We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel in central Delhi”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #26 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights in 2 rooms - double and triple. The hotel rooms are reasonably spacious and the hotel is very new, which means that practically everything works. Being new they still have certain problems with the reception and room service which is not coordinated. The staff are very helpful and always ready to offer solutions. The terrace dining área is especialy recommended as the quality of the food and drinks is acceptable and the service is excellent.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel as it is clean, new, central, spacious and economical.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was our first after arriving India and a really good choice. We were very surprised about the quality of the rooms and the good service. They have a free airport pickup and a lovely rooftop restaurant with a great view over Delhi. We stayed there for 4 nights and can definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I come very often to Delhi for Business and I have stayed at many hotels in New Delhi in the past. This hotel looked very elegant and impressive from outside so I decided to give it a try. I was really surpised to see the quality of rooms especially at this price!
The hotel is newly built and the rooms and other areas are very nice and clean. The rooftop restaurant is one of the best in this area and the food and service is excellent!
The hotel is very conviniently located bang on the main road and is very close to New Delhi station and Sadar Bazaar. If you plan to visit Delhi for business or pleasure, this hotel is ideally located for both.
Despite being on the main road, the rooms have very good noise isolation (which was a major irritant during my earlier visit to hotels in this area)

Overall I found the hotel excellent and I look forward to coming back again!

Room Tip: Although all the rooms are excellent. I preferred the rooms on the first floor as they offer a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muneesh_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We could not be happier after our stay here. The staff were so unbelievably helpful and went well above the call of duty, even letting us use a hotel room hours after checking out to shower. The restaurant was lovely, location central and overall quality and service fantastic. Would definitely recommend and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merrenlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We don't normally choose to stay in this type of business-type hotel but what it lacked in charm and character it made up for in fantastic service, beautifully clean and stylish rooms and location right next to the train station/backpacker hub.
It is expensive but still not bad for what you get in a capital city. The complimentary drinks on arrival and fruit/snacks in the room were very nice. The room was nicely decorated. The bathroom looked brand new. The air con was effective and silent. All in all everything you would want from a smart business hotel. The rooftop restaurant was nice enough and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed 7 nights (February 2013) : Satisfied with the airport pickup service, warm welcome at hotel.Modern and chic lobby.Very friendly, smiling and helpful staff (general) round the clock.Cosy, modern and comfortable room except no locker facilities.Also, the shower space should have a glass door separator to prevent water from sweeping across the bathroom.
Breakfast (buffet 7/7) was excellent and appealed to all tastes.The possibility to have breakfast/dinner on the roof top is an enjoyable moment in a nice setup well decorated with flower pots.The dishes for dinner were equally tasty and mouth watering.
On Valentine day, nice atmosphere (nice classic romantic songs) created during dinner. We were delighted with the Valentine surprise when the lobby staff came personally to our room at night to greet us Happy Valentine with wonderful chocolate pastries.
A special appreciation to the General Manager, Mr Guman Singh.His professionalism, personal welcome, hospitality, caring attitude, always helpful, calm and smiling nature are indeed praise worthy and enhance the reputation of the hotel vis a vis the clients.Mr Singh is also a very good trip organiser.
I stayed at the hotel with my son.We can say that its among one of the best modern hotels in New Delhi except the outside environment is not ideal for strolling.One has to take an auto rickshaw to venture to commercial centres etc.
We would be delighted to stay again at Hotel City Star and also recommend relatives and friends.
We wish great popularity and success to the team of Hotel City Star. Cheers !!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a great view on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A perfect, small hotel to base oneself in while in Delhi. An added bonus is the open top roof space for drinks and a very adequate restaurant. Easy to reach the various sightseeing spots in the city. Will definitely use this hotel again if passing through Delhi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Felicity-Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#39 of 736 in New Delhi
1,206 reviews
Wood Castle
#29 of 736 in New Delhi
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palace Heights
#32 of 736 in New Delhi
711 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#21 of 736 in New Delhi
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $50 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing