomed with a juice drink and water. No problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at Hotel City Star. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel & we are pleased to know that you appreciated the staff, services and ambiance of our hotel. Our entire team thanks you & pays you our heartfelt gratitude for posting such a positive & encouraging review for our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Hoping to have the pleasure of your company & chance of serving you soon!

Best Regards
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    471
    98
    12
    13
See reviews for
198
558
159
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well kept and clean. The rooms are very nice with all amneties present. The breakfast is fine and the roof top restaurant offers very good food at reasonable prices. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank keithbrmlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel City Star in late November 2013.
Very friendly staff, very helpful and accommodating.
Roof top restaurant was lovely to look over the city. The food was tasty and value for money.
This isn't the most safe area or the most central but we never had issues finding transport options.
The rooms were clean and stylish. The fairy lights are a nice touch. The bathrooms were nice but there were ants on the sink. Throughout our stay it seemed like more ants appeared.
The one let down was that our free airport pick up never arrived but they compensated us for the cab fare from the airport.
The manager was helpful with organising train tickets to Agra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Certainly one of our best stays while in India. The staff were very helpful/friendly, the room (3rd floor, to the side of the hotel) was quiet, clean, modern and everything worked well in the room, including wi-fi. Complimentary bottled water every day. Breakfast has lots of options (Indian and western) and you won't go hungry. It's located in a very busy and noise street, but once inside, it feels like an oasis.
Highly recommended if this is the area you want to stay, which is close to the train station and not too far a ride to many of India's attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel. The front street is noisy 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fortaleza_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at Hotel City Star, New Delhi. As a team, we try and provide a service with a smile within the best of our abilities.

The entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to Hotel City Star, New Delhi.

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights and were most impressed by:
-the excellent service of all the staffs,
-clean and modern rooms with all the amenities we required.
-great variety of choice for breakfast over a 3-day period at the roof-top restaurant ,
- management went extra mile to get a good and pleasant driver/guide to make our stay in Delhi a memorable one.
It's really a pleasant surprise to find such a hotel in New Delhi offering 5-star services!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mr.

It was a pleasure to have you with us at Hotel City Star. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel & we are pleased to know that you appreciated the staff, services and ambiance of our hotel. It’s lovely to hear from you, you like Breakfast at our Roof Top restaurant . The entire team at the hotel welcomes you back to hotel city star New Delhi.

Best Regards
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was so far the best hotel we stayed in India. Good value for money; it is better to spend a bit more but have the good experience of staying at this hotel.

ALL the members of the staff (no matter if cleaners, waiters, managers...) were VERY friendly, helpful, and nice.

The rooms were clean, well decorated and nothing to complain about.

Complimentary bottled water and fruit was provided at our arrival.

The driver that pick us up from the airport was good, safe and fast.

The internet in the room was a bit slow sometimes.

The breakfast was very good, a lot of different choices, good selection, excellent service... By far the best breakfast we had in India.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iunnui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The best hotel I stayed in while in India. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean and modern and everything worked in the room. Complimentary bottled water and fruit was provided and the food was lovely and well priced. It's not 5 star but everything I needed was there and it was a pleasure to stay there. Avoid allowing the manager to organise extended trips for you, that's certainly NOT value for money, but the driver he provided, Suresh, was fantastic. Suresh drove me around for 12 days and he was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. He helped me reorganise my itinerary so that my travels were less stressful and he was very knowledgable about everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#14 of 715 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#34 of 715 in New Delhi
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing