We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent”“Excellent”“Excellent””
Review of Hotel Gulnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gulnar
Ranked #576 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
““Excellent”“Excellent”“Excellent””
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had 2 night stay at the Gulnar on our golden triangle tour to India. All the hotels on our tour was Good, but this is THE BEST., Again from the minute we arrived to the minute we left the staff could not do enough for us. Our room was amazing as were the facilities of the hotel. If travelling to India and to Delhi then I would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Front side Room For Good View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank avnitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinal_Upadhyay, Director of Sales at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Hotel Management
9873371533
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
29
39
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kumar6851
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

...What else can you ask for? Its not the Radisson Blu, so temper expectations accordingly

Booked through one of the online sites and it was very affordable for Delhi. Hotel Gulnar is located in Channa Market was a very good for my needs for shopping in Karol Bagh, visits to Patel Nagar, etc. Centrally located for virtually most of Delhi.

Noise level was reasonable. Food was affordable, though a bit spicy. Their Car service was reliable

Suggestions for improvement: Breakfast was included, though variety was limited. No air conditioning in the winter, but they can provide a heater if needed.The internet was very fast the first three days, but slowed to a crawl on day 3. Seemed to be an issue with their service provider.

On the whole a very good experience. Will use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park in the round about...That's about as good as the view gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank kumar6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinal_Upadhyay, Director of Sales at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Hotel Management
9873371533
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was my first hotel in India and the worst one!
All started with the 'free airport pickup'. The driver tried to charge me 200 Rupees for the airport parking. The prepaid taxi rate to the hotel is 300 Rupees. So what's the sense of this 'free' pick up.
The room smelled cigarettes. The linen was smelly, dirty, contained hair and I suspect it wasn't changed from the previous guest.The next day I changed the room (smelled way better and sheets looked clean too) but the safe was not opening. When I asked the reception to repair the safe or change the room they said no other room was available. It was clearly a lie because the hotel was empty the whole time. They also said that the safe would be repaired by 11 am. I waited till 11 but nobody came. They offered me to keep an eye on my valuables in the reception. I was reluctant ,but because I needed to leave the hotel I was forced to accept. The package contained passports, money and jewellery in a zipped pouch. On my return , when I was handed back the package I checked passports and money. Later, when I already checked out of the hotel I wanted to put on my golden chain and it was no longer in the pouch.This hotel was the only place the package was not in a hotel's safe or on me. Obviously they didn't touch anything I would need right away and would have realised soon enough they went through my package. They took one thing a tourist would be afraid to wear in the streets of Delhi, you so would realise it;s absence only later when it's impossible to prove anything.
The whole experience of this hotel was just dreadful, including the breakfast, it's restaurant meal in the evening, area it is situated.
My advise, pay a little more and you will be in a safe place, where there will be no extortion on every step of the way and where you will not risk your valuables.
Gulnar is not such a place.

Room Tip: Look through several rooms. Make sure safe works and the bed linen smells fresh and is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gromegrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here in this hotel from 3rd March to 5th March 2013.

Pros : Room and Toilets are clean.

Cons : I had booked the hotel rooms via email almost a month back and one day before checkin I had reconfirmed my reservation via telephone call. But when I reached, I was told there is no reservation in my name.!!!! and I was told they can give me room only for the 1st and 3rd day, for the 2nd day, I need to adjust in some other hotel. Later they compensated by reduciing room rent for the 2nd day (for some other hotel) and also gave a complimentory airport drop.
Breakfast Buffet has very limited stuffs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Satvik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A pleasant stay, within the hotel. closer to metro station. Courteous front desk manager & rest of the staff. Good food served. No hassle in early morning check out.Midsize lobby with small sitting with newspaper rack available for visitors. Key less room door entry , so better security.

Room Tip: Front Room has street light falling in the room even with curtains on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Ashoak009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinal_Upadhyay, Director of Sales at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Hotel Management
9873371533
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel Gulnar for 2 nights in February. Purpose of trip was a visit to a international fair in Noida.
Beginning with the pros: nice location, just a 10min walk from Karol Bagh metro station. Comfortable double bed and some nice amenities (flat screen tv, coffee machine, safe deposit etc). Very good price.
Cons: although I confirmed one month ago a free pick-up service from the airport and reconfirmed it one day before arrival, nobody came to pick me up. No-one answered my phone calls so I was forced to take the airport express train. The receptionist apologized but he did not give me any official reason (fortunately my request for a drop-off service to the airport was realized).
Dirty towels, replaced next day fortunately with clear ones. Room had just one window with "view" to the first floor corridor, hence too dark and grim!
Too noisy in the night (noise coming from the kitchen in the ground floor)!
Breakfast very poor, focused mainly on Indian guests.
Resuming: mediocre quality and I can recommend it just to budget travellers

Thanos, Greece

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
26 Thank corinna_eyesore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed at Gulnar for 4 nights, it was by far a great decision to chose Gulnar as we find out the great customer service from belldoor men to front desk and Mr Vinod sharma who made sure we were satisfied. the room was comfortable breakfast not bad at all.
also we arranged a daily taxis to explore new, old and beyond delhi. we had a nicest drivers to show us town.
the hotel is close to connaught place, metro, and of course if you like tuk-tuk they are at the door.
overall a great stay. thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank aamoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinal_Upadhyay, Director of Sales at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New Delhi. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, Guest Feedback encourage us in improving our service.It is our endavour to provide you best of the services while you stay in our hotel. As our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Hotel Management
9873371533
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Sohi Residency
#276 of 715 in New Delhi
86 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Delhi Pride
Hotel Delhi Pride
#278 of 715 in New Delhi
171 reviews
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#27 of 715 in New Delhi
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Almondz Hotel
#298 of 715 in New Delhi
231 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Intercity
Hotel Intercity
#170 of 715 in New Delhi
293 reviews
Hotel The Daanish Residency
#314 of 715 in New Delhi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulnar

Property: Hotel Gulnar
Address: 7A/45, W.E.A, Channa Market, Near Metro Piller No 122 | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gulnar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of our hotel facilities are as below: - we have 30 rooms. Inventory: we have a conference/banquet hall to accommodate 125 plus pax. We have a bar/restaurant with a capacity of 50 plus pax. We have valid parking to park twenty cars and three buses at a time. We have windows in all the rooms; most of the rooms facing with market view. We have our own 24 hr money exchange facility. We have a hair dryer/electronic locker/tea coffee maker in all the rooms. We request you to give us an opportunity to serve you with a smile & build a long lasting relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gulnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing